Life unfolds and things happen but not always in the way we expect – I’d put money on it being as it is meant though…

For the last few years I have been facing a rather large DIY mountain of things that need doing around our place and I have been chipping away at this and bit by bit things are getting done but never quite as I imagine they will.

Which brings me onto yesterday as another item was cleared from the mountain which is more like a hill now. In the UK we have regional groups that re-cycle anything household wise that an individual household no longer requires (I think they also have them in the USA). It’s a great set-up called ‘Freecycle’ where anyone can post up an item that they no longer need but it may be useful to someone else. People email you and you organise collection and your item goes onto it’s new home. You can also post up for anything you may need in the wanted section. It fosters a sense of community and stops items going to landfill which is all good stuff.

To digress for a second, we needed replacement kitchen cupboards in our home a few years ago but couldn’t afford it and I found some kitchen cupboards in a friend’s skip. I got the agreement of our landlord that I would clean up the cupboards and they would supply me with a new worktop, sink, taps and a carpenter. Voila! A lovely new kitchen. I tiled it all in a broken tile mosaic but that’s another rather long and life ‘tweaking’ story. We had one cupboard though that didn’t have doors on it and it has been up on the wall like that for nearly two years now. I have been visualising a dresser top unit to display the plates which would allow me to ditch the open unit…..and guess what….on Freecycle when I awoke early yesterday to get some writing done there was a new post offering a lime washed dresser top. Arrangements for anything posted up on there are made in minutes so I moved like greased lightening and it is now in our home and I am chuffed to bits.

This DIY mountain climbing lark can be fun and good luck to the wife of the chap who discovered Freecycle yesterday as he was having a great time when I collected the dresser top and I strongly suspect that she came home to an empty garage…man on a mission and all that!

14 Responses to “Life unfolds and things happen but not always in the way we expect – I’d put money on it being as it is meant though…”


  1. 1 granbee January 31, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    Well, I am “chuffed” for you, dear Jane! You Brits have such an elfish twist on the common vernacular, I must say! Love it to pieces with cream on top (as we USSoutherns, us old timers anyway, like to say!). Great shelving and great dishes. I am waiting for springcleaning time, myself!

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne January 31, 2012 at 11:05 pm

      Ah Rose I have had such fun getting stuff done…you should see my duck pond. The sides may be wibbly but it holds water and the ducks should be here by Spring…yay with cream on top as you would say. Love to you xx

      Like

  2. 3 1smiles January 31, 2012 at 2:20 am

    Very refreshing post! Rebuilding and redoing. Exciting isn’t it?
    Love & Hugs xxx
    Jeannie

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne January 31, 2012 at 8:28 am

      Hiya Jeannie it is fun…you should see my duck pond – I did it and the sides may be wibbly but it holds water…love and hugs to you , Jane xxx

      Like

  3. 5 maturestudenthanginginthere January 30, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    Jane, just to say I’ve nominated you for the 7 x 7 Link Award. Congrats.. you’ll fine the details here http://maturestudenthanginginthere.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/an-award-from-iceland/

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne January 31, 2012 at 8:27 am

      Jacqueline unusually I am at a loss for words…so I will try harder…thank you very much, I am truly touched that you think my warblings are worthy of this award…I may have a little private word with you about the rules though!! Have a great day x

      Like

  4. 7 thomag1 January 30, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    Same over here in the USA and like you say, you have to move fast to get to it, sometimes and your chance to feel “chuffed to bits.” …nice post, Jane.

    Like

  5. 9 lostupabove January 30, 2012 at 10:25 am

    Calls for a little celebration in that, now complete, kitchen, don’t you think so Jane? Where are those biscuits and where is that cuppa?
    Enjoy your day! Steph xx

    Like

  6. 13 maturestudenthanginginthere January 30, 2012 at 9:54 am

    I love it! When I was going through my divorce years ago I set up my little cottage entirely with free stuff and things from charity shops. I loved my wee cottage. Now, living with Peter (a huge fan of auctions) we have too much stuff and I wish he was more like the man you describe. I long to get my man hooked on Freecycle – one can dream 😉

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne January 30, 2012 at 10:06 am

      Oh Jacqueline you are so funny…if you could see my garage at the moment as I have too much in there and I need to move some stuff on (don’t tell Peter)….have a great day Jane x

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

