The Dating Game …. Story Number Two……..Bed rest!

There’s going to be two ‘daters’ wrapped up in this story as there was a common thread between them and I must admit it left me with the feeling that I either resembled Mother Teresa or their respective mothers!

The first one appeared so straight forward and the old adage ‘It’s the quiet ones you have to watch’ holds very true, I shall call him Mr Valet.

We met when I called his company to get my car cleaned and he came to do it in person. We both ‘got’ the self-employed aspect of life and he appeared balanced and happy with his lot and worked very hard, all qualities that appealed to me.

We had several dates running up the ladder of coffee, drinks and then dinner. Now in those days I got quite excited at the prospect of being taken out to dinner (I still do) as this was an infrequent event in my past.

It was a beautiful restaurant set deep in the countryside and I made the mistake of not taking my own car this time…silly girl.

We arrived and it was pouring with rain, which didn’t bother me at all, it did however bother Mr Valet who commented that he hated the rain…my alarm bells started a distant jangle. It was the look on his face when he commented on the rain that spelt trouble, so quite out of character and since I was not driving, I requested a strong drink as soon as we entered the restaurant. I was soon to discover that one was not going to be enough!

We were chatting away about our plans for the coming year and during the main course the conversation swerved way, way off course.

Jane “I have been asked if I can go on a Healing Retreat with a good friend of mine, I think it’s to be held on Crete or Cyprus one of the two, and she’s asked me to do the catering. If it comes off it will be great”.

I’m smiling at this point and quite relaxed.

Mr Valet “So you are leaving me for a week already”.

Stunned silence from me and I am now frowning….when will men get it….this is not a good thing for women of my age to do!

Jane – really quietly – “There are so many things wrong with what you have just said that I don’t quite know where to start with it….give me a minute”.

Now you see why going in his car was a huge mistake as I had no quick exit route.

Mr Valet sat in front of me looking crestfallen whilst I signalled frantically for the waiter to bring me another strong drink at speed.

Drink in hand I went into ‘coaching’ mode and got him to tell me what was behind all this, which he did. The bottom line of this discussion was the startling discovery that his habitual mode of coping when life got tricky was to take to his bed usually for about a week at a time.

Now with the best will in the world, and having no wish to sit in judgment on how others handle life, suffice to say that this is not my way of dealing with things and I wished him well and no further dates were planned.

It took me some time (and I mean months) for me to accept a dinner date from anyone else without twitching.

Some time later a man crossed my path whom I shall refer to as Mr Logistics and I very quickly discovered that he had the same habit as Mr Valet, but he added a good few bottles of Vodka to the mix. He thought this was a marvelous combination. I have Mr Valet to thank for my previous experience as I sussed this one out at first date whilst we were still at the drinks stage.

Oh give me strength and pass the biscuit barrel!

It took a while before there was a next after this little lot……

16 Responses to “The Dating Game …. Story Number Two……..Bed rest!”


  1. 1 elenacaravela January 10, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    Oh my. All coping strategies are not equal. Perhaps the next guy that requires a nap respite should try chocolate instead. He’d be a little heavier but certainly a better date;)

    Like

  2. 3 1smiles January 9, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    Ahh Jane! I’m 53 and yes, in our age group there are quite the pond full of characters. Suffice it to say, that I don’t think anyone can make it through to midlife without some collateral damage. Unless they have been living with mom and dad all along. That would have it’s own issues as well, Hahaha!

    I’ve stopped fishing as well.. but now it just seems to rain men. They appear from nowhere.

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne January 9, 2012 at 9:40 pm

      Hi Jeannie…I laughed out loud at your comment…I completely get the collateral damage – I mean you and I have that going on, everyone does, it’s the level that varies and my goodness me I got my fair share of high level flyers!!! And yes since I stopped fishing a good while ago men are indeed popping out of nowhere…the strangest places. I will email you xx

      Like

  3. 5 thomag1 January 9, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    Crete or Cypress is a long way off to run……you must have scared Mr. Valet with something you said—-haha Sorry if he was the man…but it sounds like that was the best thing for you. – bad luck and yet good luck at the same time. I hope the meal was good……the stiff drinks probably were, eh?
    What’s wrong with us men, Jane? My best wishes to you’

    tom

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne January 9, 2012 at 4:23 pm

      Hello Tom…there’s nothing wrong with men at all…it’s all about ‘fit’ isn’t it? I don’t think Mr Valet was the man for me by any means as we had such a different way of tackling life. There’s much more I could say but I’d spoil the next few posts! Thanks for reading it Tom amd for taking the time to comment, I appreciate it…Jane πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. 7 lostupabove January 9, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    You seem to be living in an area where strange men abound. Ever thought of moving, Jane? Loved the story. xx

    Like

  5. 13 flatcap January 9, 2012 at 11:35 am

    oh dear, looks like i’m going to have to slide down your way, and treat you to a nice cod and chips young lady.Things don’t look like they are going well, still your disasters are making me chuckle.

    Like

  6. 15 Eric Alagan January 9, 2012 at 9:13 am

    You seem to have a knack when it came to picking them, huh?

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne January 9, 2012 at 9:17 am

      Good morning Eric, you wait…this was just the warm-up act…I am a different girl now to the one who ventured out two years ago! Have a good day, Jane

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

