Golden links and rising about personal concerns…..

Yesterday, Debs (my sister) and I travelled together to a family funeral where we all gathered to say goodbye to a special man.

The service was personal to Uncle Tony and very well done. At the end he was sent off to Monty Python’s ‘Always look on the bright side of life’ and feet started to tap and smiles appeared through the tears.

I stood side by side with Debs at the ‘do’ afterwards and we both looked around the loving group assembled there. Our Aunt was left on her own with five young children many years ago and she fostered newborn babies to make ends meet. Aunty Tessa has a natural and instinctive way with babies and it was wonderful to watch her with these little ones as we were growing up. Her brood was increased to six as she adopted a lovely lad she grew to love as she nursed him through his early days. She and Uncle Tony met when his wife passed away and this left him with four children to care for. Penny, his youngest at the time, was fostered by Aunty Tessa and their paths started to intertwine.

Throughout all their years together Uncle Tony gave silent loving support to Aunty Tessa in whatever she set out to achieve and they put a solid foundation under their brood. A very humble man who never trumpeted his own triumphs, so much so, that even his own brood learnt new things about him during the funeral service. We all did.

The group yesterday was a modern family mix of first and second wives and first and second husbands all talking together with ease. The younger children were brought in to join us at the ‘do’ and all the children intermingled quite happily so there was a beautiful mix of first and second families.

What struck Debs and I was the overwhelming feeling of love in that room as everyone had put any personal feelings they had aside so we could celebrate what Uncle Tony meant to all of us.

Debs and I both agreed on the way back home last night that we were very proud to belong to a family with such golden links.

16 Responses to “Golden links and rising about personal concerns…..”


  1. 1 granbee June 9, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    Isn’t it wonderful how these blended and extended families can meet and converse most amicably at weddings and funerals and graduations, etc? Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful tribute to your Uncle Tony. I have a feeling this funeral and “do” experience will carry you serenely through much “todo” over the next weeks. So glad you could be with your sister Debs.

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne June 10, 2012 at 7:35 pm

      Oh Rose as intuitive as ever…there is much ‘to do’ as you rightly say, but I am trying to pace myself. Debs and I loved having that time alone together in the car..we managed a proper catch-up and how rare is that? My buddy Martin is watching over me and dusting me down when I slip…I have many blessings to be grateful for…love you xxx

      Like

  2. 3 1smiles June 9, 2012 at 1:22 am

    Jane,
    You are very blessed.
    Love and hugs,
    Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

  3. 5 grandfathersky June 8, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    Brings to mind “Imagine” Written by that Brit who was taken from us too soon … Blessings to you and your family, and thatnk you for sharing this heart filled story …

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne June 10, 2012 at 7:32 pm

      I have missed you and send much love to you, your loved ones and your sister…hope your ‘break’ is panning out as you need it too..take care P, 😀 and much love xx

      Like

  4. 11 Elena Caravela June 8, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    How fortunate you are to have such a family, though I am so sorry for your loss.

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne June 10, 2012 at 7:31 pm

      Thanks Elena, our Uncle Tony had a cruel illness that he grappled with for years so he was so ready to go. The love remains. Love to you xx

      Like

  5. 13 tornadoday June 8, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    Dearest Jane ~ I suspect most families are a patchwork of exes and ‘nearly dones’, but I am always inspired by those who rise above the frivalous rules set around love. My father is loved by everyone who knows him, including a large assortment of exes and ‘almost had it all’ relations. No matter what, he waits with love and open arms (never let a problem to solve become bigger than a person to love). Even those who have been gone for years ~ when, by chance, we meet, the mention of his name brings a tear and a smile (for some, the only glimpse of unconditional love they’ve known). I have my mother’s chin, but I am hopeful that I carry my daddy’s heart ~ to give love without regard to blood or circumstance. I share your grief, but celebrate the love you’ve surely been blessed with. This is a loving tribute to that which we should all aspire to. ~ Much love, Bobbie

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne June 10, 2012 at 7:30 pm

      Oh Bobbie what a truly lovely comment and thank you. I love your term ‘almost had it all’ relations and I think your Dad is one special soul. You have a huge heart and empathy with mankind…your writing shows that in spades and I’m just sorry that whilst I grapple with my new daily routine and very long hours at the coal face, reading my fello bloggers work is going by the wayside…it will all settle. Much love to you J xxx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,182 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

