It is often referred to as a mood, vibes, atmosphere, a cloud – I see it as energy and it is what we carry around with us all the time…

I have become very aware lately of how people affect the people around them.

To me everything is energy; it is all around us and we are also energy, so it follows that however we are feeling radiates out from us and has an impact on those closest to us.

Recently I was part of a group that went out to lunch and one in our midst is very precise about everything that they do and their need for life to be presented to them in an orderly fashion. With the best will in the world this bears no resemblance to the planet that I inhabit and it must present them with constant challenges. What transpired on this particular lunchtime would do credit to a scene from ‘Fawlty Towers’. We went out to my favourite restaurant where we were seated and some cutlery was missing from our table because the restaurant was packed and the staff were a bit pushed for time. Not a problem, but unacceptable to our companion and demands were made. The more precise the demands became the more flustered our waiter got and things rapidly went from bad to worse. At one glorious moment all our dishes (for all courses) arrived at the same time and it took great self control on my part not to burst out laughing at the outrage expressed by the unhappy one in our midst! I have been in this restaurant many times now and it is a popular and busy venue and I have never had an issue before, but I strongly suspect that our companion’s energy threw them. I am sure a collective sigh of relief was breathed as we left. Our companion’s angst continued on the journey home where precise directions were ‘shot’ out to our driver (who didn’t take kindly to this at all) and the memory of that journey will take some time to fade.

I have a number of folk coming through my home now as I have started to give readings and watching my ‘boys’ behaviour is interesting as the energy of the people coming in the front door has a direct effect on them. That has given me various challenges and some very funny moments.

A scene from yesterday springs to mind as our little group set out to do the school run with two quite poorly and tired little ones at the end of a long week. I parked as close as I could to the school gates as there was no way on this earth I was attempting our normal ambling walk. It was one of those moments when I wished we could ‘teleport’ one hour ahead and be back at home with the challenges of the week behind us. It was not to be……..bottoms being firmly planted on low walls insisting that they couldn’t go another step, wails (quite loud on occasion) that their legs hurt, saying (again loudly) that life wasn’t fair and why did we need to collect their brother at all, meant the short walk into school took twenty minutes. Quick note to the driving instructor who sat in his car laughing out loud as he watched all this……I know where you are because your name is in large letters on the side of your car and we’ll see who laughs last….! Anyway, we made it and I kept calm and eased them along with as much love as I could and hugged and cuddled as often as possible…trust me two four year olds are heavy when picked up together. ‘Mum’ and ‘Dad’ came home and we all carried on keeping the calm loving energy going and I babysat last night so we were together for bath time, stories and bedtime. A dear little face looked up into mine as sleepy eyes were closing and what she said will stay with me always.

Love x

2 Responses to “It is often referred to as a mood, vibes, atmosphere, a cloud – I see it as energy and it is what we carry around with us all the time…”


  1. 1 Granny Trish March 19, 2011 at 11:37 am

    O.K. – O.K. What did she say? I know what two little tired girls can be like at the end of the week – My memory is long!!!! Love Mum x x

    Like

    • 2 Jane Baker March 19, 2011 at 6:13 pm

      She said ‘I hope you look after us forever’. A magic moment and I hope Debs, Jon and I gave you some of those Mum x

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

