Sailing in uncharted waters and navigating the course with compassion and kindness…..

Right now I find myself sailing into uncharted waters on three fronts with my family, creatively and personally.

The first impulse on all three fronts was to freeze and retreat to a position of safety as there is much comfort to be found in the known. Had I retreated then nothing would have changed and there would be no room for the new. Instinctively I can hear my inner voice calling for the new and I appreciate that this may be rather alarming for those closest to me and I hold hope that my loved ones trust that I will weave the changes with compassion and kindness.

There are times when you need to sail into uncharted waters and let your boat go where the wind takes you, resisting the impulse to get out your bottles of ink to plot the future course, to turn back or to drop anchor suddenly. Trust that the wind will drop when you need a breather and it will.

Nothing happens by accident, all is exactly as it should be right now and this day has all the elements required to support and protect you on your journey.

6 Responses to “Sailing in uncharted waters and navigating the course with compassion and kindness…..”


  1. 1 ahumanistsperspective December 16, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    One can never go wrong with compassion and kindness.. Appreciate the post!

    Like

  2. 3 1smiles December 15, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    I wish there were a “love” button to click on!
    I’ve been sailing on this same boat into open and unchartered waters. I’m amazed and blessed for the places that ‘life’ and the ‘waters’ have taken me! God speed my dear friend.

    Like

    • 4 Jane Baker December 15, 2011 at 4:53 pm

      Thank you so much for your support Jeannie…I may take a leaf out of your book and start to blog along more personal lines…when I reflect on this year there are some very funny moments and blessings too and if anybody had told me at the start of the year what would be unfolding now I wouldn’t have believed it. You have to experience all the parts of the journey to handle/appreciate the pivotal pins in the map…there is no short cut! x

      Like

      • 5 1smiles December 20, 2011 at 3:41 pm

        I am fully amazed too at the dreams I’ve achieved over this past year. Like you, I never would have believed I’d be here now.
        Lord knows I’ve tried to go over and under and around life’s obstacles before. I’ve learned that the only way is through them, one wisely placed step at a time.

        Like

        • 6 Jane Thorne December 20, 2011 at 3:57 pm

          Aahh Jeannie how are you doing on the wisely placed step front? This uncharted waters thing makes trust in yourself and your judgment very real doesn’t it? I totally understand the ‘breathing’ post on your blog…sometimes that seems the only thing I am capable of till I regain my balance. I love your blog x

          Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

