Looking at the fear of change through different specs!

When I sit down to write I light candles, music is playing and I’m in a happy place. My lovely friend Debs gave me these rose candle holders at Christmas and I love them as I do her.

I awoke this morning to my intuition telling me in no uncertain terms that I needed to make a big change in one area of my life. My immediate fearful reaction was interesting because I started to think along practical lines and you may well be familiar with the conversation that I started to have with myself….

‘Really?’
‘Oh goodness how am I going to manage that?’
‘Is that amount of upheaval necessary?’
‘I can’t!’

I bored myself in about two minutes flat and then I remembered everything that I have learnt and took a deep breath. Yes the change needs to happen but not immediately and certainly not to the detriment of my current focus. I can keep my purpose at the forefront of my mind and trust that from within the way will become clear. By putting the intention for my change out there the new strands will blend together with the existing ones as I plan forward. Simple.

It suddenly struck me that many people must feel the same way about change and get stuck at the ‘I can’t’ moment.

Yes you can.

29 Responses to “Looking at the fear of change through different specs!”


  1. 1 creativeboys April 6, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    Changes made just need time to adapt even the changes are good too and those lovely rose candles are lovely too! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. 3 granbee March 22, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    You are such a fine example of how to manage change without losing our focus, or infrining upon the important parts of our lives already in place. Change is best managed incrementally, I have found! Good thinking: we knew you could do it! Lovely candles and lovely friend, by the way!

    Like

  3. 5 Francina March 21, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    great post on change, Jane…I don’t fear change, I fear to get stuck in the rut ,

    * new strands will blend together with the existing ones as I plan forward.*

    precisely, very well and beautiful captured.

    love, Francina xx

    Like

  4. 7 Eric Alagan March 21, 2012 at 4:18 am

    The greatest battles are fought in our minds > and you, princess warrior, you are winning…(sound – swords slapping shields)

    Like

  5. 11 living4bliss March 20, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    Fear is supposed to protect us, but left to its own resources, it imprisons us. I am a warrior in the battle against unreasonable fear.

    Thanks for the post.

    Like

  6. 13 fiztrainer March 20, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    Perfectly stated. Marilyn Monroe said, “Don’t let the fear of failing triumph over the joy of participation.” I try to keep this in mind. Thanks for your words of inspiration.

    Like

  7. 15 Jeannie March 20, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    “And the time came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful
    than the risk it took to blossom.” ~Anais Nin

    Good post!

    Like

  8. 18 elenacaravela March 20, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Love the way you deconstructed the fear-YOU can for sure.

    Like

  9. 20 teeceecounsel March 20, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    I totally agree with you. Yes you can! I know exactly those thoughts you are refering to and have been writing about them in recent times. This is a nice post that can encourage anyone who requires to pull through the resistance of change.

    Like

  10. 22 Maxi March 20, 2012 at 11:31 am

    Fear is the instant reaction to change; we don’t like change, might take one in a direction we are unsure of.

    You can deal with change like a new recipe; start out gradually with a little of the old, slowly add a touch of the new, than something else … soon you have a blend that works for you.

    Hugs to you, Jane, and many blessings – Maxi

    Like

  11. 24 grandfathersky March 20, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Change is complicated, disruptive, frightening… Not changing is worse – Lloyd Dobens
    The universe will show you the way now that you have shown it your desire….

    Like

  12. 26 maturestudenthanginginthere March 20, 2012 at 10:33 am

    Change can be difficult – even positive change. I like the idea of putting out the strands to blend together with the new. Patience and courage to you.

    Like

    • 27 Jane Thorne March 20, 2012 at 11:06 am

      I knew you would get this one Jacqueline…breathing, patience, trust and putting one foot in front of the other and we all have our friendships to gain strength from in the meantime…have a good day xx

      Like

  13. 28 Jane Thorne March 22, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    Saundra thank you xx

    Like


  1. 1 Out of Darkness « Mental Health Food Trackback on March 22, 2012 at 7:03 am

I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,251 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Love Balm

Dating, Love & Everything In-between

Retired? No one told me!

Tonight I Dream. Tomorrow I Do!

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❀️ welcome to my secret blog ❀️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

β™₯ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

