It’s a mad world and blogging can add to the madness in your daily round…..

Butch at Wordsmith's Desk – The Frustration of Blogging wrote this post a few days ago and it struck a chord with me.

We all blog for our own reasons and I started out with the intention of finding my voice…..which reminds me I need to do my ‘About Me’ page on here….anyway, as your blog attracts readers and you start to build relationships with other bloggers you hit a few bumps in the road. Butch put it eloquently in his blog post so I won’t go over it again here, but just to say I opened my Inbox this morning to 237 new emails.

I think it’s fair to say that with the best will in the world we cannot follow all the bloggers that are following us as we have other commitments and I am sure that in this global village of ours we all understand that. If someone has taken the time and trouble to pen a poem or write a piece then I feel I am short changing them when I speed read it, or just press the like button to show them I have seen it.

One of the main problems is the follow on comments that you receive when you leave a comment on a post. Of course you want to see what your fellow blogger has replied to your comment but do you always need to see all the other comments that other bloggers have left?

As an ex.programmer I have an idea that it may be possible for WordPress to separate the comment ‘strings’ and give us an option to click on so that we receive just the reply to our own comment or all comments……we may have a choice. I will be emailing them today with this suggestion and if anyone else would like to add their weight behind this then maybe we can ease our load a little and still stay in touch with each other.

22 Responses to “It’s a mad world and blogging can add to the madness in your daily round…..”


  1. 1 lostupabove January 19, 2012 at 8:12 am

    I never follow comments via email,I did so at first with the same result you mentioned, albeit a much smaller number of emails. The same problem occurs in the dashboard section “Comments I’ve made”. You can read the reaction on your comment (if there is one), After a while others take precedence as the comments are chronologically ordered, but sometimes a comment you made weeks ago pops up first just because someone else made a comment,on that post, a comment not even related to yours.So if the software could be adapted, we all would benefit. Very good initiative Jane.
    Steph xx

    Like

  2. 3 mj monaghan January 19, 2012 at 6:54 am

    Jane, you have to use the reader:

    http://mjmonaghan.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/rss-feed-reader-even-an-mj-could-do-it/

    It saves a lot of time, my friend. I stopped sending them to my email completely.

    Like

  3. 5 Rosie January 18, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    I completely agree! I often have to unsubscribe from the follow-up comment thing because my yahoo account goes crazy.
    Just followed the link from Jacqueline’s blog. Nice to have found you!

    Like

  4. 7 Martin Shone January 18, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    I agree about the comments – I don’t have as many emails as you but sometmes about a third of them are comments replies from other comments, which I don’t really need to see – unless it is a really good blog topic. So an option to choose would be a good idea.

    Like

  5. 9 1smiles January 18, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    Jane,
    It seems you got the clicking on the box down pat, hahaha. And thanks to your helpful programmer talents, I was finally able to figure out how to atttach my awards to my blog page.
    You are remarkable! Have a fantastic day!

    Like

  6. 11 elenacaravela January 18, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Sounds like a plan–no reply expected:)

    Like

  7. 17 granbee January 18, 2012 at 10:35 am

    Wonderful suggestion here, Jane. I myself have thought separating the replies to our own comments and all the other comments into two “strings” would be a good idea, but I thought I was too much of a “granbee” to actually email wordpress with that suggestion. Those guys over there sometimes seem not to care about us beginning bloggers, especially us fine arts types, you know? Jane, I have challenged myself to dive back into the world of writing and publishing in a major way. One of my main re-entry tools is to follow everyone that follows me, to follow those others who seem to be thoughtful about following the people I already follow. I receive over 600 emails a day, usually. Some are spam, of course. Many are comments by others I really do not need to see! However, far more than half are links I have chosen and wish to read carefully. Some are not just blogs, but news sights of all types. And then there is Facebook and Twitter and LinkedIn–you know how it is! But Ishut myself off from all this for so long in self-effacement due to “buying” all the ho-hummers’ opinions of me that I really do need to play intellectual and creative catch up. All-out immersion seems to be the right answer for me, for the present.

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne January 18, 2012 at 8:03 pm

      Rose you dive right in and do exactly what feels right to you – full immersion sounds like the very thing you need right now – I know that myself and many others in this ‘village’ of ours are there beside you. Your opinion is as valid to WordPress as anyone else’s…we hear your voice…love Jane x

      Like

  8. 19 Eric Alagan January 18, 2012 at 10:32 am

    Hello Jane,

    I agree with all he says.

    Speaking for myself, I like to touch on one aspect > I do not expect my ‘subscribees’ to click ‘Like’ or post comments on every blog post I make. Likewise, I don’t do the same. No offence taken and none given.

    This is supposed to be fun, reflective and even educational but most of all, stress free.

    Thank you for this sharing.

    All good wishes, Eric

    Like

  9. 21 Christine Moran January 18, 2012 at 10:29 am

    Hi Jane,

    I am totally with you here!

    I have just returned after a week from my eye surgery and this morning had over 500 in my inbox!
    Please keep us informed!

    Christine x

    Like

    • 22 Jane Thorne January 18, 2012 at 7:59 pm

      Hello Christine, you are a brave girl having eye surgery and yes I will keep you posted…take care and I wish you a speedy recovery, Jane xx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

