Trying to master the art of letting go and relaxing …..

So much change and upheaval in such a short space of time and logic dictates that I really must try and kick back for a few days. I am loved as family here and daily ‘my family’ are insisting that I rest. Note to self: that means letting go of the worry, blessed lists and just being… I am making the discovery that I need to master this because so far I am swinging from fear, the need to control, tears and a complete mind blank on what I need to do next.

Nothing is the answer so maybe I need to chose an activity that helps me to let go?

When we try to do something that feels totally alien it is best to break ourselves in gently.

I think back to Sunday and our walk around the beautiful reservoir with the wildlife, little streams, sunlight filtering through the surrounding woodlands and the diamonds and boats on the water. There was also a derelict farmhouse we discovered and as we stood on the hill and looked back down to the water the peace of the place seeped in.

An idea….I will create and lose myself in that for a couple of hours.

24 Responses to “Trying to master the art of letting go and relaxing …..”


  1. 1 Jeannie May 16, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    In time I think you will get settled in and feel completely at home. Transition, no matter how welcome and exciting takes time to adjust to. A new normal is around the corner. Be kind to yourself and don’t expect too much too soon. This new journey is like an unfolding flower isn’t it? xoxoxo

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne May 17, 2012 at 11:39 am

      Thank you Jeannie, patience is still a work in progress with me!! It is all starting to unfold beautifully and I passed a second interview stage this morning…whey hey…love to you xx

      Like

  2. 3 Maxi May 16, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    Oooh Jane, my friend, it is so hard to let go of the comfort of the familiar…

    Time is on your side, it soon will take you to a place of peace, hang on.

    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne May 16, 2012 at 1:58 pm

      I’m hanging, learning to flow and fly Maxi and mastering the art of self-nurturing..thank you for your love and kindess..love coming right back to you with hugs xxx

      Like

  3. 5 maturestudenthanginginthere May 16, 2012 at 10:34 am

    I empathise with you. I too struggle with the kicking back and relaxing/resting bit. I’ve had to try to train myself to do it in short bursts and just go with it. Walking and deep breathing have been my saviours. I wish you peace Jane. J x

    Like

  4. 7 Eric Alagan May 16, 2012 at 1:32 am

    To be free, we need to set free, I reckon.

    I know how you feel Jane buddy – please don’t take this as presumptious. I’m also a take-charge, action person…I’m still learning to let go…getting there, getting better at it 🙂

    All luv and hugz to a fellow traveller.

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne May 16, 2012 at 8:09 am

      Hello my fellow traveller, cut from the same cloth I reckon me and thee…so yes it is a learning process and I trust that we are getting better at it…much love and hugs to you my lovely buddy xxx

      Like

  5. 9 granbee May 15, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    I would have wanted to “kick back” by sketching that derelict farmhouse! Have you ever tried keeping a dream journal that includes sketches with each jotted entry/verse/flash fiction–whatever?

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne May 15, 2012 at 8:35 pm

      Mike and I actually stood and contemplated what it would take to restore but it truly is beyond help that old farmhouse. Do you know Rose I have a journal, but not a dream journal…now you’ve got me thinking…I love you xx

      Like

  6. 11 tornadoday May 15, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    I think that’s the real challenge in change — like jumping off a diving board into a pool of cold water. The worst part is making the choice to do it. But once you’re in the air, there’s nothing you can do but let go. ~ Bobbie 😉

    Like

  7. 17 1smiles May 15, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    (((Jane))) That sounds absolutely perfect.
    I’ll be holding your hand as you leap forward my dear friend. Til its time for that, lets just sit on the hill in the sunshine and watch the clouds go by.
    Love you,
    Jeannie

    Like

  8. 19 elenacaravela May 15, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    Sounds like a plan:) Taking photos and sketching works for me, and you know what to do 2.

    Like

    • 20 Jane Thorne May 15, 2012 at 1:40 pm

      It hasn’t struck me like that today, so I have been writing. Best laid plans and all that, so I will try again tomorrow with my creating. Love to you Elena, you are so kind 😀 xx

      Like

  9. 21 grandfathersky May 15, 2012 at 11:27 am

    It is hard to let go of the world when there is so much to do… Yet the heart knows better than the head. A quiet place in the midst of chaos…

    Like

  10. 23 calmyourbeans May 15, 2012 at 10:43 am

    Reblogged this on calmyourbeans.

    Like

    • 24 Jane Thorne May 15, 2012 at 11:25 am

      Hello you lovely people up there in Scotland (one of my favourite places) and thank you for re-blogging my post…have a great day – Jane 😀

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,232 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

welcome to my secret blog, theres tonnes here, get stuck in!

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

a food and lifestyle blog ♥

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Three Things Serial, a Little 1920s Story"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

