How we love is all that matters …. especially when a stepping stone sinks!!

My move to the city recently was a stepping stone to a place I had yet to discover, and I was relaxed about this. After my massive life downsize, I was quite happy to let the following few months unfold until I needed to move on in October. Or so I thought…..

I was to discover last week that my stepping stone was not secure. Unexpectedly, the rug was pulled from under my feet and there I was packing up all my bits and pieces into my battered 4×4. Mercifully, I heard my main guide and leaping clear of my rapidly sinking stepping stone (with as much diginity as I could muster) I called the friends whose name was being called out to me in my head. They caught me and I have been with them since then.

When the shocking and unexpected happens it tests everything; your resolve, your life beliefs, your faith, your trust, your ability to keep stepping forward…everything. God bless our friends and family in those times.

This past week has been full of so much love and forms…lots and lots of forms to be filled in.

My friends here have been amazing and have even given up their dining room so I can continue to work. Other friends are also having me as their housesitter next week whilst they take a holiday. So each day I am sheltered, fed and loved. When I am hurt or in trouble I retreat, so the very few friends who have been in the know, have shown love and support in spadefuls.

This morning my lovely Scottish pal sent me the beautiful necklace pictured above as a wee lift for me right now. xx

Things are starting to unfold in a new and surprising way and I have trust and faith in my heart that this is all meant and I will end up exactly where I am supposed to be.

For this moment in time, I have more love and gratitude in my heart for my friends than I will ever be able to show them.

23 Responses to “How we love is all that matters …. especially when a stepping stone sinks!!”


  1. 1 granbee August 4, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    Oh, dear, dear Jane! I weep a little for you! I am SO praying you will find a permanent “nest” very, very soon!

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne August 4, 2012 at 4:45 pm

      Oh Rose, I will…as tricky as this is and as testing (!!) I have to hold faith that it is meant and I will land safely…love to you xxx

      Like

  2. 3 Maxi August 4, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    The rug pulled out from beneath you must have been a shocker, Jane. Once again you face the daily struggle; all the while wrapped in grace and dignity.

    My heart and prayers are with, my friend – Maxi

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne August 4, 2012 at 12:10 pm

      Dear Maxi, thank you for your kind words. The hurt is receeding and I have gently let go of the anger and shock. The new shoreline that is emerging has beauty and blessings. Take care my friend … love and hugs flowing to you xxx

      Like

  3. 5 Jeannie August 4, 2012 at 10:43 am

    {{hugs}} Love and caring concern lifts us up from sinking sand dear Jane, as you know well. Sometimes it seems we are tried by fire, often at the most unexpected time! But that is exactly when the best of who we are shines through, and those who love you best are allowed for a brief moment in time, really, to help paddle your boat. In Spirit, here we are, your oarsmen and in the flesh there with you, new stepping stones to help you reach the new shore you speak of. My prayers and thoughts of comfort are sent over the miles to you dear heart. xoxo

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne August 4, 2012 at 11:26 am

      Jeannie, thank you for your loving thoughts and words. Love is our purest guide and this new shore that is appearing out of the mist is rather beautiful. Much love flowing right back to you xoxo

      Like

  4. 7 mj monaghan August 3, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    You are in my thoughts, Jane. All the very best in your new adventure.

    Like

  5. 10 tornadoday August 2, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    *wrapping my arms around you* I don’t know if it’s the same for everyone, but for me, it is in times of struggle that I have found the best parts of myself – courage, compassion, and unexpected peace. And in those, I have always found what I needed to break through and go on. Always, the hardest road made for a sweeter arrival. I love you, Jane………be whole. ~ Bobbie

    Like

    • 11 Jane Thorne August 2, 2012 at 7:05 pm

      Oh Bobbie thank you, I was just leaving a comment on your blog. Souls talking to each other and thank you so much for your heartfelt and true words. These changes are rolling me forward to a new shore, where I have needed to be for a very long time. I love you, xxxxx

      Like

  6. 12 teawithmanaguagunn August 2, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    There are a few things that shine here, against that dullness of that heavy stepping stone, whose weight can be felt on all of us, suddenly, through your post – but the two things, the friendship, stronger than stone, but lighter than air, and the lovely wee gift both shine brighter….and of course, a not-so-hidden third tiny little point; your indomitable spirit, and the knowledge you show that you have to reach out and grab it, and let it take you.

    Like

    • 13 Jane Thorne August 2, 2012 at 6:48 pm

      Thank you for your thoughtful comment and I am rolling forward onto a very different shore. One that has been much needed for some time. 😀 x

      Like

  7. 14 Linda Willows August 2, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    the stepping stone may have sank but your depth of Heart and Soul has risen. You are very Loved, Linda

    Like

  8. 16 Francina August 2, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    I’m sorry to hear your move did not worked out the way it should, Jane. But I’m happy for you that you have such golden friends! Hang in there girl, this too shall pass.
    hugs and love, Francina xoxo

    Like

    • 17 Jane Thorne August 2, 2012 at 6:46 pm

      Hi Francina and thank you..I’m hanging with as much grace as I can muster. This is rolling me forward to a different shore…a good one. Love and hugs to you xx

      Like

  9. 18 grandfathersky August 2, 2012 at 4:10 pm

    I think you faith is carrying you through. I know the universe it trying you, but also leading you in the direction you were meant to be moving – you could not get to where you are without traveling this road … Prayers and blessings for your journey …

    Like

  10. 20 Michelle August 2, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    So glad you were caught by such amazing friends. You are a good catch and a lovely lady. You are so dignified and graceful. Sending you love and hugs. xxxxx

    Like

    • 21 Jane Thorne August 2, 2012 at 6:41 pm

      Hello Michelle, we are blessed to have such amazing friends aren’t we? Thank you for your lovely comment xx Sending much love and hugs back to you and we’ll get together soon. With luck and a following wind it will be a house warming dinner in my new home – yay! xxxxx

      Like

  11. 22 Elena Caravela August 2, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    You garnered good friends, that speaks volumes about you. Hang on, be well:)

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,183 other followers

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door

Vashti Q, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

Smorgasbord - Variety is the spice of life

Blog with a view - on books, music, humour and health

jstansfeld

Literary musings

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

ALWAYS WRITE

at home and abroad, new bloggers, writers, photographers experiment with me - enthusiastic - persistent - encouraging

A Suffolk Lane

A diary of my life in rural north Suffolk.

Poetic Parfait

Good poetry is like a dessert you just can't put down

Where Words Daily Come Alive

A Word Press Blog Which Will Make You Smile

Journey To Ambeth

by Helen Jones

ianscyberspace

Welcome, I hope you enjoy my stories and poems. Leave a comment and come again.

Take Five Authors

Passionate about reading and writing

