Much gratitude for those ministering angels around us who care and support and make us laugh……

A rather tasty but expensive bon-bon caused a dental problem recently and I found myself face to face with my dentist this morning. He is one of my ministering angels and I always look forward to seeing him and will always be grateful to him. A number of years of bad dentistry as a teenager out in Africa and a suspect service in my late forties back here in the U.K. left me with a number of issues and I had settled myself to living with them. A friend suggested my current dentist and I clearly remember when I first went to see him about a year ago now, there are some people who have a special way about them and he is one. He had a look and a ponder and then gave me his solutions for problems that I thought I had to live with. Our friendship was cemented when I dissolved into tears in his chair and was unable to speak for some time, I was that grateful. He continues to look after me and sort me out and our relationship is such that we can chat and he can work at the same time, quite a feat, and this morning we both collapsed with laughter over one particular line. I suspect that laughter is not something often heard in a dentist’s surgery.

I thought on the way home about my other ministering angels and my G.P. is right up there with them. I always tease him that I have a badge with the words ‘I love my G.P.’ flashing on it. Years ago I was told that I would be on blood pressure tablets for the rest of my life and I came off them completely at the start of spring this year. Much laughter can be heard during our consultations and all the symptoms I have presented to him were borne out of stress and he commented on the last check-up at how healthy I was. I said ‘Well, I have removed stress from my life’, he looked surprised and said ‘How have you done that Jane?’ my reply ‘I divorced it’. When he finally finished laughing he replied…’That is a sexist comment’ and my immediate riposte was ‘No it isn’t, it’s accurate’.

Another ministering angel is my hairdresser whom I love. We met years ago when both our husbands at the time were ill with the same illness and we bonded immediately. We never discuss hair when I go to see her as we just catch up on each others’ news and I sit there, she works her magic and I always come out feeling a lot better than when I went in.

So much gratitude and love from me to my ministering angels.

4 Responses to “Much gratitude for those ministering angels around us who care and support and make us laugh……”


  1. 1 1smiles December 20, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    What a perfect time to remember those wonderful people in our lives who provide our care. I always look forward to visiting with my doctor as well… he and I often wind up chatting about a variety of things as well.
    I had a special hairdresser/friend too. She was diagnosed with cancer this summer and passed away just weeks later. But I had a picture taken the day she did my last hair cut. I will always cherish her friendship and her skill at making me beautiful.
    Thank you Jane, for these timely reminders… Hugs!

    Like

  2. 3 elenacaravela December 20, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    What a lovely blog. I will be back. Hope you the tooth is better.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

