Emotional bankruptcy and ideas……

Em's sunset

Em sent me this picture the other evening, as she captured the sunset from her bathroom window. Yes, she stood on the loo to take it and I am glad she did, as it’s lovely.

A few weeks ago I took a break from working on the telephone service. There are a number of things ‘at odds’ with working in this way and I found myself unable to function properly, as I had got so tired. Cross-eyed with tiredness is not a good look at my age!

I still have my face to face work and my paid writing assignments and, ever flexible, I thought that I could take on a few other paid ‘one-off’ activities to plug the financial gap for a few weeks. Needless to say these ‘things’ have brought their own surprises and challenges with them. I took on a small garden restoration job and soon discovered that some much needed ‘male digging’ assistance was required, thank you Jeff. Hat’s off to him, as he managed to work with a fractured kneecap and a shoulder in a sling after major surgery. We also kept calm as we unearthed an adder’s nest of eggs in the garden.

Given the on-going dance I have with my landlord, the decorating work he was paying me for in this cottage was always going to be tricky, so I might leave that subject for another day.

Another ‘one-off’ found me spending the morning in a vintage tea shop and the afternoon in an adjoining gift shop. It was whilst I was behind the counter in the gift shop that I had an idea. One text to my running mate Jeff (and a long conversation later) and a new venture was born. Three weeks of research, planning and organisation and we’re about to start. With luck and application, I will be able to drop my phone work down to manageable levels and give reign to creativity again.

It is simply staggering what is coming from that one text. We both think that when you get effortless synchronicity like this, it’s best to run with it! So here’s to a completely new sunrise.

Of course, I will post up pictures of what we’re up to. In the meantime, to keep my sanity and to save Jeff’s left ear from being bashed with my numerous phone calls, I have been crocheting baby blankets. I lined this one with material from an old silk dress.

DSC_0762

DSC_0763

14 Responses to “Emotional bankruptcy and ideas……”


  1. 1 bardessdmdenton August 28, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    Oh, best of luck with your new venture, Jane! And the baby blanket is lovely. Thanks for your visit to my blog. XO ♥

    Like

    • 2 Jane Thorne August 29, 2013 at 7:58 am

      Thank you Diane, you are kind. Crocheting is soothing me right now. I love your artwork and the stories and poetry you share. Xx

      Like

  2. 3 ianscyberspace August 18, 2013 at 1:05 am

    You have such an interesting life Jane and have the capacity to present your activities in a way we can not only read what you are doing, but we can see it too.

    Like

    • 4 Jane Thorne August 20, 2013 at 1:47 pm

      Ian, it’s lovely to hear from you and thank you so much for your thoughtful comment….I needed a boost right now and you gave it. 🙂

      Like

  3. 5 Eric Alagan August 17, 2013 at 12:22 am

    Wow, that adder nest – scary. Trust and hope mother adder was not annoyed. One good thing about having such a tenant is, her presense keeps the rodent population down – I think.

    All good wishes, Jane buddy and how very nice to have a buddy like Jeff beside you.

    Eric 🙂

    Like

  4. 7 Al August 16, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    You have piqued my interest with this talk of a new endeavor. Are you going to be the next Steve Jobs or Bill Gates?

    Like

    • 8 Jane Thorne August 17, 2013 at 8:00 am

      Love it, you made me chuckle Al. Jeff is creative too and we are starting off with small items whilst he recovers from surgery and then the last operation….we’re running clear then and will be making furniture from salvaged items. I think it’s called ‘up-cycling’….it was bound to have a ‘label’ in this day and age! Love to you all and it’s good to hear from you. Xx

      Like

  5. 9 grandfathersky August 16, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    Jane, So good to hear from you. I sense good things coming your way, I’ve been working on opening the 3rd eye. Synchronicity for sure, I’ve gotten messages about techniques, and then got a crystal from Astara for the sixth chakra. Still pending our move, have an offer, but waiting for their finances to materialize. My son is on his way to the UK, arrives in Southhampton on 22nd. His girlfriend will be attending the university there. He’s on a travel visa so can only stay 3 months… Sending warm thoughts and energy your way … Always, Peter

    Like

    • 10 Jane Thorne August 17, 2013 at 7:58 am

      Peter, it’s lovely to hear from you and your new Gravatar shows your soulful eyes, which is good. I was only wondering the other day how things were working out for you, so I am very glad they are moving in a good direction. Southampton Uni is an interesting place and I wish them ‘bon voyage’ and good luck for her course. I bet they will be back with you for Christmas. What type of crystal were you sent? Sending love and moving energy your way, Xxx

      Like

  6. 11 tornadoday August 16, 2013 at 2:15 pm

    I’ve often wondered if the whole process of being still is so that ideas can catch up (or so they’ll come back to find me)……….. Regardless, we are never in a place we weren’t expected…… Good luck, my beautiful friend. ~ Love, Bobbie

    Like

    • 12 Jane Thorne August 17, 2013 at 7:53 am

      You have a beautiful way of putting things, my lovely friend and here we are sharing our creativity and life flow together. Many blessings. Love you Bobbie, J xxxxx

      Like

  7. 13 elenacaravela August 16, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    Hi Jane! Lovely little blankets:)

    Like


I love to hear from you and having different perspectives are what this is all about.....so feel free to let me know what you think.....

Jane Sturgeon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,343 other followers

Categories


Libby Bell

On life, love and writing!

BlondeWriteMore

Thoughts & fiction from a blonde writer

Destination Humanity

Chasing big dreams one photo at a time

What's Inside a Madman's Hat?

...everything is subject to change.

The Nerdy Lion

Lions can wear glasses too

Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Wrangling Literary Arts for Writers: Words for People!

Fiction Favorites

with John W. Howell

Unleashing the Cougar!

A blog about the adventures of an online dating virgin

Rachel Poli

I read. I write. I create.

Sacred Touches

Life is a time of purpose and anointed blossoming...

Kobo Writing Life

The craft and business of writing and self publishing

pensitivity101

An onion has many layers. So have I!

Judith Barrow

Writer & Author

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

authortranslatorOlga

Books, writing, life and everything else

The Writers Desk

The Italian Thing Blog

