Fresh breezes and lovely friendships….

Something got to me yesterday and I was annoyed with myself for letting it. I took a quick nap after my last work shift had finished, ate supper and then gave myself a mental shake.

Funnily enough, after condensing a three bedroom house and large outbuildings into one car full, I still have stuff! You can get a lot into an old battered 4×4. An email was lovingly sent to me yesterday by my lovely pal Jacqueline. It was about decluttering and clearing out old energy. Another influential friend, the lovely Angela, also mentioned recently that she does not keep any of her clothes for longer than two years. So armed with these thoughts I threw open my wardrobe doors. Radio on, candles burning and bags at the ready, I took three hours to have a right royal clear through.

As I held up each piece there were memories attached, and with deep breaths I acknowledged the sadnesses around some. I took a minute to think of the other person in the memories and was grateful for the gifts that had come through that link, no matter how events unfolded. Then the sad memories were taken out of the wardrobe along with the clothes. I even texted one chap to thank him for something he had done for me in our short acquaintance, something he was completely unaware of. He texted straight back delighted to know that good had come from our brief meeting.

By ten thirty last night I had three huge bags sorted and as I rested in a deep bubble bath I was smiling.

Fresh breeze is blowing through my wardrobe, my heart is lighter and I love my friends.

28 Responses to “Fresh breezes and lovely friendships….”


  1. 1 countingducks December 11, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    I’ve done a fair bit of de-cluttering in my time, and I agree it can be really liberating. Many of the objects I lost had memories, but possibly the memories worth preserving stay with you anyway. It’s a thought

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne December 11, 2012 at 5:28 pm

      Ahh Peter, it’s a thought I need right now, as I have had moments where I fear I may have been far too ruthless in my de-cluttering!

      Like

  2. 3 Maxi July 15, 2012 at 10:48 am

    Beads of sweat line my forehead just thinking of “a three-bedroom house and large outbuildings” stuffed into one vehicle. All that work, your poor back.

    Know you felt better gettin’ rid of more clutter, Jane.
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne July 15, 2012 at 1:42 pm

      Oh I do feel better Maxi (it took me a few weeks to recover from the big move) and I’m still on a mission over here…drawers and under the bed left to do now. There’s no pressure though, I don’t have to push myself as I have a few months yet before I move again. All in good time as they say..much love and hugs to you xx

      Like

  3. 5 bardessdmdenton July 14, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    Hi Jane! Love this line: ‘Then the sad memories were taken out of the wardrobe along with the clothes.’

    Sometimes it just comes to it … we have to clear out! Your last line refreshed me too.

    Like

  4. 7 Linda Willows July 13, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    I feel that this is wonderful. I also don’t keep things and I like to think that everything needs to stay in “flow”. I understand your heart feeling after this, I think this is great! I love you! Linda

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne July 14, 2012 at 10:26 am

      Much love flowing right back to you Linda..I’ve got the drawers and under the bed coming under ‘review’ next…I feel so much better for this xxx

      Like

  5. 9 mj monaghan July 13, 2012 at 3:40 am

    You are quite the inspiration, my friend. Love your ability to let go of “stuff.” And not just the physical stuff.

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne July 13, 2012 at 9:15 am

      Hi mj, good to hear from you. I am still learning to ‘let go’, but it gets easier. My poor Mum wonders what I have left and things like saucepans have been mentioned! Have fun on your beach my friend xx

      Like

  6. 11 Eric Alagan July 13, 2012 at 12:06 am

    That’s lovely isn’t it – with all that new prana coursing through – opportunities to make new memories. I like that last part – soaking in a bath > trust you had a glass of wine at arm’s reach πŸ™‚

    We de-clutter regularly > almost a routine. Memories are condensed in photos, digital photos and DVD’s – the wonders of technology. A little harsh, some might say – but works for us.

    Luv and hugz for a buddy, Eric πŸ™‚

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne July 13, 2012 at 9:13 am

      You’ll love this but I have stopped drinking to do my work effectively! The bath bubbles were good though…new prana, very true my lovely buddy. Much love and hugs to you xxx

      Like

  7. 13 granbee July 12, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    And WE love you so very much, dear Jane! So very pleased for you that this wardrobe clearing facilitated a lovely, restful prep time for sleep last evening!

