The Dating Game…

For a bit I am going to depart from my ‘norm’ on here as I am immersed in finishing my book and need a little distraction.

You are probably all familiar with the saying ‘Into each life a little rain must fall’ and if you are single and dating then I suspect you have a well worn brolly!

Emily (my daughter) bought me a book this week that has made me laugh out loud and it has spurred me on to write a few, hopefully, humourous posts about my dating exploits over the last few years. Emily and our friends have been saying that I should share some of my dating stories and I have previously shied away from this, but this book has sparked my imagination. (Here I go Jeannie at 1smiles.wordpress.com I just hope I can match your honesty and courage). My dating exploits haven’t all been funny, but hindsight can provide a softer angle and with it some light relief, as heaven only knows with some of the dates humour was the saving grace.

For today, as an opener, I will share two excerpts from this hilarious book titled “Sexually I’m more of a Switzerland” by David Rose (Picador) which is a collection of personal ads from The London Review of Books (LRB) and no, I will not be including the box numbers.

1. My resolution for 2007 was to finish my PhD, go running every day, reduce my intake of toxins, give up smoking, travel across India and the Far East, fix the hinge on the refrigerator door and make peace with my estranged father. I achieved only one of these. This year my resolution is to remember to put my trousers on every day. Man, 43. The fridge door opens like a dream.

2. My last date resulting from an ad in this column didn’t turn up because he’d been rushed to hospital having mixed two industrial cleaners whilst mopping his kitchen floor. Thanks for nothing LRB and Cillit Bang. Women with tales of dating woe more agonising than this please write to….I’ve given up on sex and now just need words of reassurance.

If you need a real laugh then do buy this book and I know I’ve possibly set myself up for a fall because I’m not sure I can match this level of humour, but I’ve started now so I will finish.

12 Responses to “The Dating Game…”


  1. 1 GSS January 9, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    A bit hard on Switzerland – more IMOM than MOTM! xx

    Like

  2. 3 Eric Alagan January 6, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Hello Jane…I’m all wound up. Hope we are not pressurizing you too much 🙂 Eric

    Like

  3. 5 elenacaravela January 5, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    Looking forward to your book!

    Like

  4. 7 1smiles January 5, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    Jane,
    I’m excited of course to hear about your dating adventures. Something new always gives us a bit of challenge, but I know you’lll do wonderfully! Can’t wait.

    Like

  5. 9 Angela January 5, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    😀 Keep writing Jane! 😀

    Like

  6. 11 Christine Moran January 5, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    Jane,

    I just know this is going to be terrific – can’t wait!!

    Christine xx

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne January 5, 2012 at 1:24 pm

      Christine you are too kind, I have a dreadful attack of nerves going on…but I will venture into personal territory with this!! 😀 Jane x

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

