Wedding bells, love, laughter, hats, Batman and well fed ducks … a weekend I will never forget.

Friday night rolled around at the end of a tricky week and taking the advice of a lovely friend (who to my delight called all the way from New Zealand) I kicked back and stopped trying to build my web site. It was heart warming to hear your voice Emma and thank you for the love and thought that prompted you to pick up the phone. You sounded as if you were just around the corner x

On impulse before the day ended I called Batman and not only did he answer but he sent smiles my way.

Saturday dawned and family and friends gathered to celebrate Karen and Ian’s special day. The parish church was idyllic and we gathered around to witness the radiant couple exchange their wedding vows. Rarely have I felt such a beautiful energy build as it did in that tiny church and the love, happy tears, laughter and bonds carried us all through a very special day indeed. The array of hats was stunning. We were all exchanging photos and thoughts yesterday and there are many memories that will stay with us as we all feel blessed to have been there. We all love you both very much.

I have to say a heartfelt thank you to Janet for getting me up onto the dance floor and to Stuart and Carl for ballroom dancing together to the absolute delight of the ladies cooling down on the deck outside….our sides ached from laughing.

It was Mothering Sunday in the U.K. yesterday and Em was at work till 2pm so Batman and I took the opportunity to have a date in the morning. We tried to feed what must be the most pampered ducks in the country as they showed little interest in our offerings. There was however a particular swan that took a shine to Batman and followed us around the lake, refusing his bread, but gazing adoringly up at him whenever we stopped. I missed a photo opportunity there. We walked in the rain and then chatted happily in a lovely restaurant as a few hours flew by. Only Batman could find a ‘sunshine’ bouquet on Mothering Sunday filled with yellow and cream roses and happy yellow Gerbera daisies. It was simply the best date I have ever had.

In the afternoon, as Em put it, she called the Mothership home for the things that ‘us girls’ do so well and weaved her loving care and thought through the rest of the day. Thank you ‘Splendiferousplonks’ and I am guessing that you will be having a word with me for using one of your toddler nicknames on here … unconditional love my creative goddess.

X

16 Responses to “Wedding bells, love, laughter, hats, Batman and well fed ducks … a weekend I will never forget.”


  1. 1 granbee March 19, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    So thrilled for you, dear Jane, on your fabulous weekend. That yellow and cream bouquet from Batman sounds made in heaven. Happy Mother’s Day(UK style), by the way! And the guys ballroom dancing together made me laugh–and I didn’t even see them! Many happy memories made for all of you there, right? Hooray!

    Like

  2. 3 Maxi March 19, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    You wrote everything so beautifully, Jane, I wanted to jump into the computer and join the fun. Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  3. 5 1smiles March 19, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    Life brought you sunshine even in the rain this weekend!! (wink, wink) You deserve these kinds of days..

    Love to you!!
    Jeannie

    Like

  4. 7 elenacaravela March 19, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    Soo perfect a weekend. Sometimes the camera just gets in the way. You’ve written it so well that you will always remember and we get a chance to smile and enjoy the sweetness.:)

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne March 19, 2012 at 1:22 pm

      Thanks Elena and yes I thought it was good to spread the sunshine – thank you for stopping by and have a great week x

      Like

  5. 9 grandfathersky March 19, 2012 at 11:22 am

    Sounds like a glorious weekend, a time filled with photographs not on paper but etched onto the soul. I could feel the colors of the day in your words. Thanks for sharing, I pray those moment sbring joy into the new week… Peter

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne March 19, 2012 at 11:28 am

      Thank you Peter and yes you are right as my heart took so many pictures and I am still smiling. There is a magical energy running and I feel lifted which is lovely…nothing sparks creativity like smiles. I wish you a lovely week too x

      Like

  6. 11 maturestudenthanginginthere March 19, 2012 at 10:17 am

    It certainly sounds like a dream weekend. I’m pleased you had a fantastic time.

    Like

  7. 13 lostupabove March 19, 2012 at 9:46 am

    I guess you are Robin then. 😀
    Love and hugs
    Steph xxx

    Like

  8. 15 Eric Alagan March 19, 2012 at 9:38 am

    Happy for you Jane buddy. Looks like you had a lovely weekend. All good wishes ahead, Eric 🙂

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

