Thoughts for all my friends who are struggling right now – kicking anything gloomy to the kerb……….

The sun is waving ‘Goodbye’ to the blanket of snow that fell on Saturday
I am off for a walk with the ‘boys’ no matter what my ‘To do’ list may say.

An excited text from a daughter with frozen hair ‘Don’t worry Mum I’m not cold at all…
I’ve got my woolly hat on and some great shots to show you of the Berlin Wall’.

A very contented dog curled up on my feet, completely hidden under a blanket
Monopolising the hot water bottle as it’s so much better than being in his basket!

A chocolate cake baked to celebrate a good friend’s birthday
Happy candles spread across the top in colourful array.

Lunch to look forward too tomorrow with a much loved and cherished friend
Her love and support has many times saved me from going completely around the bend.

…………

There’s light outside
A reflection of the light from within us all….

24 Responses to “Thoughts for all my friends who are struggling right now – kicking anything gloomy to the kerb……….”


  1. 1 lostupabove February 8, 2012 at 7:40 am

    Seems you have a lot of snow too, over in the UK. Over here it is bitterly cold, but we are also warm inside, the cat and my mum’s dog next to us, near (the cat almost in) the fiercely burning fire, (we have quite some wind here) dad busy getting wood inside. No chocolate cake though.I,love such winter days and you seem to enjoy them too. Have a nice day, sweetie
    Love from Steph xxx

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne February 8, 2012 at 7:58 am

      Hello Steph…I love all seasons as I lived in Africa for a good few years and you appreciate the subtle changes the seasonal weather brings….rather sharp right now though – have a good day with your Mum and Dad love to you Jane xxx

      Like

  2. 3 granbee February 7, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    Wonderfully encouraging, cheerful post, cherishing the little every day joys. I treasure the ending the most:
    “There’s light outside
    A reflection of the light from within us all”.

    Like

  3. 5 thepoeticgoblin February 7, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    So harmonic! Lovely picture too

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne February 7, 2012 at 6:59 pm

      Hi Alex…thank you, I tried for a light hearted effect to cheer folk up – I took the picture from my bedroom window – good to hear from you, Jane 😀

      Like

  4. 7 1smiles February 7, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    Thank you for reminding me that the little cozies that we bring into our lives do indeed make the difference. Warm loving hugs to you Jane!

    Jeannie

    Like

  5. 9 elenacaravela February 7, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    I feel like I’m there. Lovely.

    Like

  6. 13 Eric Alagan February 7, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    Dear Jane,
    I admire the way you approach life…almost flowing with the currents but trawling up the little goodies so that soon, your basket brims.
    As a very “take-charge” and even “combative” person, I have alot to learn from you.
    Luv and hugz, buddy.
    Eric
    P/s I need to let go more…flow…

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne February 7, 2012 at 1:49 pm

      Hello Lovely Eric, I too am very driven, always have been, so this going with the flow is a work in progress…it gifts us magic moments though and my goodness my basket brims .. Happy Anniversary to you and lovely Lisa..hope you had a great dinner out…love to you both Jane xx

      Like

  7. 15 Grandfathersky February 7, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    You give me aspirations. Lately, I feel like the muse in James Kavanaugh’s poem ‘There are men too gentle to live among wolves’. Thank you for this moment you shared.

    Like

  8. 17 journeyintopoetry February 7, 2012 at 11:21 am

    And more love back 🙂 🙂 🙂 xxxxx

    Like

  9. 21 rumpydog February 7, 2012 at 11:05 am

    There are miseries a plenty to worry over, but pleasures are a plenty as well.

    Like

  10. 23 journeyintopoetry February 7, 2012 at 11:04 am

    Hi Jane,

    You paint a lovely cosy picture here with loving appreciation of the “little” things in life which are, in fact, huge.

    And yes, there is light within us all no matter how dark we feel.

    I have bad back pain today, an accessory that comes free with my MS! My heated Bagpuss is trying his best but keeps poking his nose into the worst spot! He’s lovely but (and I whisper this so as not to offend him), very impractical as a heat pack! 🙂

    Hugs and love

    Christine xx

    Like

    • 24 Jane Thorne February 7, 2012 at 11:08 am

      Sending healing hugs your way my lovely…tears were threatening at this end today and I thought ‘No way’…so I shifted my thinking!! Love to you and hope your pain eases very soon …xxx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

