Fresh eyes and life with little ones….

balloons

I live close to the village school and I love seeing, and hearing, the little ones throughout the day. There is also a thriving toddle day care unit, on the school grounds, and they look so very young as they come and go from there. I see the grown ups taking their children, and on different days their friend’s children, into school. The friendship links between the children are special to see, with the girls holding hands and skipping, and the boys chatting and scuffing their bags and shoes along the ground. There is a Mum who takes her twin girls into nursery each afternoon, whilst pushing her newborn twins in the pram. I know they’ll all thrive with the care and support of her fellow parents here.

Yesterday evening they held their summer concert and it was a delight to hear. The sound of children singing is such a happy one and the laughter threaded through the ‘Herb Albert Spanish Flea’ number made me laugh out loud in my garden.

I have always loved being around little ones and seeing the world through their eyes, it’s fresh and simple. Various lines float up to my window as I work, and these are a few for you to share…..

‘You’ll never guess what happened today.’

‘I’ve had my operation and I’m all better.’

‘Please can I wear my hat all day?’

‘I played my drums for two hours last night.’

‘Can we carry on playing Mum, can we?’

‘I made a noise with my recorder today.’

‘I’ve had a GREAT idea.’

Xx

18 Responses to “Fresh eyes and life with little ones….”


  1. 1 Marylin Warner July 16, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    Our grocery store recently started tying helium balloons to the wrists of tiny shoppers so they could wander near their mommies but be seen by their balloons. Yesterday I watched a 19-month pig-tailed adorable little girl toddle after me (she confused me with her mother, which was a BIG compliment to me). Her mother and I laughed, and when I commented on her pretty balloon, she waved her arm and bobbed it up and done, saying “Fry! Fry!” (I think she meant Fly.) So much fun.

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne July 17, 2013 at 8:55 am

      Oh Marylin, what a sweet story. I love being around little ones. I am thinking of asking if they need someone to go into school next Fall to hear the little ones read. 🙂 x

      Like

  2. 3 1smiles July 12, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    Oh Jane, how simply lovely! I’m missing the voices of all the school chldren through the summer. But I’ll head to northern MInnesota this weekend to meet my grandson. Yay!
    Many hugs and Much love to you!
    Jeannie

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne July 15, 2013 at 10:58 am

      Hello Jeannie, how lovely to hear from you. I hope you had a grand weekend and lots of cuddles with your new little grandson. Love you, big hugs Xxxxxx

      Like

  3. 5 ianscyberspace July 12, 2013 at 4:29 am

    That took me back to those wonderful years when we had our own children at home.

    Like

  4. 7 Maxi July 11, 2013 at 11:13 am

    Children are the sweetness of life, Jane. Giggles n secrets, sugar n spice, all that brings happiness into our life.
    blessings ~ maxi

    Like

  5. 9 Al July 10, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    You are right, Jane. We would all do well to let our “Inner child” come out to play more often. In my retirement I’m trying to be at least as silly as I was as a boy.

    Like

  6. 11 elenacaravela July 10, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    I believe that you do reside in paradise Jane. Well deserved:)

    Like

  7. 13 tornadoday July 10, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    O, Jane……..this is how the world was meant to be, don’t you think?

    Over the holiday, I went to see the new movie “Despeccable Me”. The movie was great, but moreso was listening to the children in the theatre……. Long after the credits rolled, the sound of their snickering and laughter remained. Let us swear an oath to never lose the clear-eyed wonder that is childhood!!!! I’ll gather up my plastic tea set and head right over…….. 🙂

    Say, say, oh playmate,
    Come out and play with me
    And bring your dollies three
    Climb up my apple tree

    Shout down my rain barrel
    Slide down my cellar door
    And we’ll be jolly friends
    Forever more more more more more

    Say, say, oh playmate
    I cannot play with you
    My dolly’s got the flu
    Boo hoo hoo hoo hoo hoo

    Ain’t got no rain barrel
    Ain’t got no cellar door
    But we’ll be jolly friends
    Forever more more more more more

    Like

    • 14 Jane Thorne July 10, 2013 at 8:17 pm

      Dear Bobbie, this wins the ‘greatest comment’ award hands down…fabulous poem and yes, I’m with you my special blogging friend……let us never lose the fresh eyed wonder of childhood. I’ll get the gang ready for a tea party, a cake is baking as I write, come on over. Thank you my lovely, love you Xxxx

      Like

  8. 15 Eric Alagan July 10, 2013 at 11:45 am

    As I said before, Jane buddy – you’re in a lovely lovely community. And I believe you add dollops of goodness to the community spirit 🙂

    Like

  9. 17 susank456 July 10, 2013 at 10:39 am

    Out of the mouths of babes. Lovely aren’t they?

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,251 other followers

Jane Sturgeon Life Therapist

Loving connections in our Global Village

Categories


Love Balm

Dating, Love & Everything In-between

Retired? No one told me!

Tonight I Dream. Tomorrow I Do!

Sartenada's photo blog / Blog de foto de Sartenada

Finland - photo stories from South to North

Nicholas C. Rossis

Dream-protecting author

Sun in Gemini

SteveTanham - writing, poetry, friends

The Motivational Blog

Stay Motivated. Stay Connected

thesecretblogofa30yearold

❤️ welcome to my secret blog ❤️

Syl65's Blog

Poetry, creative writing and a desire to inspire..... Hebrews 11:1 - Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.

Lavender and Lime

♥ a food and lifestyle blog

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

Afterwards

Fantastical fiction from my brain

Deborah J. Brasket

Living on the Edge of the Wild

BOOK CHAT

Let's Talk About Books

Wife & Mum Life

First Time Mum Blogger

Hugh's Views & News

A man with dyslexia writing about this and that and everything else!

Teagan's Books

Now available: "Murder at the Bijou - Three Ingredients I"

Motivate Me

A Personal Development Blog

Suzie Speaks

The Adventures Of a Thirty-Something Life

M J Mallon Author

Kyrosmagica Publishing: A magical shore of Books, Writing, Photography, Quotes, Haiku, and Inspiration

The Writer Next Door|Vashti Q

Vashti Quiroz-Vega, Author, Horror, Fantasy, Sci-fi, Suspense/Thriller Short Stories & Articles

