Managing time and blogging comments update for fellow WordPress bloggers!

Pop Quiz - Savage Chicken by Doug Savage @ http://www.savagechickens.com

[

I have heard back from WordPress and they think it’s a good idea to have two options on how we follow the comments of our fellow bloggers (see all comments or just the reply to our comment) and have put it forward to their programming team to discuss for the next update. I will you posted with news on this one.

In the meantime the resourceful MJ sent me this suggestion on RSS feeders titled “Even an MJ could do it”. I am lucky to have an RSS feed built into my new email software so I have added the links to all the blogs I follow into that. Some of you may have noticed on your blogs that I have unsubscribed to follow you by email and it is because I am now following by RSS. From MJ’s link there are suggestions of other RSS feeders out there (free to use) and I am grateful to MJ for his thoughtfulness as this change has been a blessing for my daily round.

I have also discovered a link on the bottom of the emails I receive when I comment on a fellow blogger’s post. If you just want to see the reply to your comment then when that email comes through you can then click and unsubscribe from further comments. This lessens email traffic and it means I can still comment and keep in touch with my friends in this global village of ours without being overwhelmed by emails.

Butch Wordsmith's Desk I hope this helps.

Normal service will be resumed from Monday as Em (my Editor) says this blog post is not my usual style….I feel a meeting coming on over dinner tonight!

17 Responses to “Managing time and blogging comments update for fellow WordPress bloggers!”


  1. 3 Eric Alagan January 28, 2012 at 5:26 am

    Thanks Jane, these are useful tips. I need to check out that RSS option…have not got round to it. Have a great weekend buddy, Eric

    Like

  2. 5 granbee January 27, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    Jane, you are so brave to take on the wordpress gurus. They really discouraged me and left me thinking I have better uses for my time and mental energy than worrying about all their super-persnickety guidelines for comments! There, now I feel better. Thanks for listening! I really am spending a lot of time blogging and commenting these days. This is my own choice to get me back in the habit of writing prose, of summarizing, of “mini-essaying”. As spring comes on, I already know how I am going to improve my efficiency with following and commenting on blogs. I will just use my blogroll list to check on each one, using right and left arrows in my browser to zip back and forth between my admin page and any given blog. This way, I can also fulfill a duty I feel important of encouraging those who have not posted in a while.

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne January 27, 2012 at 10:14 pm

      I knew you had a purpose Rose…there was such loving determination in your comments to fellow bloggers and your posts…go you, pants over tights and flick that cape as I would say…you are lovely, Jane x

      Like

  3. 7 Arjun Sharma January 27, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    i was thinking on the same lines Jane. i hope wordpress follows up on your request. it is hard to keep a track of where all one commented and who replied. thank you for this.

    Like

  4. 9 lyndarenham January 27, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    Oh dear, I am far from being a techniephobe and it sounded a bit complicated to me but then a cookery book full of recipes seems complicated to me. What an admission!
    It all seems wonderfully helpful though and I will look further into it.
    Thank you Jane.
    x

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne January 27, 2012 at 10:12 pm

      Hi Lynda nothing ventured nothing gained and I really am inept but I managed. I think recipes are better when we make them up…much more interesting…take care, Jane x

      Like

  5. 11 1smiles January 27, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    You have one tough editor! Maybe if you withhold dessert from her, she’ll be more cooperative.
    Love the cartoon!

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne January 27, 2012 at 3:53 pm

      Hi Jeannie – Em is tough but loving where I am concerned…straight talking but with a wisdom beyond her years…she did however end up with noodles in her hair at lunchtime. She has been busy in the studio for the last two days and has produced some beautiful paintings…I loved the cartoon too…Doug Savage has a funny take on life….xx

      Like

  6. 13 elenacaravela January 27, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    Thanks for contacting wordpress with your great idea. It’s something that didn’t even enter my mind to do. You’re changing the world Jane.
    Hope your editorial meeting went well;)

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne January 27, 2012 at 1:58 pm

      Thanks Elena..the editorial meeting was full of laughter and Em ended up with noodles in her hair and this was just lunch…no hope for us girls really – take care, Jane 😀

      Like

  7. 15 maturestudenthanginginthere January 27, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    It all sounds a bit complicated for me, but I will look into this a bit more. Thanks for posting this information, and for the links – really helpful.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

