Rain and good intentions….

cycling in the rain

Five weeks ago I moved here and my car was sold to secure my new home. ‘Don’t worry’ I assured my loved ones, I will make full use of the internet for grocery shopping, my clients can come here to see me, I will offer yummy food as you visit and when I need to go anywhere I will use my push bike….brave words.

Notice the five weeks and I will admit that the bike has been nestling undisturbed in my shed the whole time. I woke up yesterday needing milk and gave myself a stern talking to while I showered. Reminding myself of all the things I had tackled in my adventurous life so far….all the excuses of snow and ice over the last five weeks melted under my own words.

I grabbed my purse and off I set. Have I mentioned that I live on a hill? I flew down, which was quite enough excitement for one day, and then the heavens opened and I mean opened. The rain lashed at me, it really did, and I was drenched in seconds. I pushed on and soon discovered that there are a few hills between the nearest village shop and my new place. I paused to shelter in a peaceful churchyard, as the church is no longer used and preserved as a historical site.

I made a sensible decision resting under the yew trees and turned back to walk home pushing my bike up these picturesque and challenging hills.

As I rounded the last hill for home a neighbour spotted me and it’s testimony to her kindness that she did not laugh. Wonderfully practical she asked if I was alright and was I exploring or actually trying to get somewhere for something. I was only able to splutter that I was far from fit and in need of milk. Different cycling routes were explained, a corner shop pointed out that was at least two miles closer and she brought me milk when she returned within an hour.

I am not giving up on the bike and am baking for my kind neighbour….

22 Responses to “Rain and good intentions….”


  1. 1 bardessdmdenton April 29, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    That’s one way to meet the neighbors… πŸ™‚ Another lovely reflection on your adventures in your ‘new’ home! XO

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne April 30, 2013 at 3:42 pm

      They are lovely neighbours and Dawn has a swing seat at the end of her garden…the other Sunday morning we sat there and swung whilst nattering…quite a few neighbours joined us..loving peace Diane. You just can’t beat it. Xx

      Like

  2. 3 Angela April 15, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    Ohhhh, Mother Nature at her finest! Although getting soaked feels kind of icky, there is something so wonderfully refreshing about the fresh air, and the rain, the green grass, and a lovely little village. I’m sure your neighbour will adore her rewards :-). xx

    Like

  3. 5 ianscyberspace April 15, 2013 at 5:58 am

    I think you need to find a good second hand car. You will catch a nasty cold out there in that cold rain. In the tropics it steams off you in a little while but I think that would not be the case there. Hope you can sort it all out so you can continue to enjoy your beautiful surrounds.

    Like

    • 6 Jane Thorne April 15, 2013 at 1:16 pm

      I remember the tropical steaming rain from when we lived in Africa and yes, it was the thought of a chill that made me turn back. I have had a right royal time with secondhand cars and am still paying off the repair bill from the last one and her blessed random fault. Cars are so complicated nowadays. I remember when Em was little I had a Morris Minor called Mable and she was a dream to look after…pale blue she was. Not a comfortable ride and poor Em used to complain as a toddler…but I knew where I was with her. Right now I need to rely on my feet and my bike…..’tis but a chapter. I’ll get fitter Ian. x

      Like

  4. 9 Jean April 13, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    Well don’t give up. Is there a reason why you want to use a push bike..is it just to save money.

    Even a 7 speed bike might help you enjoy bike rides. Or so. You don’t have to exert so much effort up hills,etc.

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne April 14, 2013 at 12:09 pm

      Hi Jean and thanks for taking the time to comment and offer support. I need to cycle to save money and I know it will help my fitness levels and get me out more. My bike has five speed which helps and I managed to get a little further today. A little bit each day and I will get there. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. 13 grandfathersky April 13, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    When it comes to locomotion, one needs to consider the lay of the land and the condition of the body, especially the legs and lungs! I grew up on Long Island,east of NYC and it is mostly a flat sandbar with a hilly backbone (terminal morain) – The point it we rode single speed bikes everywhere as children, and built the constitution for it. I am still a cyclist today, but a 10 mile ride where I live today in Connecticut is uphill almost all the way home from the trail. A good 18 speed hybrid, and lots of time and patience, spring and summer, will get you set for winter. I haven’t done it for a few years, but did ride all winter a few years ago, and it wasn’t horrible, but watch out for icy roads … But for hills a good gear set is vital! Keep at it, your heart and lungs will love you for it. (I have a nice old 3 speed BSA, complete with fenders and a generator light … Right out of 12 O’Clock High) be well and thanks for your insight about my move ….

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne April 13, 2013 at 6:03 pm

      You are so lovely P. Thank you for your kind and thoughtful comment…my legs are singing their own song today, but I know my heart and lungs will be grateful. I am also getting the hang of my bike gears…just! I love the thought of your BSA. I will get to where I need to be in this new stage, as will you…happy ‘sploring with much love. Xx

      Like

  6. 15 Eric Alagan April 13, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    You’ve great neighbours. Lucky it was just milk and not something more bulky.

    Under the yew trees in the rain – hmmm, I wonder.

    Not recommended in Singapore, which just happens to have the highest number of lightning strikes per square mile, in the world.

    Good thing too that we don’t have yew trees πŸ™‚

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne April 13, 2013 at 12:27 pm

      Hello my lovely buddy, I never thought of lightening and I just know that you are fitter than I am…happy cycling and big hugs xx

      Like

  7. 17 1smiles April 13, 2013 at 10:53 am

    Your undaunting courage and perseverence is amazing. I’m so pleased that your neighbor happened along. And that she gave her love and milk just when you needed it most.
    Jeannie xxxxxxx

    Like

  8. 19 countingducks April 13, 2013 at 10:34 am

    Goodness, that sounds like a bike ride and a half. Well done you for making the effort, and for a nice neighbour

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