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne July 13, 2012 at 9:12 am

      I love you too Rose and I have the drawers and under the bed next. Now I am not moving for a few months, I have the luxury of time to do this. Then I shift again. xxx

      Like

  8. 15 tornadoday July 12, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    What was the mode of transportation used quite often in the Harry Pottery stories? I believe they were called portkeys and individuals could travel great distances in the tiniest of spaces – a thimble, a soda can, an old shoe. When I first read of this, I thought about what you’ve touched on here – how the simplest items have the power to transport us – to another place and another time. A movie ticket, a locket, or a fading spot on an old shirt hold amazing power. But the truth is, we are the portkey and wherever we are, we hold the power. Our only falacy is in believing it ever had anything to do with an old shoe. πŸ™‚ Beautiful, as always, Jane. As for Angela’s suggestion, a friend suggested putting a tag around the hanger of each item in your closet. Whenever you wear something, mark the tag. At the end of two years, take inventory. Anything without a mark goes (and hopefully to someone you won’t see on a regular basis – so that you’re not tempted to think ‘crap—I should have kept that’)! Lovely. ~ Much love, Bobbie

    Like

  9. 17 1smiles July 12, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    Like you, I’ve been sorting and purging before my move. Yet I still have a lot of ‘stuff’. I need to reduce even more.
    Love and Hugs!
    Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne July 12, 2012 at 3:48 pm

      Clearing whilst we hold hands together…can’t wait to hear how your Writer’s Group went last night…no pressure to email!! Love you xxx

      Like

  10. 19 Angela July 12, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    I never realised how much energy is held in our ‘stuff’ until I was able to ‘read’ it and feel it and became aware of our spiritual side. That bubble bath, after a huge clear through, feels great doesn’t it? :-). Much love and new breezes whispering their way to you.xxx

    Like

    • 20 Jane Thorne July 12, 2012 at 2:41 pm

      You wove the thread to start this wardrobe clearout Angela and you’d have laughed if you had been here last night. Some items I got stuck on, so I held them up and asked my guides..yes or no..there was fun in that room last night. I’ve got the drawers and under the bed to come next. Much love and gratitude flowing back to you xxx

      Like

  11. 21 Elena Caravela July 12, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    What a simply wonderful post! So well done and so heart felt. I’m happy for your lighter burden. I’m in a sorting mode myself, but you were able to articulate the process beautifully. Thanks Jane!

    Like

  12. 23 grandfathersky July 12, 2012 at 11:21 am

    I so enjoy your expressions like a right royal clear through. So true how the old energy bogs us down, you did the right thing, because more than the materials it is the thoughts that are attached which hold us back, keep us tied to the past. A particular shirt can have more attachment than a box of old love letters, the new found space allows fresh airs to blow through the mind… Peace -PA

    Like

  13. 27 maturestudenthanginginthere July 12, 2012 at 8:25 am

    Ah how lovely Jane. I LONG to have a fresh breeze blowing through our house, although at the moment it feels like I might need a tornado to get things moving. I’m with you, there is something emotional yet positive about decluttering. You have made me realise that maybe part of the reason we often don’t do it is because there are emotions and memories attached to the things we have. It is much easier to de-cluttter our wardrobes than our hearts but when we raise to the challenge how much lighter we feel. You have spurred me on with this post lovely lady and I am going to have a de-cluttering weekend! Much love to you my blogging buddy. Funny though I was walking to work today and a post formed in my head about memories and why they stay with us, and sometimes it is necessary that we do. I guess that’s the part before the de-cluttering begins. Are we on the same wavelength or what πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • 28 Jane Thorne July 12, 2012 at 8:52 am

      Your email yesterday was the spark to the fire I have been building for some time, I was just unaware that I was building it. A heartfelt thank you to you for all your love and support. Much love to you and here’s to more happy wave lengthing…what fun we are having with it! πŸ˜€ xx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,286 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Categories


roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

Bette A. Stevens, Maine Author

A writer inspired by nature and human nature

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

Annette Rochelle Aben

~ Communicator, WordSmith, Artist, Guide, Mentor, Muse ~

Cynthia Reyes - Author

The blog of author Cynthia Reyes

Create Space

Creating a space for the creative use of life as a tool for learning.

Eliza Waters

My Own Paradise: Life on Seven and a Half Acres

England And Scotland

Our trip to the United Kingdom

bridgesburning

There are no facts, only interpretations. - Friedrich Nietzsche. The truth I think that validates everything you have to say.

beetleypete

The musings of a Londoner, now living in Norfolk

From Mage Mind

When a mage is sharing what's on his mind. Business, Motivation, Positive life, Success, Marketing and Good Ideas.

Debatably Dateable

But Poetry, Beauty, Romance, Love, these are what we stay alive for

Love Balm

Dating, Love & Everything In-between

Retired? No one told me!

Tonight I Dream. Tomorrow I Do!

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

