Hope and expectations – two completely different things….

Anais Nin said ‘My ideas usually come not at my desk writing but in the midst of living’ and my following thoughts came from a recent conversation with a close friend.

Hope is the…

voice in your heart that speaks your dearest wishes
belief that all is as it is meant to be right now
heartfelt call to find blessings in any situation
gift to seek the best in everyone.

Expectations are…

trying to change the outcome
non-acceptance of what will be
moulding life not flowing with it.

Hope is living with love threaded through all our actions and expectations are the stones that weigh down dreams and prolong situations that really are events that belong in the past.

24 Responses to “Hope and expectations – two completely different things….”


  1. 1 cottonbombs February 8, 2012 at 6:15 am

    Jane! A wise post. I think I’m smart, but, there are times my hopes stab my expectations in the back and I’m left without a lead.

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne February 8, 2012 at 7:55 am

      Hello Peter – it’s early over here and I think I’ve understood what you said..not sure though!!! Maybe taking the lead from your dreams and the plans surrounding them will allow things to unfold in ways that might surprise you – Jane

      Like

  2. 3 celestealluvial February 4, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    Beautiful inspiring thoughts…thank you for sharing them!
    blessings
    Celeste

    Like

  3. 5 granbee February 2, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    Jane, these words:”Hope is living with love threaded through all our actions” and then picturing expectations as being like a stone weighing down our days made me think of hope as a beautiful silken colored ribbon tied to a balloon floating higher and higher. The stone of the expectations someone else placed in their balloon just brought it crashing back down. Thanks for all the balloons you have decorated my brain with today in this post and the previous one, dear Jane!

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne February 2, 2012 at 6:18 pm

      I am glad you liked this as I hesitated before posting this one. So many of us are taught to ‘expect’ a certain outcome but it just doesn’t sit right with me…I’m finding my voice Rose as are you and I’m off to read your latest post now whilst dinner is in the oven, the animals are fed and Em is happily with Morgan…peace in the house – love Jane xx

      Like

  4. 7 journeyintopoetry February 2, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    I think this is a really lovely piece Jane, very reflective and so true.

    A friend and I often talk about the “scripts” we have written for ourselves only to find we are living a completely different one which wasn’t in our plan!!

    “belief that all is as it is meant to be right now” – this is how I try to live and although I do believe it, sometimes…

    Love and hugs

    Christine xx

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne February 2, 2012 at 5:11 pm

      Oh Christine it can be a daily challenge can’t it…sometimes an hourly or minute by minute one, that’s where the pats on the back at the end of the day come in – our own acknowledgment that we have done the best we can – love and hugs to you xx

      Like

  5. 9 1smiles February 2, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    Life does take us exactly where we should go as long as we don’t try to throw in too many pitstops (expectations) along the way.

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne February 2, 2012 at 4:11 pm

      I love it Jeannie – your pitstops, my tweaks, we’re starting our own dictionary here! Much wisdom can be gained from pitstops…much love and hugs to you xx

      Like

  6. 11 Michael February 2, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    Nice post Jane. Beautiful insight. Regards. !!!

    Like

  7. 13 Grandfathersky February 2, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    perfect thought. faith – the knowledge of this hoped for,evidence of things not seen.

    Like

  8. 15 G February 2, 2012 at 10:20 am

    what a beautiful illustration image too 🙂

    Like

  9. 17 lostupabove February 2, 2012 at 10:09 am

    “Hope is living with love threaded through all our actions and expectations are the stones that weigh down dreams and prolong situations that really are events that belong in the past.” Wonderful sentence expressing beautiful feelings, dear Jane. Wish I had written it,(but such an expectation would be a millstone :D) Congratulations.
    Love and hugs
    Steph xx

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne February 2, 2012 at 10:18 am

      Hi Steph I wondered if this post would be a bit contentious, because my Reiki Master and good friend disagrees with me about this…I am learnng to go with the flow yet strive to bring my dreams into reality…it’s quite a journey…love and hugs to you xx

      Like

      • 19 lostupabove February 2, 2012 at 11:14 am

        Hi, Jane, Had to look up a bit about Reiki. I’d heard the name but what is was???? Gosh, such a long article on Wikipedia. Just browsed it lightly but I will read it further later on the day. Does it help? Do you like it?
        Love and hugs Steph xxx

        Like

        • 20 Jane Thorne February 2, 2012 at 11:51 am

          Hi yes as Reiki uses a natural energy is does help and I am Reiki attuned too. I give healing to my daughter, friends and our animals…xxx

          Like

  10. 21 maturestudenthanginginthere February 2, 2012 at 9:54 am

    Great poem. Isn’t it strange that for us to do more than just survive we need a balance of hope and expectation. They must co-exist if we are to truly feel that we are living rather than just having a life. If we have hope then I think we are brave enough to have expectations in this life. If we have expectations then everything is possible if we have hope. Nice warm thoughts Jane for this cold February day. We can always count on you for a shot of positivity 😉

    Like

  11. 23 Jane Thorne February 2, 2012 at 10:16 am

    😀 xx

    Like


  1. 1 Hope, expectations and a bit of impromptu dancing thrown in « maturestudenthanginginthere Trackback on February 2, 2012 at 10:09 am

I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

