When things do not go according to plan…ditch the plan, get spontaneous and laugh your socks off….

I would just like to say that when you are looking through Google for a picture to compliment your blog post ‘girls having fun’ is not a wise choice of words to put in there!

Anyway I digress……

Yesterday did not go to plan and I hope that the following snippets from our day lift spirits for those who may need it and give comfort to those who find themselves regularily going ‘off piste’ in their daily lives.

The Uni Em and I visited yesterday did not tick a single box and in accord we jumped ship before midday from the all day tour. As we left campus we assured each other that the Uni concerned has a great reputation (it does) and it will suit some students very well, but not my creative lassie. As we said to each other ‘the lights were on but no-one was home’.

This made a bit of a mess of Em’s plans and she was rather rattled so the mothership kicked into a new gear and we created an adventure.

My parents are an hour away from the Uni so we called them and to their delight headed there driving through all the pretty villages en route. Who needs the motorway?? Apparently we do….using a combination of my directional skills and Em’s phone we managed to naivigate a particular town twice…’Aahhh look Mum it’s the same river!’ Yes Darling, time to get the Satnav going so we can get to Gran’s before sunset.’

We had a lovely lunch in the sunshine with my Mum and Dad and caught up with each other’s news. Thank you Mum for putting a great lunch on the table with just one hour’s notice which included homemade apple pie…we love you x

So refreshed and now a considerable distance from home we set off on our journey back down South.

May the universe do what it does best with the lorry driver who failed to grasp the techincal difficulties I found myself in when the car developed a fault at speed on the motorway. I remained calm, took us through safely and Em mercifully was asleep throughout most of it. We caught our breath in the next services and nursing the car with much humour we made it home in one piece.

Animals happy to see us were fed and Em and I had dinner and I took her over to Morgan’s home as he was also on the way back from his Uni. They were thrilled to be seeing each other. The love and links between our two families are special so I stopped for a while and we caught up on news.

The final ‘hats off’ goes to Batman who telephoned to ask after our day and say goodnight when I was home, bathed and dropping into a grateful sleep. ‘Did I wake you?’ he enquires. ‘No, I was just resting my eyes’ I replied. There followed one of those moments folks….all men reading this will recognise it well. A sensitive, weary woman who fails to communicate the full stress of her day to a very tired man who has just finished a late and long meeting. He says the wrong thing. A pivotal moment in a new relationship. I have no idea how we did it but we ended up in gales of laughter. Completely helpless hilarity at one point and I was still chuckling when I fell asleep.

Adam you are a ‘ruby amoungst the rocks’. x

26 Responses to “When things do not go according to plan…ditch the plan, get spontaneous and laugh your socks off….”


  1. 1 Eric Alagan March 30, 2012 at 6:09 am

    The day is what you make of it – and this is a telling day about your positive outlook. Luv and hugz, Eric 🙂

    Like

  2. 3 living4bliss March 29, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    When all else fails, laugh.

    Like

  3. 5 granbee March 29, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    Jane, how well you deserve such a wonderful day with Em, your parents, that apple pie, getting around all in one piece, getting to visit with your nearby friends when back home, and then going to sleep laughing with Batman! You had a SPLENDID day–and now know a lot more about what Em truly needs in the right Uni for her.

    Like

  4. 7 Maxi March 29, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    Your mum sounds like an angel … yuum, home-made apple pie. Blessings – Maxi

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne March 30, 2012 at 10:20 am

      Hello Maxi yes Mum is an angel. When I was young they started teaching us German at school and I came home and informed my Mum that she was my Mater..I shortened it over the years and to this day she is still my Mate…love to you x

      Like

  5. 9 Sarah Heaney March 29, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    Jane I love reading your blogs and wish I could have a small you to keep in my bag tp pull you out when my enthusaism wanes and my negativity appears. You always seem so positive x

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne March 30, 2012 at 10:18 am

      Hello Sarah how lovely to hear from you. Call anytime and we can have a picnic in the park with your little man or meet for coffee…just see each other..much love to you xxx

      Like

  6. 11 journeyintopoetry March 29, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    I have just commented on this but it has disappeared! So I will go again and forgive me if it eventually appears twice! I said, or almost –

    Jane, I love reading your journal!

