Our friends remind us who we are and the blessings contained in the love from friendship are countless…..

There are so many things I have learnt lately that this post could have become a right mish mash of thoughts, fortunately common sense prevailed and I picked the one thing that has been my constant; my friends.

Sometimes we need those we love and trust to state the obvious. I have been house sitting for a lovely family this week and shared a cup of tea with them when they returned from holiday yesterday. We sat chatting and listening to their children playing the piano and it was uplifting. I was struggling though, and the man of the house gently suggested that I may have soaked up some of other folks drama and upset from the last few months.

I returned to my generous friends (who have shared their home since I hit a period of sudden change) and the lady of the house and I sat in the garden last night and ate dinner together. Afterwards she played the piano and I sat listening to the music, watching the evening sun play out over the fields. I ‘broke ranks’ and managed to say how I have been struggling this week. She is a wonderful instinctive healer and within minutes she devised a healing session around me that lifted the rubbish I have been carrying right off my weary soul.

I slept like a log and find myself today reminded that no matter what happens, we are still who we are. I am still me and filled with hope. Not defined by my current circumstances, instead surrounded by special friends, love and support.

God bless my friends for all their acts of kindness and love, as they have formed a sturdy lifeboat in this sea of change.

20 Responses to “Our friends remind us who we are and the blessings contained in the love from friendship are countless…..”


  1. 1 teawithmanaguagunn August 14, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    Heartfelt sincerity is always powerful…I agree with you..

    Like

  2. 3 Francina August 14, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    Friends are the flowers in the garden of Life, Jane. I bought that expression a long time ago and it’s still hanging in my place. xxx

    Like

  3. 5 granbee August 13, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    A thousand hoorays for your wonderful friends there, Jane! How relieved I am every time I think of you in their healing and supportive company!

    Like

  4. 7 1smiles August 13, 2012 at 4:04 am

    Sending you my love!

    Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

  5. 9 tornadoday August 12, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    Jane, this time of adjustment for you is also a time of joy for those who wish to lift you up (by caring for you). I’m the absolute worst. I hate to be a bother to anyone. I insist on doing everything for myself and never asking for help. And yet, I am doing much better with that, thanks to an ‘aahaa’ moment I had a few years back when a friend asked if I got joy from doing for others (which she knows I do). In response, she said, ‘then why would you ever deny that same joy to someone else’? Sometimes the greatest gift we can give another is to let them love us. You are loved. ~ Always, Bobbie

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne August 13, 2012 at 10:06 am

      Lovely comment Bobbie and yes, this time is giving us space to deepen our love for each other and goodness, we are having fun. There are some cracking new ideas emerging too, along with a sharing of ideas we have discovered along the way. Much love to you Bobbie, always xxxx

      Like

  6. 11 mj monaghan August 12, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    Hop in the lifeboat, anytime, Jane! And yes, you are still you, and I am grateful for that.

    Now could you please reach across the pond with some really strong Jane vibes, and bring a great job my way? hehehe 😉

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne August 13, 2012 at 10:00 am

      Lovely comment MJ, thanks my friend. I have something for you…my email is ‘janeannethorne@gmail.com’ if you want to drop me a line. 😀 x

      Like

  7. 13 Jeannie August 12, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    *happy dance* Love and blessings to you Jane. xoxo

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne August 13, 2012 at 9:46 am

      Hello Jeannie and it’s lovely to hear from you..so many blessings unfolding and many smiles…amazing what love can do xoxox

      Like

  8. 17 grandfathersky August 12, 2012 at 3:32 am

    It is so hard when we have been providers for so many years to accept the gift of friendship. I often hear parents saying “I don’t want to be a burden to my children in my old age” _ but did they ever ask them, and would it be a burden, or a gift to them? We should all be able to live like the Peace Pilgrim, to travel where we will find food where it is given, and know that the universe will care for us – no matter what ! Jane – you are truly blessed !

    Like

    • 18 Jane Thorne August 12, 2012 at 11:41 am

      Oh Peter, you are so right. There are so many blessings in this upheaval. Karen and I have had proper time together, and we have always been on the same wavelength spiritually, so the ideas and projects that are bubbling up between us are exciting. I have a new home emerging, one that is beyond anything I imagined. So many blessings and peace for me to gather myself together again. Everything is exactly as it is meant and love has been the key. Much love to you J xx 😀

      Like

  9. 19 Linda Willows August 12, 2012 at 1:17 am

    thinking of you, Love, Linda

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

