If you can’t change what is happening, change how you look at it….

Leaping with trust....

Right now change has hit my life…again. This morning I almost got overwhelmed with it all as my mobile provider informed me (gently) that I needed to go into the nearest store because I appear to have a software problem on my phone, as well as a mast down in the area. I need my mobile for my private work and goodness knows what I have missed in the last few days. I put the phone down and dissolved into tears as amidst all the changes happening I need to work.

Then I pulled myself up short and clearly heard in my head ‘listen to your own advice Jane’. I talk to so many people every day facing challenges, I need to talk to myself for a minute.

OK, so circumstances outside my control are bringing about a house move, the demise of my laptop and now my mobile phone, coupled with the strain of managing and slowly clearing the debt from my ex.marriage. This is not the end of the world.

It is what it is so I need to change how I look at and feel about it.

When life as we know it stops then the opportunity for a fresh start is right there in front of us. I can change my life around how I work now. The dear little place I have found to rent, in a village with a strong community feel, said ‘Welcome’ as soon as I walked into it. I can get rid of the car that has driven me rather insane with her faults since she came to share my life. Walking, buses and a push bike are coming into view. Work is going well and I am well. Emily is settled and flying well with her course at Uni.

I leap again with faith and trust that all is well.

18 Responses to “If you can’t change what is happening, change how you look at it….”


  1. 1 tornadoday February 14, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    Close your eyes and jump!!! You ask what it is – it is a place to start. 🙂 Adversity doesn’t build character (contrary to popular belief) ~ it reveals it. Close your eyes, Jane……..and ………… ~ Love, Bobbie

    Like

  2. 5 1smiles February 14, 2013 at 3:12 pm

    There must have been something in the wind yesterday. I had the same sort of day and felt defeated by last evening.
    That’s when I realized that I was being given a new opportunity to step forward. In a new way. With a new outlook.
    I wore my red sparkly shoes today Jane… not just because it’s Valentine’s Day.. but because I want to move forward into this new territory with the brightest steps I can take.

    Holding hands as we continue moving forward!
    Love and Hugs,
    Jeannie xxxxxx

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne February 16, 2013 at 5:33 pm

      Darling friend..I love your sparkly red shoes and yes, firmly holding hands and trusting and keep stepping forward. Love you with biggest hug xxxxx

      Like

  3. 7 Maxi February 14, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    The image of you standing in the middle of a room pelted from every direction with the “stones of life’s struggles” is painful to watch.

    And then…

    You rise from the ashes and win the battle. Go Jane!
    Hugs and Blessings to you ~ Maxi

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne February 16, 2013 at 5:31 pm

      Thank you Maxi for all your love and support…I am sitting here, having just finished work, watching the pink strands across the clouds at sunset…Spring is coming Maxi…big hugs xxx

      Like

  4. 9 JasmineKyleSings February 14, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    I have been working SOOOO hard at this. I think its one of my TOP new years resolutions. Great post! I think if you can change your perspective to a more positive light, everything becomes clear!

    Like

  5. 13 Michael February 14, 2013 at 2:13 pm

    Happy Valentine’s Day Jane. Regards.

    Like

  6. 15 journeyintopoetry February 14, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    “All shall be well and all shall be well and all manner of things shall be well” – Julian of Norwich.
    I always find this quote a tad “rubbing it in” !! But I guess its true.

    I always seem to be saying to myself “remember what you told so and so the other day!” Why is it so easy to see things objectively but not so easy to see them for ourselves? Anyway, it sounds to me like you are listening to yourself now 😊

    Changing the way we look at things sounds so smple doesnt it?! But I think it takes a lot of hard work to do it.

    We must keep making those leaps of faith, its the way to go 😊 so I hope your leaps are well worth the effortt; Im sure they will be.

    Sending lots of love and
    (((BIG HUGS)))

    Christine xxx

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne February 16, 2013 at 5:24 pm

      Thank you Chris and yes, it can be hard to take our own advice. I am leaping away and trusting…all is well. There are new gifts in leaping – much love and hugs to you my funky teapot friend xxxx

      Like

  7. 17 zweeth2o February 14, 2013 at 12:46 pm

    We wouldn’t learn any things without facing problems 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your story

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

