Living and thriving….

DSC_0576

This glorious rose is my neighbours, yet growing right outside my back door thanks to these ‘higgeldy piggeldy’ gardens of ours.

Yesterday I found myself on a bus in the morning rush hour and it warmed my heart when several times the young folk on the bus got up to let the elderly have a seat.

One elderly lady showed me where I needed to get off the bus and then walked and talked with me as she took me all the way to my destination. Bless her.

A freshly baked cake made with gifted free range eggs brought a neighbour to my door and a new friendship was formed over shared life experiences.

I have tackled the ‘day of the triffids’ and a veggie plot has emerged in my back garden edged with existing woven hazel borders and planting left by the previous tenant.

My new next door neighbour sighed with gratitude as she landed this weekend and had the best night’s sleep she has had for a long time.

We all gathered in the early evening sunshine last weekend for a ‘Pimm’s o’clock’ after a hard days gardening and yes, the sound of laughter carried for some distance.

Emily and I had the chance to wrap our arms around each other, talk properly, laugh and sing ourselves silly yesterday.

My lovely neighbour on the other side of me has been a great taxi this week and a true buddy. There is a theme developing here as laughter has filled the car on our journeys together.

There is magic here and I am thriving. X

19 Responses to “Living and thriving….”


  1. 1 bardessdmdenton July 10, 2013 at 11:43 pm

    So happy that you have found such magic, Jane, in everyday things. Your view of the roses is exquisite! XO

    Like

  2. 2 ianscyberspace June 7, 2013 at 4:28 am

    Sounds like the ideal neighbourhood to belong to.

    Like

  3. 4 Maxi June 6, 2013 at 11:58 am

    Oh Jane, my friend, my heart is so happy for you. Life zings along with joy and friendship and love for you. I can’t pray hard enough that it will only get better, happier and stronger.
    blessings and more blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  4. 6 1smiles June 6, 2013 at 9:52 am

    Jane,
    It was such a gift to have your blog come across my day. So happy for you and the life you’ve found there. Yay!
    Much love to you!
    Jeannie xxxxxxx

    Like

  5. 8 Eric Alagan June 6, 2013 at 1:17 am

    Delightful and magical even, Jane buddy. Looks like it’s all coming together well.

    Very happy for you 🙂

    Luv and hugz,
    Eric

    Like

  6. 10 elenacaravela June 5, 2013 at 11:20 pm

    I am every so happy to hear of your happiness! You home sounds ideal. I’m so glad life is good. But do stay far away from the Triffids;)

    Like

  7. 12 grandfathersky June 5, 2013 at 5:34 pm

    The Day of the Triffids – by John Wydham – I read that so many years ago, and the harrowing story still haunts me, as we are never more than a meteor shower away from it happening for real! Jane – You are like the peace pilgrim, you have put your trust in the universe, and found that when we stay out of its way – we thrive … One of the reasons I have come to know and use that word is a video I came across on Youtube called Thrive – The Movement. I not big on cult following, and all that, but I absolutely love the idea that someone (Foster Gamble) took what he had in terms of worldly things and has embraced the concept of why are we ALL are not thriving, when there is so much abundance on the planet. It’s not THE answer, but is is surely a sign of the times … It fills me with warmth to read your blog here today, and reassurance that life has a way of leading us … So glad you have found a place, a home, ‘amid the noise and haste’ and that you and Em had a little time together … All the best and here is to allowing more, here is to Thriving! x
    Peter Anthony

    Like

    • 13 Jane Thorne June 5, 2013 at 6:06 pm

      Dear Peter, it is so lovely to hear from you. It takes courage to make our choices and actions and I feel this current move of yours is filled with possibilities. Here’s to thriving and all the love and laughter contained therein. A big hug for you, Xx

      Like

  8. 14 Martin Shone June 5, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    I does sound magical indeed, and good luck with the veggie plot H xx H

    Like

  9. 16 Al June 5, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    What a delightfully upbeat blog! Glad to hear you are surrounded my so much warmth.

    Like

  10. 18 countingducks June 5, 2013 at 2:02 pm

    Lovely to read. You seem to have done amazingly well in settling in

    Like

    • 19 Jane Thorne June 5, 2013 at 2:57 pm

      Hello Ducky, I am so blessed to be surrounded by special people…love makes the world go round doesn’t it? Much love to you P and I hope all is well in your world. Xx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

