When you haven’t an idea in your head keep moving forward and let go…see what life brings or as a good friend said this week ‘Go with the flow but be aware!’

The last couple of months have been interesting and I have learnt a few tweaks (lessons) along the way. After Christmas my furniture orders and my readings went quiet and the finances got a bit rocky. My normal ‘modus operandi’ is to come up with a creative idea and that gets things moving again but this time I was so worn and ravelled that my mind was a blank. Life is like riding a bike when you pause still sitting on it you wobble and I wobbled like a jelly and this gave rise to fear which engulfed me. My daughter was my rescuer as I mentioned to her one day that maybe I needed to change my daily routine and that would shake things up. My wise lassie looked at me and said ‘You have lost your purpose Mum, find your purpose and it will all fall into place. Try giving yourself some of the advice that so many turn to you for. I can still see your strength and I love you’. Thank you Emily.

I let go, breathed past the fear and trusted that something would come along since I seemed unable to come up with anything by myself. I knew that I needed to get out there as opportunity doesn’t come knocking on the door unless you are out there looking for it, or ‘shaking the tree’ as I call it. Out I went and opportunity knocked in the form of two part time jobs and I have managed to encompass these into my daily routine. I was also given a few pieces of furniture that just needed small repairs and they can now go back into the auction house without being painted.

Small changes, like little bulbs on a string of lights, have lit my path and in that I have regained my balance and made discoveries along the way. It’s OK to not have an idea what to do as the key is to keep moving forward with lashings of humour and hope held in your heart. As my dear buddy Eric would say ‘There is magic to be found in life’s window washing moments’.

32 Responses to “When you haven’t an idea in your head keep moving forward and let go…see what life brings or as a good friend said this week ‘Go with the flow but be aware!’”


  1. 1 Jeannie March 12, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    I love that you kept faith in the face of the unknown. It is amazing to me how we ‘find’ connections to others who are walking similar paths and face many of the same hurdles. As you, I find myself directed to walk a certain path and I have no idea where it is leading me. It’s scary but at the same time I know I’m doing what I’m supposed to do and I try to keep the faith (as much as we mere humans can) that all will unfold as it should. I think you’ve raised a very wise and intuitive daughter–that’s a testimony unto itself!

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne March 12, 2012 at 3:55 pm

      Hi Jeannie, my path is stil unclear and my faith is being tested at every turn, but I just know that it’s right and all will become clear. It is scary, what do you do to keep your balance? x

      Like

      • 3 Jeannie March 12, 2012 at 4:15 pm

        Jane, like you, my path is often unclear as well. All I know to do is to keep trusting that one thing or another will be made clear as I go along–so I keep working towards the goal I have been directed to follow and try not to take back into my hands what I’ve given God to handle. Opportunities and new insights often appear when I least expect them! I spend a lot of time saying to myself (and to my husband) that I don’t know what to do except to keep walking. This probably doesn’t help much…

        Like

        • 4 Jane Thorne March 12, 2012 at 4:20 pm

          Yes, it makes complete sense…I just trust, put one foot in front of the other and ‘let go, let God’…I cannot sink!! x

          Like

  2. 5 mj monaghan March 8, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    All the best to Emily in her university studies, and to you as you move through life.

    Like

  3. 7 Francina March 8, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    Dear Jane, keep paddling with a smile girl, don’t worry too much because life will solve your problems along the way . It is not a cliché as I found out when I had my rice days in my life. Besides laugh lines look much better than worry lines 🙂 Your daughter sounds like a lovely girl.

    hugs, Francina

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne March 8, 2012 at 2:22 pm

      Francina thank you and I am trucking on…magic happens when you least expect it and Emily is lovely..love to you x

      Like

  4. 9 lostupabove March 8, 2012 at 9:47 am

    Hi, there, Miss Wardrobe is glad to see you are back in town. Feeling better and healthy again I hope. You seem full of energy, 2 extra jobs, that is always a good sign. Never like window washing, gardening is a different matter though!
    Love
    Steph xxx

    Like

  5. 16 maturestudenthanginginthere March 8, 2012 at 9:23 am

    The way I see it you always twinkle (even when you think you don’t). I wish you lived closer to me I could keep you going for a good 18months with furniture I need work on. Keep on twinkling Jane.

