A brief but cautionary tale and a ditty of old that is very apt this week….

A few Christmases ago I decided a project was in order and having been given some old boxes of wall tiles by a friend I started to create a broken tile mosaic for all my kitchen walls. I had the mistaken belief that this would take me nicely through the holiday and I would be done by new year. My optimism needs curbing sometimes as it took a salutory three months of weekends and evenings to complete and my finger tips were shredded for ages afterwards.

Recently a friend gave me some hessian sacks with the comment ‘I saw these Jane and thought that you would know what to do with them’….mmmmm….I had this picture in my head of shopping bags with flowers on them made from all my scraps of material so I smiled and accepted them. Idiotic girl as what I should have said was ‘Thanks Bob but I have other things to do right now so please take them back to the farm from whence they came’.

You know when you have invested so much time in a project that it’s wise to see it through to the end. Yes, you’ve guessed it, that’s where I’m at with the bags. I have accidentally stuck myself so many times with a needle that my fingers started to bleed yesterday…like the shredded mosaic fingers I need to remember this.

So for this week I have found this old ditty I wrote a while back….

When things go pear-shaped and the going gets tough,
When you look in the mirror and think ‘Oh gawd I look rough’!
When life unfolds with events that weren’t in the original plan
When balance is required but instead you bear a strong resemblance to Desperate Dan….
When your ‘Absolutely Must Do Today’ list doesn’t fit with reality or time
When you look at what’s ahead of you and can’t quite face the climb…..
Keep following your dreams, hold them in your heart and build them bit by bit,
And in the face of life’s treacle, pants over tights, flick that cape and say ‘Bollocks’ to it.

X

18 Responses to “A brief but cautionary tale and a ditty of old that is very apt this week….”


  1. 1 lostupabove January 20, 2012 at 8:57 am

    “When you look in the mirror and think ‘Oh gawd I look rough’!”, then I put on some more make-up or I go to the hairdresser’s. 🙂
    Lovely post, Jane. Take care of those fingers.

    Love from Stephxx

    Like

  2. 3 1smiles January 20, 2012 at 3:58 am

    Sometimes life has a wa of slowing us down just a bit. Be kind to your tender fingers.

    Hugs!!

    Like

  3. 5 IMOM January 19, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    Bollocks to it indeed!

    Like

  4. 7 lyndarenham January 19, 2012 at 9:26 pm

    What a lovely creative book.
    Lynda
    x
    http://www.renham.co.uk

    Like

  5. 9 granbee January 19, 2012 at 8:50 pm

    Stand back, Jane, while I flick my own cape back and take off into the wild blue yonder of following my dream, keeping your wonderful ditty clearly in view in my side mirror all the while.

    Like

  6. 11 Martin Shone January 19, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    I didn’t know super heroes were supposed to swear 🙂

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne January 19, 2012 at 4:55 pm

      Martin you made me laugh out loud….bollocks isn’t swearing it’s creative vocabulary and my motto is ‘Keep calm and call Batman’ – trouble is up till now he’s always busy so I have to get myself out of these fixes….I’ve done it again today and yes I had a bollocks moment…this is not how my Mother brought me up!!

      Like

  7. 13 thomag1 January 19, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    I love it, Jane. And I’m glad you brought that verse back at the end, too…………”Bollocks to it!” haha

    tom

    Like

  8. 15 elenacaravela January 19, 2012 at 1:40 pm

    So you have friends who “gift” you with their finds as well……I’ve a basement full of “potential” too:)

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne January 19, 2012 at 4:25 pm

      Great isn’t it…stuff everywhere but just because we can create stuff from this little lot doesn’t mean we should..not losing sight of our own creativity is the key here me thinks Elena…x

      Like

  9. 17 maturestudenthanginginthere January 19, 2012 at 11:12 am

    A great poem for many of us ladies wading through life’s treacle.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

