Life’s little lifts and how important they are in our daily round……..

Em and I have been under strain for a while now and given the circumstances there has been nothing we can do but smile and plough on through.

What has helped us girls is the small things that have lifted and raised a smile. A few nights ago we watched a film called ‘The boat that rocked’ about pirate radio off the UK coast back in the 60’s and this certainly made us smile and laugh out loud in parts. It had a cracking soundtrack running through it so we have put together a playlist and that has been belted out through our home for a few days now and this has also lifted spirits.

Small things can raise a smile; a mug, a favourite meal, watching Blossom (one of our hens) take on crows in the garden when they come anywhere near her food (Blossom wins everytime), sparkly nail polish, candles, twinkly lights, hot chocolate (let’s be honest chocolate of any kind works), fresh sheets on the bed, proper coffee….

Small but important.

18 Responses to “Life’s little lifts and how important they are in our daily round……..”


  1. 1 Christine Moran January 25, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    You are so right Jane, it’s the simple things that matter.

    And for me, these days, after past experiences and now my disability I seem to be in a much more receptive place to receive the pleasure from the little things.

    I would have to add hazelnut syrup to the hot chocolate – it’s pure magic!!

    Christine xx

    Like

  2. 3 lostupabove January 25, 2012 at 8:26 am

    You’re so right Jane, the most futile things can make (or break) a day. Loved reading about your hens again.
    Love Steph xx

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne January 25, 2012 at 9:22 am

      Good morning Steph I am an eternal optimist looking for the good and it’s there Steph, it’s always there in some way…love to you Jane xx

      Like

  3. 5 Eric Alagan January 25, 2012 at 12:55 am

    Dear Jane,

    Touched a chord with me…

    In the sixties, we had very little including family love but treasured everything…even a pinch of sugar in a mug of rough coffee was a joy.

    “Many dread the morning’s challenges…some are glad they made it through the night”…not very poetic but just made it up.

    My heartfelt warmth and love to you and yours.
    Your buddy in Singapore, Eric

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne January 25, 2012 at 9:21 am

      Good morning buddy we live lives full of abundance now don’t we? We are indeed blessed and you may think your line wasn’t poetic but I like it and it is very true. Love to you and yours over there in Singapore – Jane x

      Like

  4. 7 granbee January 24, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Jane, how wonderful of you to remind me of several old bossy hens my mother insisted on keeping because “they are still good layers” at the farm of my childhood. There was no cat, no hawk, no snake, no dog, no bobcat or weasel clever enough to defeat those old squawy, scatchy, beady-eyed hens. Reminds you of some valiant old ladies like the ones in Steel Magnolias, right? These memories over a cup of genuine coffee with a little chocolate on the side, thinking of the new sheets I have coming for my bed next month, are indeed the comforting little things we need to give thanks for every day.

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne January 25, 2012 at 9:18 am

      Hello Rose we love our hens and I can often be found chatting to them as they follow me about the garden. When life got really tough once I had a little gratitude book and each night I used to write down five things I was grateful for that day…sometimes it was as basic as the air to breath and the roof over our heads, but it’s a habit that has stuck with me…enjoy your new sheets and I instinctively feel you are our very own valiant Steel Magnolia lady…love to you x

      Like

  5. 9 1smiles January 24, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    I never thought of spaghetti either! Living on a farm… I found that our hens would eat anything form the kitchen.. except left over green beans. Seems no one will eat left over green beans!

    Wonderful to remember all of the little things in life that ground us. Thank you Jane.

    Many hugs!

    Like

  6. 11 thomag1 January 24, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    I like it when you talk about things ‘down home’ like Blossom fending off the crows. Your ability to find a ‘smile’ hiding around the house……like clean sheets…photos…..a meal…….a cup of coffee…..smiles are ubiquitous in the house….we have to look harder some days….keep smiling….and writing…and painting…..posting……I love a romantic and that is you, Jane….tell Blossom to keep up the good fight! haha

    my best,
    tom

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne January 24, 2012 at 2:02 pm

      Thank you for your lovely comment Tom – I had forgotten that I am a romantic, I had just been seeing myself as creative…a gift from you today, thanks Jane x

      Like

  7. 13 maturestudenthanginginthere January 24, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    My husband was a bit of a whiz with our chooks – he solved countless problems along the way, especially when they got poorly. He also has quite a few books on keeping chickens. If ever you have any questions drop me an email. We picked up lots of tips along the way the folk were happy to share and we’ll be glad to pass it on if it helps.

    Like

  8. 15 lyndarenham January 24, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    Under some strain here also and your postings do help cheer me up and get things in perspective. Having recently been mulled by an emotional vampire I am struggling to get my head above water. I shall check out the movie. Thanks for a great uplifting post.
    xx

    Like

  9. 17 maturestudenthanginginthere January 24, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    You are so right Jane, it is the little things that lift us but in order for them to lift us we have to have the capacity to cherish them. I noticed in a previous post that you have hens. We kept hens for quite a few years and loved them. We had 12 and they were all characters. Have you tried giving them spaghetti. Ours used to love it, they would pretend it was worms. Hours of fun. 😆

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,286 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Categories


roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

Bette A. Stevens, Maine Author

A writer inspired by nature and human nature

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

Annette Rochelle Aben

~ Communicator, WordSmith, Artist, Guide, Mentor, Muse ~

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Create Space

Creating a space for the creative use of life as a tool for learning.

Eliza Waters

My Own Paradise: Life on Seven and a Half Acres

England And Scotland

Our trip to the United Kingdom

bridgesburning

There are no facts, only interpretations. - Friedrich Nietzsche. The truth I think that validates everything you have to say.

beetleypete

The musings of a Londoner, now living in Norfolk

From Mage Mind

When a mage is sharing what's on his mind. Business, Motivation, Positive life, Success, Marketing and Good Ideas.

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

Love Balm

Dating, Love & Everything In-between

Retired? No one told me!

Tonight I Dream. Tomorrow I Do!

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

