I awoke with a plan this morning, sat watching the snow falling outside and no, it’s not the weather that has upended my plan…just life getting in the way…

What follows was not my intended post for today, that will have to wait for another day when I have the mental space to craft it properly.

My day seemed so straightforward when I stood watching the snow fall at daybreak, coffee cup in hand, with all the animals fed and settled for the morning and the day’s priorities clear in my mind.

It’s this time of year isn’t it? Too much to do and too little time to do it in. Note to self – wait for your acrylic paint to dry properly before applying your varnish otherwise you get black streaks running through your carefully coloured design. The ‘squeak’ that emitted from me (it was all I could manage at the time) caused the ‘boys’ to immediately sit to attention tails going with a ‘Is there anything we can do to help’ look on their faces. There wasn’t, but I did go and find Emily with a new plan as I obviously was not delivering my furniture order this morning.

Emily greeted me with the news that Morgan was home a day early from Uni, they were desperate to be together and could he come over to spend the day? Now thinking ahead very quickly (and I’m getting so good at this) all thoughts of grabbing a quick boiled egg and soldiers for dinner were promptly dismissed along with my plans to get my last orders for Christmas delivery base coated this afternoon.

An army marches on it’s stomach so I’ve been to the supermarket and Em has made lunch. My painted furniture has been re-painted and rescued and I am now off to deliver it this afternoon. Household tasks and laundry have been handed over to Em and Morgan, this involves Em doing them and Morgan following her around telling entertaining stories whilst she’s busy (we love you Morgan). I got the new washing machine installed last night and for the individual who tightened the holding bolts on the drum, a big non-thank you, as I practically had to sit on the spanner to get the blessed things off.

Anyway I digress…..

Furniture orders will be delivered shortly, Christmas cards will get written at some stage, base coating will happen, dark chocolate for numerous brownie orders will be purchased as it was forgotten in this morning’s shopping trip and to maintain her sanity the ‘boys’ will take their harrassed mistress for a walk in the woods before darkness falls.

2 Responses to “I awoke with a plan this morning, sat watching the snow falling outside and no, it’s not the weather that has upended my plan…just life getting in the way…”


  1. 1 1smiles December 16, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    LOL! “Anyway.. I digress…” I love it, hahahahaha.

    There seems to be a great deal of digression these days. I have it too!
    Good luck to us all as we prepare for our holiday magic.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

