Look, I don’t want to wax philosophic, but I will say that if you’re alive you’ve got to flap your arms and legs, you’ve got to jump around a lot, for life is the very opposite of death, and therefore you must at very least think noisy and colorfully, or you’re not alive – Mel Brooks

I know the title is too long for Twitter but those with curiosity will have clicked on the link!

This morning I was in the courtyard cleaning the hen house and having been up early writing I was happily in my pj’s and dressing gown and yes, it is pink. We live in an unusual set-up tucked away in an old caretakers house on the edge of a business site and this morning was bin collection morning. Down the side of our home is a walkway through to a prep school and I saw an old acquanitance of mine on the school run and we had a quick catch-up and yes she was beautifully turned out this morning. Her face completely closed off when I said that part of my daily round now involved psychic work and I, being used to this, carried on as if nothing had happened, didn’t expand on the exact nature of my work and wished her and her family well….then I paused and thought I’ll just grab the empty bin whilst I’m out here! The bin men had left it in the middle of the external driveway (thanks fellas)…it’s a business site….and in my business attire (who sees me when I write!!) I grabbed the bin. I was caught and I bantered with the person who caught me and much laughter ensued.

This morning I have also tried to order a leaving present for Morgan, Em’s boyfriend, as he is off to Uni next week and the web site (name and shame) ‘I Want One of Those.com’ declined both my debit and credit cards. I found the pressies on Amazon and they are now on the way, but the cards being declined on the other site caused my bank’s fraud department to call to check everything was OK…..I don’t think the gentleman on the other end of the line has had a call quite like it because I started joking that I want one of those dot com was not as bad as it sounded and was in fact a gift site and all was well in my world because I had found the items I wanted 50% cheaper on Amazon. He could barely talk through his script for laughing…..

A number of things struck me as I finished my morning tasks….

I…….

No longer hide who I am,
Prioritise my own needs,
Don’t take life too seriously,
Scare myself on a daily basis with my new creative projects,
Get rid of the rubbish,
Tell those I care about what I appreciate about them every day,
Say ‘bollocks to it’ often (sorry Mum) x

2 Responses to “Look, I don’t want to wax philosophic, but I will say that if you’re alive you’ve got to flap your arms and legs, you’ve got to jump around a lot, for life is the very opposite of death, and therefore you must at very least think noisy and colorfully, or you’re not alive – Mel Brooks”


  1. 1 granny trish September 15, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    I should think so, I didn’t teach you to use that kind of language but I know who did!!!!! Love from me x x x

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,183 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

