Simplicity…..

This time a week ago I moved into my new home. A whole week has just flashed past and with it comes a new realisation; life carries on, no matter what is happening in our tiny corner of the world, it carries on flowing forward and how we flow with it dictates how we feel.

The company I am currently working for has asked me to write my story about the letting go and flowing it has taken to reach this point, so I shall save that for another day. Suffice to say, it is proving hard to relax now I have my place of peace and it is almost as if I am holding my breath waiting for the next upheaval.

Last night I took an emotionally demanding call for work and when I put the phone down, I milled about for a minute after it wondering how to settle myself. There are a myriad of jobs that need doing since the move, but I refuse to pressurise myself into doing them in a rush. The last thing I need right now is a ‘to do’ list as long as my arm or any pressure whatsoever. Then my eyes alighted on the herb tray my lovely neighbours at the back had given me (with some terracotta pots) as a house warming present . Just the job to unwind I thought. I pottered about the garden collecting spare paving blocks of various shapes and sizes and built a little tower and potted up my gifted herbs. The sun was setting and the day was still warm and my peace was restored in minutes.

Life will always be life, and I will let go and flow as I have been taught, but my inner peace is very precious. Herbs and earth helped me to retain that.

22 Responses to “Simplicity…..”


  1. 1 Martin Shone September 23, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    I like that little herb garden/rockery H xxx

    Like

  2. 3 granbee September 10, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    I am intrigued by your hints at your new job’s duties! So pleased that the simple things in the earth bring you so much peace, as they do for me!

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne September 10, 2012 at 10:30 pm

      The emotional intensity of my new working role is taking some getting used to, but I am gaining in the mental stance to see me through! Simple is best, love you Rose xx

      Like

  3. 5 yepirategunn September 10, 2012 at 9:59 am

    Letting go is the key – easier said than done, wish I could. You’re showing how between the words Jane..thank you for that.

    Like

  4. 11 Michael September 7, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    Hi Jane, What a wonderful insight …… Life will be life …….. Let go, go with the flow and enjoy every moment. Have a great weekend and blessings !!!

    Like

  5. 13 tornadoday September 7, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    Jane, it is so good to know that you’re finding a sash to tie onto. I truly believe that adversity doesn’t build character; it reveals it. Who we are can only be revealed through the painful process of being thrown to the fire. Who we are is never dependent on where we are. ~ Love you, Bobbie

    Like

  6. 15 maturestudenthanginginthere September 7, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    You are right J, life will always be life but nature always provides us with a special kind of calm. J x

    Like

  7. 19 Francina September 7, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    congratulations, Jane, with your new place. love and hugs, Francina xx

    Like

  8. 21 Angela September 7, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    That looks lovely!! What struck me was that you said you were waiting for the next upheaval…. and then you even built yourself a tower (this made me laugh with its link to the tarot) – we externalise our inner thoughts in so many ways! You do however, seem to have built it with solid foundations ;-). Great post my friend! :-). Much love to you and glad you’re settling in. Will write soon. xxx

    Like

    • 22 Jane Thorne September 7, 2012 at 7:57 pm

      Thanks Angela and you are so right…I say Hello to the fears that have been coming up this week…but don’t give them houseroom!! Letting go and trusting has worked fluently this year…I just need to carry on flowing. And building the odd on tower with solid foundations. Much love and hugs to you xxxx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

