Laughter is my disaster recovery plan and I’m sticking to it!

Dilbert by Scott AdamsDilbert by Scott Adams

There are so many tricky and difficult situations going on at the moment with people managing to get through as best they can. I too have ‘stuff’ going on but for today I am taking a break from looking at the mountain and focussing on the funny stuff that’s going on around it’s base. My little seeds do bear the odd humourous shoot!

I had a message this morning in my Inbox asking if my creativity stretched to plasterboarding a ceiling. I couldn’t take it seriously so I bantered back that I would trade a plasterboarded ceiling for a fixed widget on my web site that meant it linked to Facebook properly (he is in I.T. after all). ‘It’s a fair trade guv’ I thought but he took me seriously and has offered help which can only lead me to believe that he is desperate to get his ceiling done. Ironically I can plasterboard a ceiling, I just can’t skim it. The current state of play is widget fixing from his end and suggestions of pretty painted pictures on the bare plasterboard from mine…I’ll keep you all posted.

I am going to the wedding of good friends on Saturday and have been looking forward to it for some time. The hen party was held here but that’s another story. My friends have rallied round and I have a lovely outfit complete with strappy silver sandals…bliss. The bride also requested that we all wear hats and I have a great ‘Tally Ho’ number that wouldn’t look out of place on the set of Pride and Prejudice. Emily and I found it in a secondhand furniture warehouse of all places and with great whoops of delight tried it on there and then to the amusement of all around us. The scene is set, however, at a party last Friday we were all tattooed with henna by a very talented lady who does weddings (yes I know I get the irony of this too). I have an adorned wrist and ankle, very pretty, but rather out of place with my upmarket outfit. I have been scrubbing away to no avail and now gracefully accept that I am going to look quirky and it matters not a jot. I will never be an elegant lady who is immaculately turned out, it’s just not the me that was a tomboy in my youth.

Mountains are made from boulders and laughter blasts away boulders.

26 Responses to “Laughter is my disaster recovery plan and I’m sticking to it!”


  1. 1 granbee March 19, 2012 at 11:03 pm

    Chuckling all over my exercise-suited out self, with little toes bursting out of the webbing on my “breathable” running shoes! No skin marking, but plenty of marks on my nose from losing a pad on my reading glasses’ nosepiece, Will that count? I can SO relate to your life these past few days! I love being quirkly myself! And I am SO jealous of the “Tally-Ho” hat!

    Like

  2. 3 journeyintopoetry March 16, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    I love this! It’s cheered me after the dreaded “bug” – an update tells you I still have to sit up at night to alleviate coughing and I am on my way into my third week without a voice!! Good or bad? BAD, VERY BAD (for me, maybe good for some!) LOL 🙂

    Love and hugs xx

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne March 16, 2012 at 2:28 pm

      You are on the road to recovery Christine and that is good news…we have missed you. Thanks for taking the time to stop by and leave a lovely comment…much love and hugs back to you xxxx

      Like

  3. 5 lostupabove March 16, 2012 at 7:45 am

    Wedding, lovely outfit, fancy hat! Sounds great and tattoos are the top of fashion at the moment too, so a removable one sounds great in fashion when it must and deleted afterwards. Have a great time lovely Jane.
    Love and a big hug, slightly jealous Steph :mrgreen:

    PS I forgot to ask, it’s not your wedding is it? 😉

    Like

  4. 7 1smiles March 16, 2012 at 4:37 am

    Thank you for showing me your outfit on Skype today. You will look just grand Jane. Hat and all. I wish I were going with you!

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne March 16, 2012 at 9:00 am

      Oh Jeannie so do I we would have so much fun and skype holds many blessings as we can have a good old natter together xx

      Like

  5. 9 SusanWritesPrecise March 15, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    Can’t wait to see the outfit. Sounds like fun!

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne March 15, 2012 at 10:24 pm

      You want a pic…eeeekk…today I did a test run with the shoes (I am so unused to wearing heels) and I can’t walk in them…it’s hilarious. x

      Like

  6. 11 living4bliss March 15, 2012 at 8:38 pm

    I love to laugh (from Mary Poppins.) There is no sense in getting frustrated or mad all the time.

    EXCEPT — that Facebook thing you mentioned. Just switched to Timeline and I had to come to this blog to get a laugh.

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne March 15, 2012 at 8:46 pm

      Hi thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment, I appreciate it. I don’t like the Timeline and I wasn’t given a choice about having it unless I missed a ‘No’ button somewhere! It’s getting the link between my web site and fb working that is challenging me right now. Take care, Jane 😀

      Like

      • 13 living4bliss March 15, 2012 at 8:48 pm

        I think it will be forced on us all on March 30, but I got mine up earlier.

        The sad thing is I have an IT degree.

        Good luck and thanks for the reply.

        Like

        • 14 Jane Thorne March 15, 2012 at 8:58 pm

          Oh no that’s not funny…I spent nearly fifteen years in the I.T. industry and all I can say is technology moves on at lightening speed and fb and Twitter think it’s great to keep changing things..it isn’t…our message to them…stop fiddling or better still ‘if it isn’t broke then don’t fix it..’…good luck to you x

          Like

  7. 17 elenacaravela March 15, 2012 at 12:52 pm

    I sure you will look beautiful for the wedding. The henna will just accentuate your brand of elegance;)

    Like

  8. 19 maturestudenthanginginthere March 15, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    Your outfit sounds fab and I’m sure the henna will add a quirky touch 😉

    Like

  9. 21 Turber March 15, 2012 at 11:53 am

    Yes, I always do appreciate a good plan, and a good laugh! Even if it’s as odd as me. LOL 😉

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,231 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Lavender and Lime

a food and lifestyle blog ♥

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Three Things Serial, a Little 1920s Story"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

