Spring cleaning (still) with sunshine helping me to see things in pictures again….

Today Em and I are off on a new road trip to visit the last Uni in our Plan B, so with that in mind I wrote this post yesterday.

I have rather a large number of things to do and have made a list (a nod to my lovely friends Emma and Jacqueline) and yes I have been ticking them off. My dilemma is a constant juggling act of prioritisation because I work from home. I have made a deal with my ‘need for tidiness’ self that when I go downstairs from my study to put the kettle on I will tackle a little job and that way I don’t get side tracked and my list reduces. Well it would if I stopped adding things to it!

One of yesterday’s little jobs was to clean the filters in our hoover as it has ceased to pick anything up. This is not good with two dogs in the house and a large garden surrounding us. Contents from said garden appearing inside quite often, daily if I’m honest.

Anyway, back to the point of this post…I kept finding different filters tucked in all over the hoover and each one was clogged with rubbish. Every piece was scrubbed and set on the kitchen windowsill to dry in the sunshine, all sparkling and clean. Bit like me right now, in fact very like me. All sorts of rubbish has been bubbling up and each time I have cleaned and moved on to find another clogged filter. I am still cleaning but starting to feel so much better and fresh air is coming back into my system. (I thought system sounded better than pipes!)

Fresh air creates a new energy and it feels good. I will also have clean carpets again….

18 Responses to “Spring cleaning (still) with sunshine helping me to see things in pictures again….”


  1. 1 granbee March 29, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    Don’t we ALL need to clean out the “pipes” of our minds and hearts and spirits periodically! And spring is so great in helping us with that, with fresh blossoms and air and scents and critters to skip over underfoot! Best wishes for every success in finding just the right uni for Em. I know you will come back champing at the bit and more organized with those cleaning priorities. Have fun, girls.

    Like

  2. 3 lostupabove March 29, 2012 at 8:19 am

    Hello Jane I’ve nominated you for the Creative Chaos Award. Details here: http://wp.me/p1ZC80-Rs
    Love you, Steph

    Like

  3. 5 kewsmith March 29, 2012 at 1:09 am

    I like the idea of tackling a job each time you go downstairs. I may try that but it may take too much focus for me to handle. I also get sidetracked.

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne March 29, 2012 at 9:45 am

      Hi I love my theories and am known for being a triumph of hope over experience….my list today is long and my energy doesn’t quite match it…I will try Peter’s perspective in an earlier comment…love to you and have a great day x

      Like

  4. 7 1smiles March 28, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    Enjoy youir day away with Em! And good for you.. adding all of that fresh clean air to your life!
    Love to you,
    Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

  5. 9 Martin Shone March 28, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    So, Hetty, 🙂

    with your filters clean
    and your smile a gleam,
    it’s time to watch the dancing bee
    after you’ve make me a lovely coffee 🙂

    (you can have one as well, after all that declogging)

    🙂

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne March 29, 2012 at 9:42 am

      Hello Henry

      I make good coffee
      And there may well be one
      On it’s way
      To you from me.

      Let’s sit in the sunshine
      And kick back for a while.
      Life goes by in a flash
      It’s good to take time to smile.

      😀 x

      Like

  6. 11 Maxi March 28, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    You made my day, Jane, gave me a good laugh. I can see you tearin’ into the clean machine; Jane vs. hoover vs. clean pipes … aaah. Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  7. 13 maturestudenthanginginthere March 28, 2012 at 11:32 am

    Good for you girl. I can really identify with our inner filters and yes it feels good to clean stuff out. Focus on yourself, the carpets can wait. Hope things go well for you and Em today 🙂

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne March 29, 2012 at 9:12 am

      Hello Jacqueline…I may be feeling brave to post about yesterday! Hope you have a great day today – the sun is shining gloriously down here and what a difference that makes…love to you xx

      Like

  8. 15 grandfathersky March 28, 2012 at 11:16 am

    Clean and clear as we dredge up and release our old ways… I took the advice of David Allen who saved my sanity. Write it all down, into a list or lists so you know not what to do, but what you are not doing, once they are out of your head they cease making you crazy trying to keep track of what you haven’t done. Prioritizing doesnt work. You need to do the tasks you can do right now with the energy and resources you have. Your first priority may be a big report due on Monday, but Friday at 4:00 all you have energy to do could be to fill your stapler!

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne March 29, 2012 at 9:11 am

      Hello Peter I have pondered on this comment and I like the perspective and you are right. It’s the guilt that you haven’t done what you thought you should when you thought you should that snags at the heels…blow that for a lark…I’ll try yours..love to you and have a great day x

      Like

  9. 17 Eric Alagan March 28, 2012 at 8:34 am

    One less chore…I’m getting there 🙂

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne March 29, 2012 at 9:08 am

      The sun helps doesn’t it? It’s glorious here, I can hear my soul singing…love and hugs to you Eric my lovely buddy xx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

