Life is absurd so best not to try and control it…just go with the flow holding hope and dreams in your heart and laugh as often as you can….

Anything is possible by Edward Monkton

I am no expert when it comes to caring for chickens and six months ago I knew zilch, so I am now learning on a daily basis what works and what doesn’t. Firstly, it doesn’t matter how good, rich, full of nutrients and healthy ‘Organic Layers Pellets’ may be for our feathered friends – if they don’t like them, they won’t eat them. I have presented these pellets in all sorts of guises and trust me our hens are wise to this and they remain uneaten! A knowledgable friend said recently that hens stop laying during the hardest winter months as this is when they rest. His actual phrase….’That’s why battery hens get so knackered Jane, because the lights are on 24/7 so they lay all the time’. Blossom, totally unaware of her rest period, is still happily producing an egg a day bless her, and I have given the pellets away to a friend with less fussy hens.

Worcester, one of our dogs, is oblivious to all commands that stop his fun, for example, ‘get down’, ‘drop it’, ‘leave it’ or a plain and simple ‘no’. Emily, with the gentleness of youth, suggested the other day that she is worried that he may be going deaf, I disagreed and countered this suggestion with the truth that we are witnessing selective listening raised to an art form.

Chemicals in old painted furniture turn new paint a startling canary yellow (I did sand it down first) and yes this will happen when you are tired beyond belief and facing a rather tight deadline.

The discovery that my single male clients are at a loss when it comes to choosing fabric for me to use when re-vamping their furniture items was not assisted by my light hearted retort ‘For goodness sake peach is a colour as well as a fruit!’. Witnessing their bemused faces I spotted a solution and now have two road trips booked in to take them fabric shopping….I can’t wait and I have no idea on their level of enthusiasm, but I will keep you posted.

Loo seat broken over Christmas and a replacement was purchased today….universal, one size fits all…no, it doesn’t!

A dear friend has just done his tax return and is facing an unacceptably large bill. With empathy and in a suitably spiritual vein I have emailed him a rather creative and expletive ridden line which I have suggested he say out loud and as often as necessary till he feels better. For the sake of propriety I won’t repeat it here (it would upset my Mum who reads this) I will just say that for anyone who needs this kind of assistance do email me.

As this year closes I realise that I have fallen in love with ratchet clamps and a mouse detail sander…says it all really!

4 Responses to “Life is absurd so best not to try and control it…just go with the flow holding hope and dreams in your heart and laugh as often as you can….”


  1. 1 1smiles January 3, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    I’m glad she has wings with which to fly and knickers with which to hold her dress.. imagine if she had no knickers, lol!

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne January 3, 2012 at 9:40 pm

      Jeannie you’re a caution…I have taken a leaf from your book and tomorrow for a few posts I will try for a humourous angle on my dating exploits…my motto right now is ‘Keep calm and call Batman’… x

      Like

  2. 3 elenacaravela December 29, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    I agree, “you can’t have it all”, but laughter as often as possible is indeed recommended;)

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

