Ever wonder what the speed of lightening would be if it didn’t zig zag?

One objective has been settled on at this end and that is a house move. The setting of this intention created a pot and many options on how I live, where that is and what I do to earn a living have come in at speed.

Not a problem as I am finding the peace to listen to my heart, and as my post referred to yesterday, I am taking care in choosing new plates. I will start them spinning slowly and build up…this is not a race.

With all this good stuff in mind I have hit a few of life’s zig zags:

Incoming emails are bouncing back to their senders…

I have spent months carefully crafting my web site to find that I didn’t set the right page width…seven pages have to be re-jigged…

My host providers swear blind that I have two accounts and my web site is pointing to the wrong one…

With everything else I have had to deal with this week the above are a challenge and I relay the following story to hopefully raise a chuckle at your end.

Take one young techie on the helpline yesterday answering my final call after spending most of the day on the phone….

Me: ‘I understand that you have used English words in your explanation but what you have just said to me is not logical’

Techie: ‘Let me say it again’ which he then proceeded to do exactly the same as before..

Me: ‘It still doesn’t make sense’

Techie: ‘I know it isn’t logical but you must have done something to cause this’

Me: ‘Did I bollocks!’

Immediate flag at their end….’Difficult middle aged technically inept woman on line number whatever…’

Needless to say I am still sorting this out.

30 Responses to “Ever wonder what the speed of lightening would be if it didn’t zig zag?”


  1. 1 katyarich May 2, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    Great post, you just make me laugh, have a lovely day!

    Like

  2. 3 Eric Alagan April 29, 2012 at 4:08 am

    You are right Jane – we can write books about runs-in with IT support. But it is not much better with most ‘support staffโ€™ (CS) in most industries.

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne April 29, 2012 at 3:36 pm

      Kindness and common sense…all these CS procedures and practises implemented through fear are stifling our natural humanity towards each other…much love to you xxx

      Like

  3. 5 Francina April 28, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    Hi jane ,

    I have nominated you for multiple awards . To find out more about the awards, please visit

    http://seasonspoetry.com/2012/04/28/aprils-award-shower/

    Ciao, Francina xxx

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne April 29, 2012 at 3:34 pm

      Hello Francina and thank you, I really am grateful. Right now though sweetheart and for the foreseeable future I am going to have to decline as everything is changing for me and I just do not have the headroom to convert these. Love to you and hugs xx

      Like

  4. 7 lyndarenham April 28, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Deep breaths ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. 9 Martin Shone April 27, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    You do like that word don’t you, Jane ๐Ÿ˜€ x

    Like

  6. 15 granbee April 27, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    Sarcasm does keep us out of jail often, just as those forks of lightning spitting off reduce the danger on earth from each fork, rather than the main lightning “stem” striking directly. I worked technical phone support for years and still provide consultinting services locally on occasion, for select clients. I am SO sorry you are having to go through all this move, redoing blog site design, AND hassling with near-duplicate email addresses. What you need is a steady, calm, trustworthy techi-buddy to help you out with some of this! Love you, Jane! So very sorry all of this is going on at once in your life. You are doing the right thing to just BREATHE and be calm and take one issue at a time. Praying for you and Em!

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne April 27, 2012 at 6:50 pm

      I love you Rose and thank you…I needed everything to fall for me to build something sustainable this time as since my divorce the road has been rocky. Time to smooth the cobbles out and I am doing just that. Em has gone back to live with her Dad till she goes to Uni as that gives her more security right now…so this lassie has her head down and is ploughing on through like a good girl should….I’m nearly there with my plan..big hugs xxxx

      Like

  7. 17 Maxi April 27, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    Thank you so much for this laugh today, Jane. I’m with Michelleโ€ฆ

    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  8. 19 elenacaravela April 27, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    Oh, those tech phone calls…..require sarcasm… Can’t wait to see your site.
    Hang in!

    Like

  9. 21 grandfathersky April 27, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Well here’s some insight from an IT guy, we have a rash of people in IT who don’t get that people just want to use computers, not everyone wants to know how they work. That being said, the customer (you) needs to escalate the call to a supervisor, not out of disrespect, but in the hope that the super has better people skills. I’ve heard that line before, I know you are speaking English but…
    The tech people classify that as an ID 10 T (idiot) error. I apologize for my colleagues rudeness. He obviously didn’t get the memo.
    Great post Jane, it did make me chuckle…
    Also check out http://makebelieveboutique.com/2012/04/27/1294/ great post…

    Like

    • 22 Jane Thorne April 27, 2012 at 1:50 pm

      Thank you Peter..I am ex.IT (years of programming/systems analysis/customer support) and I wanted to clip his ear. Thank you for your suggestion as they are still sorting it out..loved the post on makebelieveboutique, so thank you for this too…love to you xx

      Like

  10. 25 Michelle April 27, 2012 at 8:56 am

    I generally find that sarcasm is wasted on IT people…you are better off beating the crap out of them.
    Lots of love to you xx
    Michelle – Queen of sarcasm

    Like

  11. 27 lostupabove April 27, 2012 at 7:57 am

    I know what you are talking about. I once complained to someone from IT that envelopes didn’t print as they should and did since they changed something, whatever that change was. Reply, they didn’t change anything and the envelopes printed correctly on their printers until … 5 months later when they rolled out the same procedures, that didn’t change anything either I reckon, in the main branch and Ooooh ! suddenly they realised they had used a wrong protocol to handle the printers and, miraculously, suddenly my envelopes printed again as they should! (even though they said they hadn’t changed anything!!!!)
    And I could go on like that for ages!
    Love, Steph xxx

    Like

  12. 29 Nicola April 27, 2012 at 7:53 am

    ooops…:-) xx

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

