“I say you are free” Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach

I have been pondering on flight over the past few days and have even gone so far as thinking about taking flying lessons but that’s another story. The wise and thoughtful 'Grandfathersky' posed the question to me a few days ago ‘Does a bird fly because it has wings, or does it have wings because it can fly?’ and I am going to borrow a quote from a lovely little book called Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach as my reply.

A handicapped seagull asks if he can fly….Jonathan replies:

“Come along then” said Jonathan “Climb with me away from the ground and we’ll begin.”
“You don’t understand my wing, I can’t move my wing.”
“Maynard Gull you have the freedom to be yourself, your true self, here and now and nothing can stand in your way. It is the Law of the Great Gull, the Law that is.”
“Are you saying I can fly?”
“I say you are free.”

25 Responses to ““I say you are free” Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach”


  1. 2 Christine Moran February 18, 2012 at 10:24 am

    You could have posted this just for me Jane.

    Love and hugs

    Christine xx

    Like

  2. 4 mj monaghan February 16, 2012 at 3:10 am

    Jane, this is one of my favorite books. I’ve read it three or four times – goes very fast. Nice to see you pull it in to today’s relevance as well.

    Like

  3. 7 granbee February 15, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    Oh, Jane, I also consider grandfathersky very wise. So glad he posed that question to you to prod you into this post today. We do fly if we are free. If we are not free, we cannot even truly breathe!

    Like

  4. 9 Francina February 15, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    Hello Jane,

    I never read the book, but I saw the movie and I loved it! I still have the soundtrack from the movie as well. Neil Diamond made very beautiful music for the movie.

    groetjes, Francina

    Like

  5. 12 1smiles February 15, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    “I say you are free.” What a gift this is!

    Like

  6. 14 Grandfathersky February 15, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    One of my favorite books, one that I used to read to my daughter at bedtime, over and over again. Fortunately I still have my original copy, in it’s hard sleeve. There are so many great passages in the book. This is one of my favorites;
    If our friendship depends on things like space and time, then when we finally overcome space and time, we’ve destroyed our own brotherhood! But overcome space, and all we have left is Here. Overcome time, and all we have left is Now. And in the middle of Here and Now, don’t you think that we might see each other once or twice?
    – from “Jonathan Livingston Seagull”

    Like

  7. 16 maturestudenthanginginthere February 15, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    Bless you Jane we can ALWAYS rely on you to come up with such inspirational words. I haven’t heard of J L Seagull, but I will definitely check it out. Thank you.

    Like

    • 17 Jane Thorne February 15, 2012 at 3:44 pm

      Thank you for such a lovely comment Jacqueline….when I’m feeling ‘blah’ I find someone else’s words to cover my ass…which I have to say I have been kicking lately to get me out of the doldrums…its working…love to you and which film did you go and see? J xx

      Like

  8. 18 lyndarenham February 15, 2012 at 9:14 am

    I love ‘Jonathan Livingston Seagull’ reading this made me remember that I once had a copy, have no idea where it has gone. I also had the most wonderful ‘Snow Goose’ Also now gone. I wonder who I lent those to. I still have the marvellous ‘Ethan Frome’ thank goodness. Lovely post to read first thing in the morning.
    x

    Like

    • 19 Jane Thorne February 15, 2012 at 10:56 am

      Hello Lynda, lovely to hear from you and I too had these books once and have completely forgotten who I lent them too…thank you for your lovely comment, you are kind – have a great day xx

      Like

  9. 20 lostupabove February 15, 2012 at 9:00 am

    I WOULD that we were, my beloved, white birds on the foam of the sea!
    We tire of the flame of the meteor, before it can fade and flee;
    And the flame of the blue star of twilight, hung low on the rim of the sky,
    Has awaked in our hearts, my beloved, a sadness that may not die.
    A weariness comes from those dreamers, dew-dabbled, the lily and rose;
    Ah, dream not of them, my beloved, the flame of the meteor that goes,
    Or the flame of the blue star that lingers hung low in the fall of the dew:
    For I would we were changed to white birds on the wandering foam: I and you!
    I am haunted by numberless islands, and many a Danaan shore,
    Where Time would surely forget us, and Sorrow come near us no more;
    Soon far from the rose and the lily and fret of the flames would we be,
    Were we only white birds, my beloved, buoyed out on the foam of the sea!

    William Butler Yeats

    PS I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blog award, Liebste Jane
    details here: http://wp.me/p1ZC80-Hg
    Love Steph xx

    Like

    • 21 Jane Thorne February 15, 2012 at 10:52 am

      Oh Steph thank you so much for the nomination … I am truly humbled and you are very lovely. I love this poem too, you are a romantic soul and I am too so this was perfect this morning…much love to you xxxx

      Like

  10. 24 Eric Alagan February 15, 2012 at 7:56 am

    There is a lot more truth to this witty remark > all of us can fly…once we are ‘free’ of gravity (that is the engineer’s version).

    Our spirits can soar like an eagle and more
    Once we discard, shackles of this earthly chore

    Luv and hugz to my dear buddy

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

