Hibernating and protecting little capsules of time…..

Em commented last night that the period of hibernation was not going well for me and being rather tired I got defensive and we sensibly changed the subject. I promised her that I would get it sorted as I originally set out on my hibernation so that I could re-charge my batteries and get a few creative projects off the ground. Em is right it is just not happening and that set me thinking along the lines of how I would solve it.

I read a story recently about how a pillar of the community involved in all sorts of projects and responsible for many things had been diagnosed with cancer. Her immediate response was relief…..relief that she finally had a reason to put down many of the responsibilities. None of us want to be that woman, to get so tied up with everything that we need a ‘reason’ to put things down or to simply say ‘No’ in the first place.

I need to re-charge my batteries right now!

Short of pretending that I am in another country complete hibernation is not possible and I have to stop wearing myself out by attempting the impossible. I am usually a hopeful girl who by sheer grit and determination pulls things ‘out of the hat’ but I admit that I need to tackle this one in different way. Anyone with responsibilities is going to fall down when trying to shut the world out and that is the bottom line.

Right now Em and I are decorating our study and turning it into a lovely sea of pinkness. This space is where we both write and create and during the winter months it doubles up as our studio, so it is a very important space. I have paused today in my creative projects to get this room completed so we can have our space back. This morning I threw open the window to air it and stood there for a while observing life outside and then it came to me……

We can’t shut everything out but we can protect capsules of time. Set some time aside during your daily round to do what you need to do to re-charge your batteries. No excuses. Loved ones will understand if it’s just a pizza being shoved in the oven for tea, they are asked to operate the washing machine, run the hoover round, walk the dogs, feed the cat (or chickens in our house), their calls are not returned during the day, texts are unanswered for a little while, you retreat from the daily round of contact and you turn down invitations.

Set aside your capsules of time and protect them where you can. You will probably still need to handle the important things, even during your capsules of time, as life has a habit of chucking them at you regardless of what you are doing. Yes Em I do class you ringing me up during your life drawing lesson with the particular challenge you had yesterday as important. Hilarious with hindsight, but undoubtedly important at the time……

1 Response to “Hibernating and protecting little capsules of time…..”


  1. 1 Mehak September 10, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    so true jane….

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

