Straplines, tag lines, favourite sayings…we all have them, what’s yours?

In this world where we have instant communication I have come across some good straplines lately. It’s interesting isn’t it that we put our photos up on Skype, MSN, Facebook and the like and underneath there is one line that can say quite a lot.

These have caught my attention…

‘We come to love not by finding the right person, but by learning to see an imperfect person perfectly’.

‘Still looking and still not found it anywhere!’

‘I am writing a book and I have got the page numbers done’

Mine is ‘It’s not the end of the road if you go round the bend’

What’s yours?

36 Responses to “Straplines, tag lines, favourite sayings…we all have them, what’s yours?”


  1. 1 Julianna June 7, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    Hi Jane! Glad you see you’ve decided to follow my blog – I hope it inspires and uplifts you, as you turn around and offer similar graces to so many! Peace and light to you – Julianna

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne June 7, 2012 at 9:28 pm

      Oh Julianna thank you for your kind comment and I knew as soon as I saw your blog that I would have a daily piece to meditate on each day…I really like your blog…love to you, Jane x

      Like

  2. 3 granbee February 9, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    Jane, I love all of these, had not heard but one before (about going round the bend)! I am going to make one up right now:
    “I have just been declared certificable; and I certify the declaration of simply BEING!” copyright 2012, granbee, okay?

    Like

  3. 5 lostupabove February 9, 2012 at 9:13 am

    Hello dear Jane
    A new challenge for you here:http://wp.me/p1ZC80-GN. Hope you like it.
    Veel liefs en een dikke zoen. (Now that I know that you know Dutch too, I can extend my repertoire of love, hugs, etc.)
    Love you, sweetie
    Big kiss Steph xx

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne February 9, 2012 at 10:10 am

      Steph I am honoured my lovely…what can I say? You are simply the best and one of my blogging gifts….I don’t know Dutch – I wing it through Google!! Love to you in high doses xxx

      Like

  4. 7 lostupabove February 9, 2012 at 7:52 am

    Didn’t know you knew Dutch too, Jane. What a surprise, shouldn’t we start ot write in Dutch then , you, Francina and me?
    Here is mine: “Many a truth is said by false teeth”. (It’s not mine of course, it’s from one of the Ronnies,)
    and to finish one in Dutch
    Tussen droom en daad staan wetten in de weg en practische bezwaren.
    Veel liefs en een dikke zoen van Steph xxx

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne February 9, 2012 at 10:07 am

      Steph you are priceless, only you could quote the two Ronnies and I don’t know Dutch I just know how to Google the translation!! Help what have you said here? Lots of love xxx

      Like

    • 9 lostupabove February 9, 2012 at 10:43 pm

      Hi Jane, Steph here (in her nighty and slippers)
      It is a famous verse from Elsschot coming from a poem called “the marriage”. He is thinking about killing his wife (sounds definitely like a marriage) but then he says “Between dream and action there are laws and practical objections” It is a sort of a catch phrase in Flanders anyway to say the a plan cannot be executed.
      The rest was: Love and a big kiss Steph xxx
      Goodnight

      Like

  5. 11 1smiles February 9, 2012 at 4:52 am

    If one dream should fall and break into a thousand pieces, never be afraid to pick up one of those pieces and begin again. ~Flavia Weedn

    Like

  6. 13 SusanWritesPrecise February 9, 2012 at 1:05 am

    “Use the talents that you possess; for the woods would be very silent if no birds sang except the best.”

    I am not sure who said it, but it’s true.

    Like

  7. 15 thomag1 February 8, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    I saw this the other day. It was sort of new to me but old….

    “I keep six honest serving-men,
    They taught me all I knew;
    Their names are What and Why and When
    And How and Where and Who.”- Rudyard Kipling

    Like

  8. 17 elenacaravela February 8, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    Mine sound terribly pragmatic but they work for me-
    What is IS.
    Will this (whatever the conundrum) matter five years from now?:)

    Like

  9. 19 Grandfathersky February 8, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    Every mans death diminishes me, therefore send not to know for whom the bell tolls, it tolls for thee. – Jon Donne
    and – When you change the way you look at things the things you look at change. -Dr Wayne Dyer

    Like

  10. 21 Kim Merrett February 8, 2012 at 11:53 am

    ‘Everything you want is on the other side of fear’. Can’t quite work out yet if it’s positive or negative!

    Like

  11. 23 Martin Shone February 8, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Can’t think of one, Jane, Oh hang on, brainstorm time…

    “One day, perhaps… we will all swim in an ocean of peace… ”

    Heck I think I’ll use this one I’ve just made up πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. 29 Francina February 8, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Hi Jane,

    I love the one you found: I am writing a book and I have got the page numbers done’…

    my favourite ones are: we have to sail with the winds of today , I found the expression once on a Dutch decorated sign which I bought because I did like the expression. . Of course it is in Dutch πŸ™‚

    Francina

    Like

    • 30 Jane Thorne February 8, 2012 at 11:28 am

      Hello Francina, how lovely to hear from you and thank you for sharing your favourite…I too have decorated signs in strategic places in our home. One of my best friends is Dutch and he and I manage to banter in Dutch gloriously (thank goodness for Google and the translation service…). Have a great day x

      Like

  13. 33 lyndarenham February 8, 2012 at 10:14 am

    Well, if anything needs some thought, this does.
    ‘Hold onto your hat, I’ll be back’
    x

    Like

  14. 35 maturestudenthanginginthere February 8, 2012 at 10:13 am

    I came across these recently.

    “When you say yes to others make sure you’re not saying no to yourself”.

    “Coffee in hand, big panties pulled up, sparkle in my eye and a smile on my face…. yep I’d say I’m ready for the day….. bring it on”

    Hee, hee. πŸ˜†

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

