Friendship with loving thoughts, words and actions…

DSC_0641

A friend sent this lovely card yesterday and as I worked last night I kept glancing at it. We didn’t know each other when we were little, but these two young girls could have been us, even down to the hair colour.

Our friendships help define us and I am so very grateful for my friends.

Moments…..

When words are not necessary, but understanding is complete.
Love flows and we can feel it.
Laughter lifts and brings sparkle to our days.
Sharing and venting are done in trust.
Little gifts and cards are sent.
Days and times of escape are planned.
‘Do you fancy a cuppa?’ and the answer is yes.
We are reminded of who we are and the hurdles already cleared.
Encouraged we put our best foot forward.
With loving gratitude always.
X

23 Responses to “Friendship with loving thoughts, words and actions…”


  1. 1 bardessdmdenton July 10, 2013 at 11:36 pm

    Lovely sentiments, Jane, the kind of friends to be treasured. XO (Oh, and I am among those needing alone time)

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne July 11, 2013 at 11:15 am

      The rose was stunning in full bloom and there are so many old fashioned flowers springing up in these higgeldy piggeldy gardens of ours. We found a lacey pale pink Peony that was exquisite. By the time I remembered to take my camera up there, she had gone over. Xx

      Like

  2. 3 1smiles June 28, 2013 at 10:56 am

    Jane,
    I love the card your friend sent you. I can ‘see’ you on those roller skates! I had some like it as a young girl. I have little elegance or grace on solid dry land… it was a sight when I was on skates! Fortunately I never broke anything other than my pride. Hahahaha,
    Have a grand day!
    Love you!
    Jeannie xxxxxxx

    Like

  3. 8 Eric Alagan June 27, 2013 at 2:54 am

    I enjoy company but also enjoy my own company. I can go for days alone, as I did last year when Lisa and our youngest were on holiday in China. The initial plan was for me to ‘run wild’ and Lisa rolled her eyes – but when the time came – I was quite happy with myself.

    Thank you for sharing, Jane buddy – and allowing me to vent a little.

    Luv and hugz,
    Eric

    Like

    • 9 Jane Thorne June 27, 2013 at 8:51 am

      Always here for you to chat Eric and I am with you on the company front. I am quite happy with my own company, in fact, I need it after helping people with their emotional difficulties. It re-charges the old batteries. Big hugs my lovely buddy. Xxx

      Like

  4. 14 susank456 June 25, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    What a lovely verse.

    Like

  5. 16 Debbie Hurst June 25, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    Love you – friends always and forever xxx

    Like

  6. 18 Al June 25, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    Since I only know you from your gravatar, I thought surely the girl on the right was you as a child until you dispelled that.

    Through social media, I renewed a friendship with someone with whom I used to walk to grammar school. It had been over 50 years since we’d seen each other.

    Like

    • 19 Jane Thorne June 25, 2013 at 9:54 pm

      Hello Al, this global village of ours is special isn’t it? How lovely that you two have connected after all this time. x

      Like

  7. 20 countingducks June 25, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    The photo on its own is beautiful. Such moments are full of an intangible beauty

    Like

  8. 22 grandfathersky June 25, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    So very true – I’ve always been something of a loner – I should qualify that – I am OK with being by myself – that said though, the friendships I have made over the years of my life are deep and abiding. I may not see a good friend for 10 or more years and when we meet it is like yesterday, and the reminiscences are as clear as the moments they happened. Even here, today, in this WordPress land, I have grown close to so many around the world, it is hard to imagine not knowing … we come and go, weeks or months at a time and it feels like only moments. We laugh, cry, share the joys and the sorrows, and most of all make the world we live inside our heads more real, more present to ourselves and to others … Sending you a skate key and wheels to glide through your day!
    All the best – Always – gfs

    Like

    • 23 Jane Thorne June 25, 2013 at 3:58 pm

      Hello Peter, I had a pair of skates like that! Lovely to hear from you and I am also a loner, comfortable with my own company. I tend to shut myself off too because I am helping people with their emotions in my daily work round, so my friendships are special. Isn’t it a treat when you can have distance/time lapses and just pick up where you left off…gifts online and off. I hope your plans/move are flowing forward smoothly..sending loving oil for your skates. Xx

      Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

