Gifts in unexpected places….

I have several eBay ads running at the moment with the Steptoe and Son items that have found their way into my workshop. All of them are for collection from here but in a rash moment I agreed to post a large and unwieldy water boiler. Why I ask myself? Kindness is the answer and that left me with a parcel issue yesterday. I live in a caretaker’s house in the corner of a business site so the obvious solution was to raid the large cardboard recycling container. I trotted outside in the sunshine bracing myself to hang inelegantly over the edge of said container when I had a surprise. On old friend of mine is a receptionist for a company that has just moved into the office block opposite my house and she was crossing the car park. Delighted to see each other after a number of years we caught up with our respective news and I found myself in her offices where she gave me a perfect sized box, packing material and some cosmetic samples (Emily will be delighted). The parcel was completed and is now on it’s way. Thank you Dawn x

Last night Adam and I had planned a romantic evening together which we were both looking forward too. He had an unexpected meeting crop up at the last minute so we juggled our plans and arranged to meet later. I found myself with everything done and a couple of hours to spare. I have had many ‘to do’ lists and been under so much pressure lately that I stopped for a while. I sat and put on one of my favourite films, breathed out and relaxed for the first time in ages. Thank you Adam x

A day with unexpected gifts and I was grateful.

12 Responses to “Gifts in unexpected places….”


  1. 1 Maxi March 31, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    There are those rare moments when one can grab a little time for “self.” I can almost hear you exhale, relax and enjoy. Blessings to you, Jane.

    Like

  2. 3 Beautiful Life of Traveling Wife March 30, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    Sounds delightful. Thank goodness for friends with boxes, they can save us from some crazy adventured in the trash! Haha 🙂

    Like

  3. 5 thepoeticgoblin March 30, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    It’s always important to find time to relax, and just be. Glad that you managed to achieve it

    Like

  4. 7 Eric Alagan March 30, 2012 at 9:43 am

    When we harbour low or no expectations, do our best with cheer and leave the rest to God, He surprises us…with gifts well received.

    Happy for you buddy, Eric 🙂

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne March 30, 2012 at 10:25 am

      You know I say that expectations weigh down life and dreams…I hold hope and abundance comes in surprising packages…love to you my lovely buddy xx

      Like

  5. 9 maturestudenthanginginthere March 30, 2012 at 8:17 am

    Often life presents us with just what we need. Glad to hear you had a productive day and a relaxing evening. 😉

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

