Letting go…means letting go of the hidden stuff as well…oooppsss

My thoughtful friend Manangua, talked about ‘letting go’ in a comment he left on my blog today and he prompted this post. Manangua’s blog is a fascinating mixture of fact and fiction, with an huge dollop of depth, springing from all his travels and experiences. Stop by and have a treat.

Back to ‘letting go’….I have been on a ‘letting go’ journey since the start of this year and I am learning all the time. Right now I am having a royal battle with fear.

The lovely little cottage I now call home is perfect for me. My gratitude is spilling out as my friends will testify and our conversations are liberally peppered with ‘thanks’. They have taken to smiling at me with glazed expressions, laced with love of course.

Decks clear, the perfect environment, all my faculties (really), love and support pouring in every day, new opportunities in abundance…and what do we find? A frightened girl, that’s what we find. Me, I am frightened.

I won’t lie or fudge it, ‘letting go’ takes courage mixed with trust and faith. In the ‘letting go’ if you go into freefall (which is probably the best way as you have really let go then) you get pushed to the limit. Continuing to hold trust and faith as everything starts to settle is not easy.

A friend popped in for a ‘cuppa’ on Saturday and asked if I had dedicated each room. I did not need explanation on the ‘how’ or any further discussion, as she had planted a seed and that was all I needed. Today, as I did my first routine clean in here, I spoke to each room. I talked about what I would be doing in the space and how much love, energy and happiness there was filling each room.

I am learning how to let go of fear….

18 Responses to “Letting go…means letting go of the hidden stuff as well…oooppsss”


  1. 1 countingducks September 17, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Congratulations on your new home and I hope it brings you much happiness and peace. “Letting go” does take courage as you say, and is much easier to do than say but it is a worthy aim and I wish you every success with it. Even partial success is a blessing

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne September 19, 2012 at 7:25 am

      Hello Peter, and thank you for taking the time to say ‘Hello’ and leave a kind comment. I think your philosophy and the support you flow to your son (for I feel he is your son no matter what biology may say) is wonderful. Many blessings in your family unit. Take care, Jane.

      Like

  2. 3 1smiles September 14, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    Very comforting words Jane… thank you so much!
    Jeannie xxxxxxx

    Like

  3. 5 yepirategunn September 11, 2012 at 4:06 am

    Than you Jane, for each word – for recording the feelings as they arrive. The tenderness to your surroundings reminds me of the Navajo people, who only used wooden implements when planting, for fear of scarring the earth, and other First Nation people who explained to me that yes, the environment is full of living things, that for them all is spiritual – stones are leaving things, as well as trees and animals in nature.

    Like

  4. 9 granbee September 10, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    Celebrating, and dedicating ourselves to, the blessings we have in life ALWAYS moves that silly ol’ fear right out of the room! Love you, Jane!

    Like

  5. 11 grandfathersky September 10, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    It’s a very rational fear – they even have a name for it – Cognitive Dissonance – where we second guess our decisions, sometime to the point of running back to where we came from. Which could be horrible when related to something like domestic abuse, but we all have it. Change is not something we are comfortable with, ye tit is a constant in life, whether we believe it of not. What you are doing is excellent, because you are building new patterns to replace the old ones …. Keep going ! x P

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne September 10, 2012 at 10:28 pm

      Thank you Peter, your support and encouragement means more than I can say right now xx

      Like

      • 13 grandfathersky September 11, 2012 at 12:35 am

        In 1992 I left my first wife, my children were 2 and 6, I figured I had just enough to make it. I remember the first time there was a thunderstorm, sitting alone in my downstairs studio apartment, and I wasn’t at home for my daughter, how lonely it felt … that was twenty years ago. She has graduated from a two year college in paralegal studies, and my son finished 4 years as an IT major. We had some of the best times in that little place, I would have to say, it not about the place, it’s about the love …

        Like

        • 14 Jane Thorne September 11, 2012 at 10:18 am

          Dear Peter, I think it takes great courage to step away from a family set-up and still retain the bond with our children. Your children are doing well, as are you. I agree with you about the love. Love matters more than anything..how we love is what counts. Thank you for talking about this, I knew you understood. Much love to you xx

          Like

  6. 15 tornadoday September 10, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    Beautiful. I used to think that I would be less afraid as I got older. But as it turns out, being a grown-up doesn’t mean you’re fearless. It just means you fear different things. For me, fear is a sure sign I need to let go because I realize that often what I fear the most is losing control (when in reality, I never had it). 😀 Be well, dear Jane. ~ Love, Bobbie

    Like

  7. 17 Maxi September 10, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    It’s so hard when life smacks us upside the emotions, Jane. When we have to uproot our life and start over all our feelings come into play, especially fear.

    Hopefully it won’t be long before your days feel natural, and fear has slipped away into the night.

    Blessings ~ Maxi

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,251 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Love Balm

Dating, Love & Everything In-between

Retired? No one told me!

Tonight I Dream. Tomorrow I Do!

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

