Poetic thoughts for our daily round…..

Hold your face up to the light
And say ‘Hello’ to each day with hope.

Face a strong wind with courage
And try going out with a different hat.

Sail with fortitude into uncharted waters
And cherish the loving buoys discovered along the way.

Roses cannot bloom without rain
And friendship offers shelter when it pours down.

Nothing exists but this second in time
And our choices fill that moment.

26 Responses to “Poetic thoughts for our daily round…..”


  1. 3 granbee January 31, 2012 at 10:09 pm

    Jane, you have blown me away here. This is some of the best poetry I have read anywhere. I mean that! These words are particularly meaningful to me:
    Sail with fortitude into uncharted waters
    And cherish the loving buoys discovered along the way.” somehow, your combination of line lengths, rhythms, language, and word imagery all matches each other element to perfection! WOW!

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne January 31, 2012 at 11:04 pm

      Gosh really Rose…I just wake up with these thoughts and poems in my head and out they come…I don’t edit the words or look at the structure – I wouldn’t know what I was looking at structure wise anyway!! This praise from you means so much, I am touched – it comes from my heart and my heart says thank you to you for your support – love, Jane xx

      Like

  2. 5 1smiles January 31, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    Oh how lovely! Keeps us moving forward with fortitude and above all hope. Thank you Jane.

    Many hugs,
    Jeannie

    Like

  3. 7 Erica January 31, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    nice motivating words 🙂

    Like

  4. 11 thomag1 January 31, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    poem with great ‘attitude’ and direction……nicely done, Jane.

    my best,
    tom

    Like

  5. 15 Christine Moran January 31, 2012 at 9:45 am

    PS – Hats don’t suit me by the way so will a different scarf do, I have hundreds of those!! LOL 🙂

    Love and hygs

    Christine xx

    Like

  6. 19 journeyintopoetry January 31, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Thank you Jane for this uplifting start to my day, which began very much in negative mode; this is just what happens sometimes first thing and I accept it and then work on it as I am doing right now!

    “And our choices fill that moment”

    is a very powerful line and a good one to take with me through the day – thank you!

    Like

  7. 21 maturestudenthanginginthere January 31, 2012 at 9:38 am

    I like the idea of trying a different hat for the day – and wearing it with a smile on your face. Lovely thoughts here Jane 😉

    Like

  8. 23 lostupabove January 31, 2012 at 9:35 am

    Well done and well said, Jane, just like my favourite philosopher Schopenhauer says: “Every moment of our life belongs to the present only for a moment; then it belongs for ever to the past. Every evening we are poorer by a day.”
    I love: “the friendship that offers shelter…”.Beautiful image.
    Love and hugs, darling Jane
    Steph xx (Waiting for that home made cake. But I guess that is living in the past already ;-))

    Like

    • 24 Jane Thorne January 31, 2012 at 9:44 am

      Thank you Steph, what a lovely comment and where would we be without our friends? The cake is in my kitchen..where are you? Have a great day – lone and hugs Jane xxx

      Like

  9. 25 Eric Alagan January 31, 2012 at 8:59 am

    “Nothing exists but this second in time…”

    And yet we squirrel away in hopes of tomorrow.

    I love your poem. Great job buddy 🙂

    Luv and hugz, Eric

    Like

    • 26 Jane Thorne January 31, 2012 at 9:18 am

      Hi Lovely Eric…squirreling away with hope always…hope is like air for me…thank you for your kind words – love and hugs Jane x

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

