Madder than a box of snakes and the prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi…

Right now I am madder than a box of snakes with a fire underneath them. A course of events was set in motion a few years ago and it started by someone telling a blatant lie. This snowballed, as these things do, and it increased in girth with poor decisions, lack of responsibility and inadequate care.

Unaware of what had gone on before I ended up with the snowball. This week I had a very tough call to make and the level of distress this caused meant my eyes were swollen shut from weeping. There is only one other time in my life that I have wept that hard.

The point of this post is not to set off a train of worry about me, as I am like the raindrop in the picture…I am whole.

My heart remains healthy as I choose not to let the anger lodge there and to leave my heart open to life. If our hearts become hardened, bitter, or worse still closed off, then life will present us with the events that confirm our view.

I have calmly explained the situation to those concerned and have left them to draw their own conclusions.

My lesson is to ask more questions in future and then take time to consider and ponder on all the information gathered. Any gaps will no doubt ring alarm bells as sometimes it’s the things that aren’t said that say the most!!

In the meantime…..

Prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek
to be consoled as to console;
to be understood as to understand;
to be loved as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive;
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.

Amen

24 Responses to “Madder than a box of snakes and the prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi…”


  1. 1 blackwatertown April 30, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    And then there is the alternative version…

    Grant me the senility to forget the people I never liked anyway,
    the good fortune to run into the ones I do,
    and the eyesight to tell the difference.

    Like

  2. 3 granbee April 26, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    I read this post reblogged elsewhere and love it then. I was SO pleased to see you following the guidelines in the prayer of St. Francis of Assisi! Yes, get more information next time, but move ahead in quiet peace to do so.

    Like

  3. 5 teeceecounsel April 26, 2012 at 1:22 am

    Lovely post! I so much love that prayer; the prayer of St Francis of Assisi. It just matches a lot of concepts I believe and encourage. Keep making a difference, you are unique!

    Like

  4. 7 Angela April 25, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    I just love that prayer, Jane. It has always remained one of my favourites; it has a wonderful energy about it and it was lovely to read it today 🙂

    Like

  5. 9 Yvonne Waddell April 25, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    My darling Jane you are one of the kindest most honest people I have every known and a pleasure it is for me to call you my friend. Rise above all the negativity and at least you now realise who your true friends are. Love to you always Yvonnexxx

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne April 25, 2012 at 4:55 pm

      It wasn’t a friend who started the snowball..I am sorting it through and all is well..vodka shots my Glaswegian buddy xxx

      Like

  6. 11 elenacaravela April 25, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    Dealing well with things out of one’s control is a universal challenge. Keep doing what you’re doing. Sending a little healing energy your way:)

    Like

  7. 13 Maxi April 25, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    How well your plight comes through, Jane … as clear as the sparkling waters of a flowing spring.

    The Prayer of St. Francis was put to music years ago; I have sung it for as long as I can remember.

    Truth wins out in the end; even if those involved refused to acknowledge this.

    Many hugs of support – Maxi

    Like

  8. 15 lostupabove April 25, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    You should visit the opera more. This is about slander but the same goes for a little lie:

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne April 25, 2012 at 12:38 pm

      So true Steph…whatever we put out there goes with it’s original energy and gathers pace still someone changes the energy..much love to you xxx

      Like

  9. 17 maturestudenthanginginthere April 25, 2012 at 11:22 am

    You are a tough cookie with a warm and loving heart. I have no doubt you will get through this.

    Like

  10. 19 grandfathersky April 25, 2012 at 11:10 am

    How many times will a man look up until he sees the sky… Ordinary people (that’s what I’ll call then), just don’t get that prayer, or what you are doing. I have had situations where the most devote Christians in my life wanted to condemn someone, and I refused. This is a very hard thing you do, but the rewards will be great, as peace is greater than victory… You may never see that reward in this world, but you will find your heart lighter and easier to carry…. Blessings for your journey… – Peter

    Like

  11. 21 rumpydog April 25, 2012 at 10:42 am

    This prayer has been uttered by me many times. As for your dilemma, I think you did what you had to do. But to be honest, sometimes I really get pissed at God for expecting me to clean up messes made by his other children.

    Like

    • 22 Jane Thorne April 25, 2012 at 11:27 am

      Hello Rumpy and yes I ‘hear’ you my friend as not everyone steps upto the plate…love to you and a good bone for you to chew on x

      Like

  12. 23 Eric Alagan April 25, 2012 at 10:36 am

    Oh dear, Jane

    I can imagine (because something similar happened to me not long ago) the sheer frustration and anger you must feel…but also admire your self-control and refusal to be dragged into the cesspit of hate. Well done!

    It is unimaginable how people can stoop so low as to spread a blatant lie. They must be living (if that is the word) a hollow pathetic life.

    Luv and hugz, Eric

    Like

    • 24 Jane Thorne April 25, 2012 at 11:26 am

      You are right I don’t do cesspits and kindness should never be mistaken for weakness…I have a strong inner core and you my lovely buddy ‘get’ that…much love coming to you xxxx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,183 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

