Pigs can fly with sufficient thrust behind them……..

Years ago when I was first married my husband well and truly caught the Amway bug just after our honeymoon. My gentle protests that I had not even unpacked the wedding presents, never mind started our new life together, fell on deaf ears. This business took over our newly married lives and he really bought into the belief that if he couldn’t do this, with all the help and support that was on offer, then he couldn’t achieve anything. His new wife wisely kept quiet and fully supported him for some time till one morning, having been awake since about 4am mulling it all over, I rebelled. I came out of my corner with firm insistence that it all ended right there and then. As you can imagine my husband and those above us in the organisation did everything in their power to change my mind. I was the woman in the middle of our front room packing all the kit and books up in boxes to be shipped out of our home forthwith and our lovely little daughter (a toddler at the time) was passing things to me saying ‘There you go Mummy’…..yes, Emily was born by then and three years old, that’s how long this nonsense went on for!

It culminated in the leader of our group standing before me saying (I have perfect recall on this) ‘What do you intend to do with all the time you will have on your hands now Jane?’ and I replied that I wanted to write, I needed to write and I knew I had it in me to do so. He laughed (really laughed) and said that pigs would fly before I ever wrote a thing, never mind a book, as everyone had dreams to write and they never did.

Well, my husband and Amway are now part of my past and it may have taken me nearly twenty years but I am a writer ……….’Pigs can fly with sufficient thrust behind them’.

26 Responses to “Pigs can fly with sufficient thrust behind them……..”


  1. 1 journeyintopoetry February 14, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    And they fly with such determination too! And self belief!!

    Wonderful!

    Love and flying hugs to you!

    Christine xxxx

    Like

  2. 3 Grandfathersky February 14, 2012 at 1:45 am

    …but I have a question – have you gotten over that passive aggressive thing? 🙂 It took me the longest time to do it. It was only about 10 years ago. I took a class at the local HS at the recommendation of my wife( #2). The course was one night titled “Learn how to say no” Well that night I discovered I was a passive aggressive, and ever since then I have been learning how to let people know I am angry. Not aggressively, but assertively, and dang I like me a lot more now! I like that you never listened to that jerk, otherwise you would have never met any of these wonderful people who have commented on this post. Bumblebees can’t fly either, but no one told them they can’t. And one more thought – Does a bird fly because it has wings, or does it have wings because it can fly?

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne February 14, 2012 at 8:42 am

      Oh Peter I love your comment…it took me a looooong time and I finally ‘got’ it a few years ago…I could never be aggressive but the freedom that comes from being assertive..whey hey. Life comes into balance then as you are not fighting yourself which can be very wearing. Mmmmm thoughts on flight..I’ll come back to you on that topic, maybe a post…you are a bit special you know x

      Like

  3. 7 granbee February 13, 2012 at 11:09 pm

    Jane, can I hitch a ride? For I know you have so much thrust behind you that you can easily carry this ol’ lady on one of those lovely pink wings of yours!

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne February 14, 2012 at 8:38 am

      We all fly together in this lovely global village of ours – all this wonderful energy we are creating Rose, how blessed are we? xx

      Like

  4. 9 1smiles February 13, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    My darling Jane,
    You are rocket powered! I believe that you can do anything. Especially with those tights and that cape!
    Much love and Many Hugs!!
    ~Jeannie xxx

    Like

  5. 11 Beauitiful Life of Traveling Wife February 13, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    I cannot believe he said “What are you going to do with all your time?” Like that is going to make you stay.. and Umm I don’t know find something I enjoy doing as opposed to spending time doing something I loathe? Haha. I am so happy that you are WRITING! Sometimes people just do not get it. XOXO

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne February 13, 2012 at 2:56 pm

      Hiya Jenna, no they don’t ‘get’ it and then you meet them years later and they comment on what you are up to and they still aren’t getting it..good job we don’t listen to them! Have a great day xx and hugs

      Like

  6. 13 elenacaravela February 13, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    Oh Amway…..good for you! You are an inspiration!

    Like

  7. 15 Michael February 13, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    Beautiful post Jane. Glad that you are seeing a different picture. I agree and I will remember this, “pigs can fly with sufficient thrust behind them.” Thanks for the message. !!!

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne February 13, 2012 at 1:07 pm

      Hello Michael…not sure if it is a lesson or a mantra, but a heartfelt kick up the derriere works wonders for giving dreams life…have a great day and it’s good to hear from you x

      Like

  8. 17 rumpydog February 13, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    Sooooooo…… I guess the motivation of the Amway establishment only applies to Amway?

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne February 13, 2012 at 1:06 pm

      Hello Rumpy you are a wise old hound and I suspect wary of any kind of doctrine especially ones that are based on fear of failure. Hope you are having a rootle tootling good day at your end – Jane 😀

      Like

  9. 19 triciabertram February 13, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Jane I just love this piece. You showed ’em, big time. xoxoxo

    Like

  10. 21 maturestudenthanginginthere February 13, 2012 at 10:46 am

    We certainly do need to prepare for take off and the first step is believing that we can fly. I often think that those that step on our dreams say more about their own lack of confidence than what they truly believe we are capable of.

    Like

    • 22 Jane Thorne February 13, 2012 at 10:56 am

      Hello Jacqueline, good to hear from you and and I think many times when someone is standing in front of you spouting the odds and chucking labels your way..the labels are their own not yours. Preparing for take-off can be fun and requires unearthing the ‘gutsiness’ we had when we were younger – it’s still in there..have a great day up there in sunny Scotland my friend x

      Like

  11. 23 lostupabove February 13, 2012 at 9:39 am

    Just what I wanted to say. Damn, too late!!!.
    Well done Jane, if you do not stand up for yourself, who will? Furthermore, let’s suppose you wouldn’t have written more than the weekly shopping list and never would write more than that, no one has the right to criticise your aims or dreams (even when they will remain dreams forever), let alone to do so when their only motif is to make more money.
    Love to you, and take care sweetie
    Steph xxx

    Like

    • 24 Jane Thorne February 13, 2012 at 9:43 am

      Hello Steph..hope you had fun skiing yesterday..thank you for your continued friendship and support…we need to hold our dreams in our hearts…love to you and big hugs xxx

      Like

  12. 25 Eric Alagan February 13, 2012 at 9:08 am

    …and they fly so well too…

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