    Like

    • 17 Jane Thorne March 8, 2012 at 9:58 am

      Jacqueline thank you, really thank you and I hope Madrid was a blast and a good break for you both…you twinkle for me and I am sorry that I missed Something for the Weekend again…I will reply to your post on that shortly. Love to you xx

      Like

  6. 18 Eric Alagan March 8, 2012 at 1:22 am

    Dear Jane,

    Let me say how terribly proud I am of you. Your honesty and courage is worth emulating. Perhaps the sails are not exactly billowing but you will do well, I reckon. And what a lovely daughter you have in Emily – obviously you’ve laid a solid foundation.

    You are right about ‘window washing moments’ – as the panes are cleaned, we see something of ourselves. I bet it reveals a tough, resourceful woman and she is MY buddy. Basking in your light 🙂

    Luv and good vibes for you,
    Eric
    P/s Wish I could reach over and give you a great big hug!

    Like

    • 19 Jane Thorne March 8, 2012 at 9:56 am

      Your kind and thoughtful words mean more than I can say right now my lovely buddy. Thank you – I felt that hug. You have a special light xx

      Like

  7. 20 granbee March 7, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    So wonderful that you had Emily and Eric to inspire you to get back to your own strengths–the ability to find treasure in the mud, so to speak. So glad the practicalities of income-earning and furniture work and your own personal needs are all coming into balance for you! We love you so much out here in Blogville, you know!

    Like

  8. 22 lyndarenham March 7, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    Life is magical almost. But it is your spirit and hopefulness that makes it so. Open your mind and everything comes to you. You have a lovely heart Jane, and many friends. Lovely post. xx

    Like

  9. 24 1smiles March 7, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    Jane,
    You are such an encouragement! I appreciate your sharing about your less than stellar moments and how you regain them. You’ve done wonders with your life! You should be very proud of you.

    Love and Hugs!
    Jeannie xxxxxx

    Like

    • 25 Jane Thorne March 7, 2012 at 7:04 pm

      I love you Jeannie, your friendship, support and unfailing encouragement is a gift xxxxxx

      Like

    • 26 Jane Thorne March 7, 2012 at 7:08 pm

      Jeannie I just had a thought…don’t you find that it’s the less than stellar moments where magic happens?..I might have to blog about that!!! xxxxx

      Like

  10. 27 Maxi Malone March 7, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    “Window washing moments,” clever; makes me think of the blades back and forth against the windshield. So glad the swoosh is back in your wiper, Jane.

    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

    • 28 Jane Thorne March 7, 2012 at 3:01 pm

      Maxi you are great, yes I am re-discovering my swoosh and finding humour again…life’s simple pleasures you just can’t beat them. Love to you x

      Like

  11. 29 thewronggirlwrites March 7, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    Lovely read. I liked your simile about the bike and the fairy lights. I’ll have to bookmark this, for those days when I need inspiration to keep pushing my feet on the pedals.

    Like

    • 30 Jane Thorne March 7, 2012 at 3:00 pm

      Hello and how lovely of you to stop by and read my blog and leave such a lovely comment…I have found inspiration in the simple things..take care, Jane 😀

      Like

  12. 31 elenacaravela March 7, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    Jane, this is so beautifully written. I don’t know anyone who cannot relate to the situation that you have so insightfully articulated. It seems that there is always an ebb and flow to life and work. Few of us are able to really see it while it’s happening, much less embrace it and as you say, keep moving forward.

    BTW, Emily sounds like a wise young woman.

    Like

    • 32 Jane Thorne March 7, 2012 at 2:59 pm

      Elena thank you so much for saying this as lately I wondered if I had lost my voice…life’s ebb and flow and learning to trust that all is well takes courage and I think we can get tired sometimes…little lights show the way and Emily is one big bright one. She starts Uni in September and I just know that she will blaze a very bright trail indeed…love to you x

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

