Light relief, snoring, baby steps and locating that gritty character…….

Good old Snoopy by Charles M. Schultz.

Yesterday’s life dish served up three incidents where I stopped breathing for a few minutes as I absorbed the blows, then I gathered myself and carried on trucking. However, it robbed me of restful sleep last night and in the wee hours this morning I made a decision. I had managed to avoid a ‘knee jerk’ reaction on all of them and if I took any of it on board then I would become a victim and ‘blow that’ for a lark. There is grit in me still and I located it at about 4am this morning.

Emily is coming for dinner tonight. We’ll walk the dogs together and have a grand catch-up. Marvelous.

I broke rank this morning, and rather than soldier on in silence as is my usual habit, I shared the incidents with the man who loves me. The understanding, emotional support and encouragement was right there, as it has been solidly throughout the last few weeks. Marvelous.

On a very long and intense work call over the telephone, one of the lovely dogs where I am staying came into the room to keep me company. She is a beautiful St.Bernard and a great hound. Goodness knows what sent her into such a deep sleep, but off she went, and the last twenty minutes of the call were punctuated by the deepest and loudest snores I have ever heard. Floor board shaking level! There was nothing I could do as the link was running well with my client and I did not want to break it. Towards the end of the call, as I was rounding things up, I gently mentioned that I hoped the noise had not disturbed my client. Her reply…’No, Jane, not at all, it was comforting’. Marvelous.

22 Responses to “Light relief, snoring, baby steps and locating that gritty character…….”


  1. 1 countingducks December 12, 2012 at 11:55 am

    I’m sure you have plenty of “grit” in you, and I’m very pleased Em and the well behaved dog were able to provide you with support and company. Can never have too much of that

    Like

  2. 3 mj monaghan August 18, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    I haven’t seen a St. Bernard in some time now, but glad you have a companion in one. All the best to you this weekend, Jane! 🙂

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne August 19, 2012 at 8:43 am

      My friends love extends to sharing their hounds. The ‘girls’ are the aforementioned lovely St.Bernard and a little terrier. They adore each other and walking with ‘little and large’ is the delight in my day. 😀 x

      Like

  3. 5 teawithmanaguagunn August 18, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Don’t forget the dog feels the inner calmness emanating from you, and is thus able to relax so much as to fall into such a deep sleep.

    Like

  4. 7 1smiles August 17, 2012 at 10:03 am

    Loving comfort in the midst of life. How amazing!

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne August 17, 2012 at 10:19 am

      Poppy is a great dog and her buddy Milo, a little terrier, are great companions. Real buddies and they are lovely to be around. xxxxx

      Like

  5. 9 Jeannie August 16, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    In the midst of troubles I see gifts in this post Jane–the dog’s snores for sure! I too find the whole thing comforting! And this one…sharing a particular trouble with someone who loves you dearly allows them a wonderful opportunity of offering love and support to YOU. Don’t we all want to feel trusted and needed in this special way? I know I do…Mutual gift giving on every count. Wonderful. xoxo

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne August 16, 2012 at 9:12 pm

      Yes Jeannie, life is messy and it helps to flow love and see the good wherever possible. Love flowing back to you is a joy xoxoxo

      Like

  6. 11 granbee August 15, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    A truly successful end to that business call, I would say! A wonderful working relationship MUSt lie ahead when the client finds the loud snores of the dog comforting! What a character reference!

    Like

  7. 13 tornadoday August 15, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    I have found an amazing truth in my years – others find comfort in my imperfections. Ask someone to dinner and burn the roast – sit an imperfect table – lose your words in the middle of a conversation (let the dog snoring be loud). In those, you become human and in those, the ones who view themselves as being less than perfect will find a kinship in you. Each day is unfolding a multitude of carefully placed blessings………revealed in their own amazing time, as were written just for you. ~ Much love to you, Jane. ~ Bobbie

    Like

  8. 17 grandfathersky August 15, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    Unlike us, an animal, especially dogs and cats take advantage of every moment of sleep – the uncluttered mind !

    Like

  9. 19 maturestudenthanginginthere August 15, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    Sometimes the bravest thing we can do is to lean on someone else. I’m pleased you were able to do that lovely lady 😉

    Like

  10. 21 Maxi August 15, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    The comforting snores of a St. Bernard … hmm. Maybe you should hang out with her, Jane, seems she has the secret of blissful sleep.

    Blessings – Maxi

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

