My surname changes from Baker to Thorne which evokes many happy memories and is just in time for the new year …

A new year is about to start, my book will soon be published, the venture into re-vamped furniture has a fresh energy all of it’s own and more importantly I am getting a real sense of who I am.

I have decided to leave behind my old married name as that chapter is now closed and so much has changed that when I look I hardly recognise myself back then. Emily is completely at ease with my decision and applauds my choice as I am taking my beloved Great Grandmother’s name.

Granny Thorne played an important part in my early childhood and we were very fortunate to have her around till I turned nineteen. Our family went out to Africa when I was twelve so I did not see her many times after that, but I have great memories of my earlier childhood and her home. If I close my eyes I can still smell her coal shed as we used to take chalk and play hopscotch on the paving stones outside. We could sit on the apple tree outside her bedroom window and play for hours in the back part of her garden where she grew vegetables and cane fruit. We made toffee and butterscotch in enamel dishes in her kitchen and I can still see the sugared almonds in the lace dish by her bedside. She used to make recipes from words taken from her bible and I have a bible she gave me on my christening day with her writing inside. Hours were spent makiing jam with Granny and my Mum, storing apples for the winter, crocheting, knitting, sewing and her embroidery skills were superb. We used to sit in the front room all the Grannies, my Mum, my sister and I as they passed their skills onto us. I know that when I pick up a needle now or sit before my Mum’s sewing machine Granny is right beside me helping me out when I get into a muddle.

When I was about eight Granny came to live with us for a while as she needed to recover from an illness and much to her chagrin she needed help. None of us wanted her to leave when she fully recovered as it was so good to have her there. My younger brother, a small toddler at the time, was refusing to eat and he used to tuck up with Granny and eat with her from her plate. She had a way with little ones and we all adored her. Each afternoon my sister and I used to return from school and Granny would say the fairies had been in the garden and left presents for us. We used to dash out and find the gifts (under the hydreanga bush was a favourite place) usually something like a packet of plastacine, a doll’s hair brush, a doll’s tea cup and saucer, a special little something that used to keep my sister and I playing happily till teatime. I catch the smell of blackcurrants cooking and I am right back by the Raeburn watching my Mum and Granny make up pots of blackcurrant jam. So many happy memories and thanks to my Great Granny I still believe in fairies and miracles.

I am the only one in the family to have inherited her strawberry blond hair and I can now say with much love and pride, Granny thank you for your name.

4 Responses to “My surname changes from Baker to Thorne which evokes many happy memories and is just in time for the new year …”


  1. 1 1smiles December 18, 2011 at 8:05 pm

    Jane,
    I’m so happy to meet the new you! You and I are on similar journeys. I too changed my name from my married name this past summer when my divorce was completed.
    My life is also very different and so am I from the woman I had become back then.
    Here’s to a New Year with a new us!

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne December 18, 2011 at 8:11 pm

      Dear Jeannie, yes we are…if I blogged my dating stories there are a few similarities there too…such a journey so far on all fronts and if I had known where I would be now at the beginning of this year I wouldn’t have believed it. I think ignorance is bliss sometimes, because then there is no ‘opt out’ clause as we just have to get on with it! I have a post taking form about the past year…in a humourous vein…I just need to ensure that I don’t cause upset with it….here’s to next year and wherever that may take us….x

      Like

  2. 3 Laura December 18, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    Go Girl……

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

