When things get tricky and hard going, kick back and go with the flow…I tried it yesterday and had a magic day and found the ultimate chicken coop….

What a chicken coop....it's on my wish list!

Yesterday, rather bruised and battered by life lately, I took a wise friend’s advice and kicked back and went with the flow.

My plan for the day went out of the window at about 9am and it didn’t matter as what unfolded was magic.

I discovered that the girls’ pre-school was closed for polling and this meant that my landscape gardener buddy had me and two willing little helpers restoring order in my garden, which was a surprise for him. Much laughter from that and a few scenes spring to mind…..’Jane they are digging with spoons’ – my response ‘Yeah, and??’ My boys were treated to a picnic of weeds under the tree complete with every single plastic mug, cup, plate and bowl I own. Em stocially washed this little lot up later when I went off to do the school run.

Order restored to my garden spurred me on to think of flowers and I took two happy little girls for a picnic lunch and a wonderful voyage of discovery around a local garden centre. We found the ultimate chicken coop, talked to actual chickens, ‘ooohed’ and ‘aahed’ as we stood on the bridge and watched the fish swimming in the pond with different colours flashing in the sunshine, tested ‘Smarties’ printed deck chairs and great swing seats, played with a wooden dolls house and kitchen in the restaurant for ages and then bought seeds and pottered home. My greenhouse now has seed trays planted up, we each have our own, and I have taken a solemn promise to keep them all watered and also when it rains I have the responsibility of seeding the flower beds with the other ones that were so carefully chosen. It was magic watching their little hands plant things up and my greenhouse really was full of happiness.

Happy children were returned to their parents at the end of the day.

Em, also happy from her first inspired ‘A’ level art exam, and I then walked our local area trying to find the polling station for her first vote (card lost, not her fault, so don’t ask!) It was a lovely evening and we nattered away as we walked to various stations with Em finally giving her first vote – ‘high five’.

All round a magic day and it has given me a big push towards balance being restored…..this kicking back lark is good stuff and now I can work on the plan to enhance my garden with a sparkling wish list…….

0 Responses to “When things get tricky and hard going, kick back and go with the flow…I tried it yesterday and had a magic day and found the ultimate chicken coop….”



  1. Leave a Comment

I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,183 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

