Passing on a little sunshine ……

The sun started to shine very brightly down South in the UK yesterday and what a joy it was to see and feel as it has been so flipping cold lately.

The day started with a sonic alarm that goes off for one of my housemates and the clue is in the name, as the very rafters seem to shake. Five minutes after this the door bell went and I went downstairs with upstanding hair in a rather fetching pink spotted dressing gown. These are new surroundings for me and it is all still unfamiliar so as I opened all the bolts, and goodness knows what else, on the front door a mobile phone belonging to the postman on the other side started to ring. I finally got the door open to the sound of the theme tune from The High Chapparal and I was laughing which set the postman off as he commented ‘So you like that?’. Our laughter alerted a queue of early morning folk waiting for the bus across the street and what a sight greeted them and no, you can’t see a picture (I’m not Cherie Blair!).

Someone had sent us a special delivery of a very well wrapped empty box. No name on the parcel just our address and we are the only house with this postcode. A completely empty box….

Having the day start in this way there was only one way to go. I am currently set-up to work in the main dining room, amidst all the moving chaos going on around me, till I take up residence on the top floor in the house. There was sunshine outside so I went out and bought some bright yellow and white daisies for our home.

Let there be sunshine within.

It was a good day x

27 Responses to “Passing on a little sunshine ……”


  1. 1 Hayley Jacques Sykes May 24, 2012 at 7:00 am

    Angel Janey, I laughed as I read your blog and have walked your exact steps at some unearthly hour in my dressing gown (pink and white stars) followed by three dogs and the tremour of what is labelled ‘alarm’ but should be renamed ‘cardiac exerciser’!
    I’m sure Royal Mail, and other similar couriers, are getting used to us girls ‘eventually’ opening Fort Knox as ‘Scary Mary’s’ to welcome a parcel, this one being rather mystical.
    I love your daisies. I love you. Thank you for being who you are xxx
    p.s. Red Robin pops by each morning to say ‘hi’! xxx

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne May 24, 2012 at 9:42 am

      Oh Hayley we miss you here and I forgot to tell you about the robin…every day he’s there and when you garden he is a lovely companion. As for over here all is wrapped in love … I love you xxxx

      Like

  2. 3 mj monaghan May 24, 2012 at 3:58 am

    You’re making me miss England via this post, my friend!

    Like

  3. 5 Eric Alagan May 24, 2012 at 1:37 am

    An empty box? Either someone with a sense of humour or probably from this supplier I once knew in Dallas, Texas. They actually shipped an empty 25 kg box on international priority to one of my Asian customers!

    Like

  4. 7 granbee May 23, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    Jane, do you suppose someone tried to capture sunshine in that box and mail it to you? (tee,hee!) Your wonderful bouquet has brought a huge ray of sunshine into my heart today!

    Like

  5. 9 tornadoday May 23, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    An empty box? How lovely………like an open mind or a willing heart……..just waiting for you to fill it up with wonder! I love this story……..we should fill our life story with just such moments of laughter and joy! ~ Bobbie

    Like

  6. 15 Francina May 23, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    Lovely picture, Jane.. On this side of the creek the sun is out too… finally!! 🙂

    Francina xx

    Like

  7. 17 Martin Shone May 23, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    Nice daisies 🙂 H xx

    Like

  8. 20 maturestudenthanginginthere May 23, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    Daisies and dressing gowns – here’s to living the good life. Enjoy the sunshine you lovely lady.

    Like

  9. 22 elenacaravela May 23, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    Love the vignette of your morning:) Thank you for the daisies too.

    Like

  10. 24 grandfathersky May 23, 2012 at 11:27 am

    I’ll wander out in my pj’s at times and I am sure it’s a sight, but then I am nature too… Right? Happy sunshine day!

    Like

  11. 26 lostupabove May 23, 2012 at 8:55 am

    “I opened all the bolts, and goodness knows what else”, not the dressing gown I hope!

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

