Sunshine and giggly moments…

sunshine

My Mum and I have always been able to stay in touch no matter where we are in the world. I have memories of my late teens when I worked for BP in Johannesburg and Mum worked for a well known hotel in Salcombe, Devon. We both had access to the old style telex machines and we would ring the bells and chat merrily away swopping news. I giggle even now to think about it. Our refrain to each other was ‘The sun will soon come out’ and this phrase has had a few creative additions over the years, such as one memorable one from me to Mum ‘Now where’s the beep blip beep sun!’

The sun did came out this weekend and it was so welcome. Yesterday a kind and thoughtful man took me out after I had finished working on the telephone service. He had put a delicious joint of meat in his oven before we set off and our first port of call was his boat. She is moored on a very fast flowing river after all the snow and rain of the previous weeks and we stood on her and watched a lovely sunset with ducks moving past us at turbo speed. He then took me to a local pub where they had live music playing. We settled down to listen and I think it’s fair to say that the chap playing had technical trouble with his mike and was also having an ‘off’ day. His song cover choices were a little obscure to say the least and the few we did recognise were quite simply murdered! We sat there wincing but doing our best to applaud and enter into the spirit of the early evening. Then things went downhill, again with speed, when our hapless songster chose to sing a little number entitled ‘Death’ and then followed this with another about a young chap dying in the First World War. I caught the eyes of my thoughtful companion and we started to giggle and he was heard to comment ‘This is not quite what I had planned Jane’…..more giggles and a swift decision to leave was taken. We giggled our way back to the car, because if anyone was feeling down when they went into the pub then there was no way up for them.

Today the sun is still shining and I have towels and jeans blowing in the warm breeze out there…yay.

16 Responses to “Sunshine and giggly moments…”


  1. 1 bardessdmdenton March 7, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    Sometimes the best laid plans gone a little awry can cause the sweetest reflections. It is all so simple really, isn’t it? So enjoyed reading this.

    Like

  2. 3 1smiles February 27, 2013 at 8:04 am

    Jane,
    Sounds as if you had a wonderful respite with the sun and the water. Now that musician.. well, he needs a bit of lifting himself. Hahahaha.
    Love and Hugs,
    Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne February 28, 2013 at 11:20 am

      Hiya Jeannie, I still wince when I cast my mind back..best not to do that! The washing is blowing in the sunshine and a fresh breeze out there today, now that is a happy sight 🙂 Much love xxxxx

      Like

  3. 5 maturestudenthanginginthere February 20, 2013 at 10:02 am

    Oooh lucky you to have a whirl on a boat! Sounds great fun. J x

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne February 21, 2013 at 9:06 am

      Hello J, we didn’t leave the mooring as the river was flooded and running very fast…but it was good to stand there and drink it in for a while. Big hugs to you xxx

      Like

  4. 7 tornadoday February 19, 2013 at 4:01 am

    ………my thought ~ if I’m going to laugh about it later, I might as well laugh about it now……… 🙂 Enjoy life, even when it seems a bit unconventional. ~ Love, Bobbie

    Like

  5. 9 Eric Alagan February 19, 2013 at 1:46 am

    A spot of sunlight there, dear buddy. Here’s hoping and wishing you more, Eric 🙂

    Like

  6. 11 Maxi February 18, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    So glad that you had a joyous time, Jane. It’s a wonderful respite from the potholes ya been fallin’ into lately … aside from the sad songs at the pub.

    Hope you find a funky teapot for your place.
    Blessings ~ Maxi

    Like

  7. 13 countingducks February 18, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    Sounds like you had a lovely day with a lovely man. Really nice to hear. As for the pub situation, apart from it’s re -igniting my longing for a decent pint of beer, that is. I’m afraid I might well have descended into hopeless and too loud giggles over that, and got myself into trouble

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne February 18, 2013 at 3:55 pm

      My kind companion did have a lovely pint of Potbelly beer from Kettering and sorry for mentioning it. Oh and Peter, I may, just may, have heckled the singer a little, in a very kind and funny way you understand….. 🙂 x

      Like

  8. 15 journeyintopoetry February 18, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    Jane, this is such a welcome optimistic and uplifting post that gave me a smile all the way through.

    I can just picture you giggling together in the pub!

    And the experience on the boat sounds lovely.

    Watching washing blowing happily in the breeze, especially with a sprinkling of sun, is one of my all time favourite loves in this world!

    Lots of liveand subshiny hugs

    Chrisine xxxx

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne February 18, 2013 at 3:38 pm

      Hello Chris, how lovely to hear from you and big hugs coming right back ‘atcha…with funky teapots. I will soon be buying a few bits of second hand furniture for my new place and I will so be looking out for teapots my friend…much love xxxx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