    Your mum is a mum after my own heart. My son adores, and always has done, my apple pies. When he was little he used to spit on the last piece (and I don’t tell everyone that!)

    He is now 39 (and I hope has given up the spitting!) and lives in Ireland with his wife and two (and one on the way) children.

    Whenever we visit or they come over here guess what I produce from the magic hat! 🙂

    I hope Em sorts her Uni place out – I’m sure she will! 🙂

    Love and hugs

    Christine xx

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne March 29, 2012 at 5:01 pm

      Hello Christine and thank you for such a lovely comment and your memories about homemade apple pies are very funny…I shall keep you all posted on Em’s Uni status as she’s just waiting for her re-mark to come through and that will point us in the next direction. Love and hugs coming right back to you xxx

      Like

  7. 13 lostupabove March 29, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    You would make a good cab driver in New York. it seems that the tend to make detours with tourists, passing the same buildings several times. Anyway you seem to have reached your home safely. I didn’t know Batman’s first name was Adam, I thought it was Bruce. 😉
    Love, Steph xxx

    Like

  8. 15 1smiles March 29, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    You have a wonderful spirit Jane. You allow it to guide you to your best adventures! Yay for Adam… a Ruby indeed.
    ~Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne March 29, 2012 at 2:31 pm

      Hello Jeannie, lovely to hear from you. I try to make pearls from the grit that comes my way and I know that Adam will tell me off for complimenting him when he arrives later! Especially in print…I have homemade cake on hand to distract him….love you xxxxx

      Like

  9. 17 grandfathersky March 29, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    … tis not the wind but the set of the sails determines the way we go …

    Like

  10. 19 elenacaravela March 29, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    What a great day, tiny disasters and all. And how fortunate Em is to have you and this memory written and saved for the days ahead when she will have a look and smile and smile.

    Like

    • 20 Jane Thorne March 29, 2012 at 2:28 pm

      Oh Elena what a lovely way of looking at it..I am blessed to have Em. We have started to talk about when she goes off to Uni in September and we have to do the parting of the wardrobes and jewellery box….I think I borrow her stuff more than she borrows mine! Hope you are having a great day xx

      Like

  11. 21 Malcolm March 29, 2012 at 11:39 am

    You my dear friend are like a breath of fresh air!

    They should make a tv series of your life experiences & reflections.

    At least home safe & sound, I saw on the news about a lorry driver getting out his cab and a gearstick going into the wrong slot!!!

    Good old Universe eh?

    love and blessings right to you, Em & boys.xx

    Like

    • 22 Jane Thorne March 29, 2012 at 11:50 am

      I love you Malc and when you meet Adam please ask him to tell you about his technical explanation of different gear boxes and double clutches. His phrase of ‘It could have been worse Jane’ was met with a pithy two word expletive from me…you’re allowed three guesses on a postcard as to what I actually said. Good old universe and many abundant blessings my lovely friend…it’s so good to hear from you xxx

      Like

  12. 23 maturestudenthanginginthere March 29, 2012 at 11:17 am

    I’m not at all surprised to read that you not only rescued what could clearly have been a tough day but you turned it into a huge positive – even with a dollop of laughter at the end. Well done you J x

    Like

    • 24 Jane Thorne March 29, 2012 at 11:46 am

      Ah Jacqueline that’s exactly what you do…love to you xx

      Like

      • 25 maturestudenthanginginthere March 29, 2012 at 12:04 pm

        That’s why us women rock – we have magical powers to turn things around and the best thing is we also teach our kids how to do it. Then that joyful day comes when you see they are doing it for themselves and we can step back and smile. I hope things work out for Em – she sounds like a very focussed and determined young lady.

        Like

        • 26 Jane Thorne March 29, 2012 at 12:46 pm

          Yes, the magic is in our hands…and every now and then, rarely, but it’s there…we need someone to do it for us xx Em has a lovely balance and her humour is very dry and pithy..a wise soul ad creative too…it’s great to watch her blossom – love to you xx

          Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

