We all have our moments…appearances can be deceptive…

I hold my hand up that my blog posts of late have been focussing on the simple and good in life. Rest assured that these posts have helped me to flow with the big changes happening in my life and I do believe that a rising tide raises all ships. Every single one of us struggles to a greater or lesser extent every day, and for me, humour works and capturing the beauty in moments.

I have learnt lately that if change (no matter how rough, scary and unsettling it is) is resisted then we get torn. It then takes a long time to heal the torn parts, whilst adjusting to the changes.

I have been reading a great book for a few pages each night (that’s all I can manage before my eyes close) but in it this lassie was able to step out of her life and retreat to India to ‘go within’ and find herself. A lot of us need to flow, adapt and adjust whilst handling our lives and time to step away is but a longing pushed to the back of the cupboard.

I had a day yesterday when ‘life’ kept intruding and I ended up rattled. Completely ignoring the humid weather, I had a break between shifts at about 6pm and I re-organised the furniture in my peaceful place. Lovely fragrant polish and duster in hand I set about to dispel my ‘mood’ and the negative energy that had seeped in. It worked…

Today dawned and I was writing away before I started work and Saint came up to say ‘Hello’. I love this dog. I really do, even though he went and peed in the middle of my re-arranged front room. When he came back in to my bedroom and flopped on my bed I had a chat with him. ‘Now, was it because I have moved your favourite chair, moved the room around or because I am now writing in your sleeping area Saint? His expression was simple and immediately understood by myself; ‘I’m sorry Jane, I don’t know what came over me. It happened before I had time to think about it, I know you still love me. Still pals? Yes, I’m up for a walk with you later’.

It is the same understanding I had for my clients yesterday. They do not mean to be angry, stuck, unhappy or deaf to an objective view of their situation right now. They simply want to express themselves in a safe way until they are ready to tackle it.

I take none of this personally, now where’s my cleaning cloth?

30 Responses to “We all have our moments…appearances can be deceptive…”


  1. 1 Eric Alagan June 29, 2012 at 5:05 am

    No matter what life throws your way – you come bobbing right up! Great inspiration you are – to all of us Jane buddy. Have a great weekend ahead, Eric 🙂

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne June 29, 2012 at 7:23 pm

      Some days I ‘bob’ better than others!! We are all human, forging our way, and love threaded through our days can work wonders. You know, you just know what I am going to say next….wait for it…much love and hugs to you my lovely buddy xxx

      Like

  2. 3 kewsmith June 28, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    I’m in the process of rearranging one of my rooms and painting the walls. I’m not good at dealing with change in my life so I change my furniture instead. I love this post. It makes me feel connected to others.

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne June 29, 2012 at 7:17 pm

      Karen how lovely to hear from you and yes, changing furniture helps doesn’t it? Hope you have got your squirrels ‘under management’…xx

      Like

  3. 5 granbee June 28, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    Such a fine example of positivity and re-evaluation of difficulties that you set for us here, dear Jane! I am learning so much from how you are handling you new life these days. Bless you for such open sharing and honesty, so well written.

    Like

  4. 7 tornadoday June 28, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    I love this, Jane. Isn’t it funny – if you had done the same to him, he would have forgiven you without a thought (eager to lick your hand and confirm that all is well)…… We should be so loving, and I’m certain he knows that you are…… Too cute though! I hope that furniture polish has lemon in it! 😀 ~ Love, Bobbie xx

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne June 28, 2012 at 8:58 pm

      Bobbie, I love the way you look at it….you know I had an ex. boyfriend once who said I was too kind, I used to say quietly there is no such thing. Saint and I had a lovely potter in the woods at tea time…bliss. Love you, xxxx

      Like

  5. 13 maturestudenthanginginthere June 28, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    You made me smile. I move furniture for therapy – it’s getting harder to do as I get older. I used to be able to do so many things singlehanded. Actually it was quite scary what I could move from one end of the house to the other. My son has inherited this trait – it’s quite funny to watch. I wish you peace dear lady. Saint sounds wonderful – fancy lending him to me to take for a walk?

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne June 28, 2012 at 3:14 pm

      Oh my goodness we need to introduce Emily and Spence, as she has inherited this ability to move furniture in a determined fashion from me too. Some of our funniest moments have come from situations where we are re-arranging things. The sofa firmly wedged in the outside kitchen doorway springs to mind. We had to call for help and were helpless with laughter. Saint is wonderful, a gentle, loving dog and I love my housemates for sharing him with me. Come for a walk anytime J, anytime xx

      Like

  6. 15 Linda Willows June 28, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    such a sweet and sincere post. Yesterday, I rearranged my own furniture and keep wanting to simplify and I have things in front of the door that I would like “gone”…but I can’t lift Them!! I’ll figure something out. Cleaning is a great instinct, your dog must be a great buddy!!! Love, Linda

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne June 28, 2012 at 3:09 pm

      I move furniture is such an inelegant but very determined way and yes, I too need help with the really heavy stuff. I borrow Saint from my housemates..he visits and I love seeing him…just off for a walk now. Much love to you Linda and I loved your latest poem xx

      Like

    • 17 tornadoday June 28, 2012 at 7:44 pm

      Linda, you and Rose need to invest in a set or two of ‘sliders’. They slide beneath the posts (or the corners) and allow you to move things effortlessly (well, maybe not effortlessly but certainly with a lot less problem). The only lifting is enough to get them underneath. They make them for hardwood and for carpet, and I can rearrange a room in no time (and without any help at all)……… 😀 A friend told me about them and I thought ‘poo’, but in a moment of frustration, decided to try them. Now I feel like an idiot for the years I’ve spent wrestling with wood! ~ B

      Like

  7. 23 lyndarenham June 28, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    What a lovely post. xxx

    Like

  8. 27 elenacaravela June 28, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    Jane, what a wonderful post. Saint, says it beautifully; ) Have a good day:)

    Like

  9. 29 Maxi June 28, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    Bless your heart, Jane. Here you are with your life uprooted, trying to readjust, and have to deal with so much.

    It may not be intentional, still it must be oppressive.

    Hold out your hand, I’m passin’ the cleaning cloth…

    Hugs and Blessings – Maxi

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,286 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Categories


roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

Bette A. Stevens, Maine Author

A writer inspired by nature and human nature

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

Annette Rochelle Aben

~ Communicator, WordSmith, Artist, Guide, Mentor, Muse ~

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Create Space

Creating a space for the creative use of life as a tool for learning.

Eliza Waters

My Own Paradise: Life on Seven and a Half Acres

England And Scotland

Our trip to the United Kingdom

bridgesburning

There are no facts, only interpretations. - Friedrich Nietzsche. The truth I think that validates everything you have to say.

beetleypete

The musings of a Londoner, now living in Norfolk

From Mage Mind

When a mage is sharing what's on his mind. Business, Motivation, Positive life, Success, Marketing and Good Ideas.

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

Love Balm

Dating, Love & Everything In-between

Retired? No one told me!

Tonight I Dream. Tomorrow I Do!

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

