It’s The Vicar of Dibley….only better because this is real….

'The Vicar of Dibley - BBC'

‘The Vicar of Dibley – BBC’

Back in the 1990’s the BBC screened a very successful comedy series called ‘The Vicar of Dibley’ and the re-runs still stand the test of time now. The characters were finely drawn around a lady vicar (Dawn French), the villagers and life with all it’s trials and tribulations. It was hilarious and had a huge following.

Last night I attended my first committee meeting for our village festival and it was hugely entertaining and I hasten to add productive!

We were all welcomed into our chairman’s beautiful home, with windows high into the vaulted kitchen ceiling that showed fields as far as the eye could see. Nerves propelled me there early and I sat at the huge kitchen table with the Mum of the house and her children, playing cards as we waited for the others to arrive. There were fourteen of us in all, with a fair few apologies, which is quite something for a small village.

The characters around the table were varied and most of them have obviously worked together for many years. The care and laughter was soon flowing (along with the wine) and the banter sparkled. They effortlessly included me and, although there were some familiar faces around the table from the Spring walk, I soon felt as if I have known everyone before.

On the day, my role in the festivities is the running of the cream tea section of the catering tent. I thought I was in a tent alone, but to my delight I (and the lovely Hannah) are with a colourful Aussie chap running the BBQ and the lovely farming couple I have already met running the bar…marvelous!

I also discovered that the ladies of the over 60’s club in the village, the 3C’s (coffee, chat and cake), have offered to bake the scones. Great news!

Early on in the proceedings I was so relaxed that when a ice cream man was suggested, and prices/profits were discussed, I asked if we had a freezer. The words that came out of my mouth were along the lines of, if we did the ice creams ourselves then the profit would be greater. Our chairman’s broad grin gave me a hint of what was to come, and yes, you’ve guessed it, the ice cream freezer is now part of the cream tea section! Needless to say, I was careful with any further suggestions for the rest of the evening.

At one point words and banter were flying thick and fast and I lost track. I turned to the lady at my side and asked if I’d missed anything important. She smiled broadly and shook her head ‘no’.

I love the way everyone supports each other, the lightheartedness of it all, the underlying purpose, care, the creativity and most of all the love that flowed around that table.

This was our last gathering till the set-up and actual festival day on July 6th, and as I trotted home last night I was smiling. I still have a warm glow this morning and, no, it’s not from the wine!

25 Responses to “It’s The Vicar of Dibley….only better because this is real….”


  1. 1 ebbtide August 27, 2013 at 2:17 pm

    I adored The Vicar of Dibley – so rare these days to find something that’s actually funny without being crass and heart-warming at the same time! Sounds like a lot of fun – hope you continue to enjoy those meetings! 🙂

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne August 27, 2013 at 2:39 pm

      Hello and it’s lovely to hear from you. I love the Vicar of Dibley too, the characters are finely drawn and lovable. There was also a series in the nineties called ‘Hamish MacBeth’. Slightly grittier, but again with great characters and laugh out loud moments. 🙂

      Like

  2. 3 bardessdmdenton July 10, 2013 at 11:20 pm

    One of my favorite characters on the Vicar of Dibley was the board member who always said ‘No’ when he meant ‘Yes’! I just started working for my Town (a small one) and attend Zoning and Planning meetings to take minutes. I have already encountered some humorous moments and characters. One example: there was a great big strapping resident (he looked like a wrestler) applying for building permit who stepped up to say his piece with this little little voice that I couldn’t hear at all and the tape recorder couldn’t pick up (he got all the board members whispering, too!). A little later on, this tiny slip of a woman came forward and I could’ve heard outside! Humor comes from everyday things. And, yes, be careful what you volunteer for! I’ve learned the lesson of being too willing. You really sound like you love your new living location. Blessings, Diane XO

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne July 11, 2013 at 11:19 am

      Dear Diane, thank you for all your lovely comments and for taking the time to catch up with my posts. I have landed in a special place here. You will laugh, but they are looking for volunteers to help with the fireworks display already….funnily enough, I have batted back all attempts to rope me in! I have developed a facial twitch anytime, anyone of them, mentions helping out with catering! Talk about being dropped in at the deep end with the fete….what was that, oh Yes, yes, yes…’No!’ Xxx

      Like

  3. 5 countingducks June 29, 2013 at 11:38 am

    I don’t know how I missed this post. I’m pretty good about keeping an eye on my reader but it somehow sneaked under the wire. Sounds like a great time to me. I used to get involved in similar stuff myself when the girls where small. It was, as you say, rich in lovely community feeling. Most of all its always nice to hear of you having a good time

    Like

  4. 7 1smiles June 28, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    Jane,
    What a lovely adventure. I wish I could attend. I can feel the fun you’re having! Yay for you!
    Love you very much,
    Jeannie xxxxx

    Like

  5. 9 ianscyberspace June 27, 2013 at 3:00 am

    Sounds like the ideal relaxing day. Glad you were a part of it all.

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne June 27, 2013 at 8:52 am

      Thank you Ian. Apparently the village hall committee here are struggling a bit, so maybe we can infuse them with some of our energy. 🙂

      Like

  6. 11 Eric Alagan June 27, 2013 at 2:48 am

    You’ve painted a marvellous picture of the community you live in, Jane buddy. Must say how happy I am for you.

    Luv and hugz,
    Eric

    Like

  7. 13 elenacaravela June 27, 2013 at 12:23 am

    Sounds like a perfect place for a lovely person like you.

    Like

  8. 15 Granny Trish June 26, 2013 at 11:48 am

    I love it: I want to live where you live!!!!!!!! Wish I could be there on the 6th. Love Granny Trish x

    Like

    • 16 Jane Thorne June 26, 2013 at 1:43 pm

      Hello Darling Mum, you would love it here. Em has managed to get an early shift that day and she is coming over with Sophie. Hannah, Sarah’s daughter is helping me all day and then John, Sarah and Kyle are coming in the evening for dinner with Hannah, Sophie, Em and I (John is cooking bless him)…then we’re back up to the festival for the live music and fireworks. Happy days. Xxx

      Like

  9. 17 Maxi June 26, 2013 at 11:04 am

    You had such a good time, Jane. It’s there in every word. I’m just so glad for you. My prayers are with you that life flows with light and love.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  10. 19 grandfathersky June 26, 2013 at 10:58 am

    I hope I can find The Vicar of Dibbly on Netflix, I can only imagine the humor. I sit on the board of directors of my condominium association and our monthly meetings are neighborly, but rarely have the vigor you describe. I sense that in a crisis a Village in the UK would fair much better than the town I live in. Wishing you well and lots of fun for the festival. – Peter
    PS – in a holding pattern waiting for the real estate to sell. Once we have a contract then the fun begins! I’m even thinking of a career change. IT no longer holds rewards for me … Any suggestions?

    Like

  11. 22 susank456 June 26, 2013 at 10:47 am

    Sounds like a lot of fun.

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,246 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

Marsha Ingrao

Traveling & Blogging Near and Far

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

INDIE AUTHORS, RESOURCES, BOOK PROMOS, SERVICES, PLUS MORE

