To everything a purpose and when something becomes all shiny and new there is a process ……

Recently, over the last few months, there are many who are having a challenging time and all sorts of old memories are floating up. Some memories with not so pleasant insecurities and false beliefs attached to them. There are quite a number of theories abounding out there as to why this is happening, but that’s not the point of today’s blog post. I am a practical girl and when things happen I like to have something in my tool box to deal with it.

I thought with my past relationships done and dusted and the long break I’ve had from ‘dating’ that I was quite balanced on that front. ‘Ah ha’ says life, events have unfolded and I’ve been caught up in the above scenario, so maybe I’m not quite so sorted after all. The last thing I want to do is carry this rubbish with me or lay it at the door of Batman to fix, so here comes the tool!

I see things in pictures so when I pondered on how rotten I was feeling with the amount of ‘stuff’ popping up I came up with this idea. If the insecurities and false beliefs have no relevance to where you are now then they need acknowledging and setting free. Much like iron going into the furnace to become steel. The rusty blisters bubble up and are burnt off and shiny new metal emerges.

So when you feel an old hurt raise it’s head with the insecurity or false belief that goes with it: acknowledge it and recognise that it belongs in the past and then mentally put it in the fire.

We all deserve to appreciate a shiny new future with a lighter heart and hope held for what’s to be.

24 Responses to “To everything a purpose and when something becomes all shiny and new there is a process ……”


  1. 1 creativeboys April 6, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    This is a great post, I am glad I am catching up on your blog today! 😉

    Like

  2. 3 lostupabove March 23, 2012 at 9:57 am

    Batman seems to be quite quick in removing rubbish though. Shouldn’t you let him have a little go? 😉
    Love and hugs
    Steph xxx

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne March 23, 2012 at 6:14 pm

      In an impulsive moment I have accepted an invitation from Batman this evening, so who knows Steph…it is best to relax though – love to you xxxx

      Like

  3. 5 Eric Alagan March 23, 2012 at 3:57 am

    That’s the way forward. When rusty nails pop out of the woodwork, threatening to snare your toe – whack them into place and move on, I reckon.

    Luv and hugz, Eric 🙂

    Like

  4. 7 living4bliss March 23, 2012 at 2:22 am

    That’s a good idea, put it in the fire.

    I have found that in blogging when an ugly memory arises, it is because a blog that I’ve read reminds me of something. This is good because I can now write about the pain and how I got through it. It actually EXPLAINS the PAIN. I can help others – (I hope.)

    Thank you Jane.

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne March 23, 2012 at 9:38 am

      Yes Saundra, it does help others and if you’ve gone through it people trust that you understand the pain…thank you for your lovely comment 😀 x

      Like

  5. 9 granbee March 22, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    EXACTLY what I needed to read today. I don’t hang out my ol’ broken hearted laundry for you all to see, but I do have some! And guess what? I will now toss it all in the bin and cease to burden my present mate with that old garbage bin of insecurities! Thank you, dear, dear Jane!

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne March 23, 2012 at 9:37 am

      I am finding that it also helps to have a considerate and thoughtul boyfriend who ‘gets’ what I’m battling through..Batman has special powers Rose xx

      Like

  6. 11 kewsmith March 22, 2012 at 10:16 pm

    Wonderful post. I loved your thoughts.

    Like

  7. 13 grandfathersky March 22, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    I see so many synchronicities in blog after blog today …I wrote and posted this at breakfast:
    ~ Falsehood ~

    The unquestioned mind

    To believe our thoughts is false

    Do they speak the truth?

    http://grandfathersky.wordpress.com/2012/03/22/falsehood/

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne March 22, 2012 at 5:35 pm

      I have left my reply on your blog post (which I loved) and I knew I needed to blog about this today as my ‘postbag’ was bursting with similarities…thank you for taking the time to do this gs – x

      Like

  8. 15 Aslan Kanshaw March 22, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    I have nominated you for the HUG Award If you choose to accept , you can find :
    Your nomination :
    http://aslankanshaw.wordpress.com/2012/03/22/hope-unites-globally-hug-award/
    Guidelines to the award:
    http://ahopefortoday.com/2012/01/14/hope-unites-globally-hug-award-guidelines/

    Congratulations !

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne March 22, 2012 at 3:15 pm

      Aslan how lovely to hear from you and thank you so much for this award, I am touched and humbled…take care over there and our thoughts are with you x

      Like

  9. 17 1smiles March 22, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Jane,
    You have come so far in your journey.. sometimes we have reminders pop up like those rusty bits. But give yourself so much credit, you’ve worked very hard.
    Love nad hugs!
    Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne March 22, 2012 at 3:00 pm

      Thank you Jeannie for your lovely comment and for giving me this perspective, I forget and keep pushing myself…I get weary…time for some fun I think. Love you xxxxx

      Like

  10. 19 Maxi March 22, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    The fiery, molten heat can dissolve every unwanted challenge … if you let it. Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  11. 21 journeyintopoetry March 22, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    “A shiny new future” will do for me.

    Lovely wise words here to be heeded Jane, thank you for sharing.

    Love and hugs

    Christine xxx

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

